Up the Yangtze

Thank you for rating this movie!

Up the Yangtze Movie Poster

3.89 / 5

User rating: 3.89

Based on 65 votes and 10 reviews


  • User rating: 3.89 64.29%
  • User rating: 3.89 7.14%
  • User rating: 3.89 3.57%
  • User rating: 3.89 3.57%
  • User rating: 3.89 21.43%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 10 of 10

User review rating: 1 October 16, 2010

I had seen a documentary produced by the Chinese Govt. that showed more than one family as well as the positive and negative feelings of the Chinese people. To me this film was concentrating on one families struggle. The other boy who also was working on the cruise ship was just dropped in the middle of the film. I was bit disappointed.

User review rating: 1 October 16, 2010

Although the photography was excellet, the film failed to capture the effects of the gorges getting built on the Yangtze river.The film was focused on one family only. Since it a documentary film, it shuould show more than one side of the story. The director should have shown the positive and negative affects of the gorges on the Chinese people. I felt the film was about one struggling family China not what kind of effects the Chinise public facing because of the gorges getting built on the river Yangtze.

User review rating: 0 November 03, 2008

The final product is very good but a bit cliche.The overall concept of recording the rise of the water and focusing on the effect of the relocation on one person, one family and the people of one region will always be great. One must seriously question how true to reality the documentary is. Can one be an elderly tourist or outcast living in the past in one's own country? Every society has its outcasts whose experience is far from the norm. Up the Yangtze is very damning to the government of China regarding the corruption of officials,the brutal treatment of the people, and the burden of school fees for high school students and their families. Is the documentary a tool of democratic dialogue

User review rating: 0 August 15, 2008

to think of it a really nice documentary. 5 stars definetely. Look for more of my reviews. E.B.A.

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2008

Pretty forgettable. None of the great epic images you might expect. Interesting enough story but not entirely captivating. Quite overrated, maybe cause it's Canadian.

User review rating: 0 March 09, 2008

excellent movie. a winner! go see it and thank me later.

User review rating: 0 March 04, 2008

This cinema masterpiece is experience of Chinese not westerner story. I hope you will go to take in this experience and learn more about middle kingdom. This movie is fair and shows piece of Chinese life. Do not miss this masterpiece. It made me laugh it made me cry. It made me think about my homeland. this is from variety Asia online: "If the title "Up the Yangtze!" suggests "up a creek!," it's no coincidence. China's Three Gorges Dam is considered by many experts to be a full-steam-ahead eco-disaster, but helmer Yung Chang's gorgeous meditation is more concerned with the project's collateral human damage: old farmers evicted, young people in servitude to Western tourists, all brought ab

User review rating: 0 March 03, 2008

this cinema masterpiece is experience of chinese not westerner story. i hope you will go to take in this experience and learn more about middle kingdom. this movie is fair and shows piece of chinese life. do not miss this masterpiece. it made me laugh it made me cry. it made me think about my homeland.

User review rating: 0 February 17, 2008

an excellent movie with a wonderful story to tell.

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2008

Engaging, provocative and intelligent without being preachy or manipulative. More movies like these please.

Change Location