There Will Be Blood

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.78 / 5

User rating: 3.78

Based on 643 votes and 30 reviews

  • User rating: 3.78 37.69%
  • User rating: 3.78 29.23%
  • User rating: 3.78 16.92%
  • User rating: 3.78 5.38%
  • User rating: 3.78 10.77%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 30 of 30

User review rating: 4 September 28, 2010

Set in the wild west, the film follows the rise to power of a silver miner, Daniel Plainview -- a charismatic and ruthless oil prospector, driven to succeed by his intense hatred of others and psychological need to see any and all competitors fail. In 1911, Plainview gets a tip of oil-rich land in California that can be bought cheaply struggling Sunday family ranch in the impoverished Little Boston, California , he moves his operation there and begins manipulating and exploiting the local landowners into selling him their property. Using his young adopted son H.W. to project the image of a caring family man, Plainview gains the cooperation of almost all the locals with lofty promises to bui

User review rating: 0 September 29, 2008

Daniel Day Lewis gives an amazing perforamce. In addition, Paul Dano, who plays the spirited preacher, also gives a great performace, which is overshadowed by Lewis' performance. However, the movie gets a little boring at times and has a tendency to drag on and on and on. A decent movie, but a little overrated. Watch it for the performances of Lewis and Dano, and for nothing else.

User review rating: 0 July 05, 2008

fantastic film... Daniel Day Lewis, i take my hat off to your performance.

User review rating: 0 April 09, 2008

While I agree that Daniel Day Lewis' performance was outstanding, I think Paul Dano needs some recognition as well. His "Eli" was incredible, he made my skin crawl (strange how Daniel didn't), and the scenes between the two were the most stunning and gripping I have seen for a long time. That being said, at the end of the movie I was left to wonder why I was there, what was the point or purpose behind the story itself, much less the ending. It was a "what the ____" moment. The best I can say about this film is that it documents, through somewhat diconnected vignettes, a man's total destruction (physical and moral) as a result of his overwhelming greed. It was ok, but I wanted something

User review rating: 0 March 28, 2008


User review rating: 0 March 02, 2008

the best movie that has came out in the past 10 years...

User review rating: 0 February 29, 2008

If you have the pleasure of viewing this film, you will be witness to arguably one of the greatest performances in film history by Daniel Day-Lewis! Absolutely jaw-dropping! As for the film itself, what a masterpiece! The screenplay was phenomenal, the directing-stunning and the cinematography was breath-taking!!!! A wonderful character piece! For all of you who are saying that it was "boring" or it was "the worst movie".....go and watch something that doesn't stimulate your THE SIMPSONS MOVIE, because obviously you're interested in mindless film.

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2008


User review rating: 0 February 22, 2008

This movie drinks the milkshake of every other movie. This movie was amazing!

User review rating: 0 February 21, 2008

This was an incredible movie...I loved the contrast between the illusion of faith as a purpose to life and the power those who wield it can stroke versus the power of wealth and the strive for capitalist dominance. Its a great drama and hopefully it will ignite a bit of soul searching into the societal influences we are tugged between

User review rating: 0 February 19, 2008

This movie is THE MOVIE of the year. It is very real life. No frills, no beating around the bush. It's sad, it's true, and it is called reality. For those who found the movie slow, perhaps you should stick to romantic comedies. Simple movie for simple people. TWBB has an amazing storyline and perhaps the most talented cast of actors I have ever seen work together. So brilliant! Go see it now!

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2008

boring, slow moving, depressing. great performance by daniel day lewis

User review rating: 0 February 17, 2008

I've read the reviews that are posted on this site and can't help but say that the negative reviewers are obviously very young or possibly very stupid. This isn't an action yarn nor a special effects epic. It is a real dramatic film based on an excellent novel, Upton Sinclair's "Oil". As such it isn't trying to just entertain you. It tells a story of greed, redemption and tragedy. Yes, it is a long movie. It takes more than 80 minutes to develop the characters and tell a story. In these days of greed, war and oil dependency, you would think that our youth would see the relevance of this movie and find it to be provocative. Daniel Day-Lewis and Paul Dano are terrific in this film

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2008

One star is too many - rent a Barney movie for more enjoyment!

User review rating: 0 February 08, 2008

I enjoyed it a lot. DD is fabulous and the young minister was great as well. For the fellow that said it was 3hrs 17.minutes. It is only 165 minutes. So u must have benn at another movie

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2008

worst waste of 3 hours and $10

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2008

Without a doubt the worst movie I have ever seen. Totally depressing. Do not go to see this movie.

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2008

Some stories ought to remain between two covers.Thisis one of them.

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2008

Whoever says this movie sucks, doesn't know a good movie when they see it. I really enjoyed this film, it was dark, disturbing and thought provoking. Daniel Day-Lewis did a great job and Paul Dano was also perfect in this movie. 5 Stars

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2008

Painful to sit through.

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2008

Terrible movie - incredibly boring. Way too long and dragged out, very violent. Good acting but hated the movie.

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2008


User review rating: 0 January 23, 2008

Excellent film.

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2008

This is a solid movie. Daniel Day-Lewis performance is unbelievable. Wait...that sounds negative. His performance was very believable...and amazing. Worth the price of admission.

User review rating: 0 January 22, 2008

incredible movie. not at all slow moving. daniel day-lewis is brilliant as always, as was paul dano.

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2008

Entertaing "period piece" of American history dealing with the development of oil fields.Daniel day Lewis "chews" the scenery as an ornery oil magnate.Not a classic "must see",but certainly worth the price of admission.

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2008

Great acting, but very dull script. Anderson did a much better job with Magnolia.

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2008

There were moments of interesting situations but overall this movie was slow and boring. Daniel Day Lewis was ok although he will still win the oscar because critics think it was good and people like to play into the hype. 3 hours on screen time... I mean there is bound to be some moment of brilliance with any actor.

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2008

3 hours and 17 minutes flew by...I was enthralled and entertained. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Anderson has hit a new high with this film.

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2008

solid p.t. anderson, but not my favourite. solid everything actually, particularily the score and cinematography.

Change Location