The Words

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.88 / 5

User rating: 3.88

Based on 162 votes and 41 reviews


  • User rating: 3.88 41.25%
  • User rating: 3.88 27.50%
  • User rating: 3.88 13.75%
  • User rating: 3.88 12.50%
  • User rating: 3.88 5.00%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 41 of 41

User review rating: 2 May 26, 2013

Slow, plodding....didn't understand how the Quaid character came to the information...

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2013

Was a good movie...

User review rating: 1 January 07, 2013

good promise, bad pacing. change of context makes it boring at times. no real ending at all, who didn't see whatever they call the ending coming? just bad bad bad. could have done so much more with the idea just by making the dialogs not suck.

User review rating: 3 January 06, 2013

it was a cool movie

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2013

The book stolen his name is the rear window and this film are like THE SECRET WINDOW

User review rating: 4 January 04, 2013

It's more of a drama then thriller and i'm not much for drama movies... But i loved this movie. It's got a good story to it. It is long and boring in some parts. if you can tough it through those parts. I think you would all enjoy it.

User review rating: 0 October 01, 2012

Enjoyed this movie

User review rating: 4 September 30, 2012

ABSOLUTELY loved this movie. Please go see it, you will not be disappointed.

User review rating: 4 September 27, 2012

Great cast; great film. :)

User review rating: 1 September 26, 2012

This movie is slow and boring. Bring a pillow and possibly something to deaden the pain. I want my 2 hours and $11.00 back please. A big waste of good actors. Awful!!

User review rating: 2 September 26, 2012

The Words is a movie that I was really looking forward to seeing. Bradley Cooper stars as a struggling writer named Rory who makes a life altering decision when he makes the choice to pass off a story he has found as his own work. When the story becomes a best selling novel, Rory is confronted by the true author of the story and through flashbacks, we are told the story of the tragic romance upon which the story is based. Despite strong performances by the actors, the story is muddled and slow moving, not to mention confusing. It is sad that this movie was so unsatisfying, as there was so much potential.

User review rating: 4 September 21, 2012

"the words is built on an intriguing premise" its the words are built. another viewer said at the end of her comment that it didn't have too much closer; its closure... well, the movie kept me entertained and one reviewer said it wasn't long enough. for me it was long enough and not too long. at least i think it was not 1 1/2 hr.'s!! i can see if it was a true story mentioning, the baby dieing but the part was a bit too much. wasn't necessary to have it in there. thats why i gave it 4 stars. the rest of the movie was incredible and had a good depth to it. i agree with other human beings that mr. quaid didn't have to be in there. i didn't like the naration part where he 'read' the story. you

User review rating: 1 September 21, 2012

wow, disappointing! i saw it last saturday and already i can barely remember it. it was so slow and plodding. there were moments of interest and good acting, but not near enough. the ending was a disaster. just blah!

User review rating: 4 September 20, 2012

interesting movie - great story but didn't like the ending.

User review rating: 4 September 19, 2012

saw the movie last night with my movie group gal pals and although we thought it was a beautiful love story and we loved how they went back and forth between the two characters we hated the fact that dennis quade was in there as an older rory? not sure why they did that and we hated the ending, it was a horrible ending. there was no closer at all!

User review rating: 3 September 18, 2012

an 'ok' story about writers. the struggles and self-doubt in being creative. a story within a story within a story. ah-ok. fiction ever be truly astounding or impressive as the movie implies? well, it's all relative...

User review rating: 4 September 18, 2012

i guess finding useful, reliable information on the internet isn't hoepelss after all.

User review rating: 2 September 16, 2012

contrived and shallow for the most part, actors cooper and saladana do not seem to be buying in to their roles, so as a result i did not either, irons was good

User review rating: 5 September 16, 2012

this movie was excellent!! a great story well told by the actor's although some people would say it is slow, it has depth, interest and feeling. my ending would have been about the reaction to his third book as his second had been sold on the heels of this one. loved it.

User review rating: 3 September 14, 2012

a little boring almost fell a sleep!

User review rating: 4 September 13, 2012

one might wonder who is whom, but it is an interesting movie

User review rating: 5 September 12, 2012

stirs the conscience.....how love was cast aside for another passion....and the torture of regret. i loved the movie and still thinking about the way it all turned.....not a word uttered aloud - the audience was totally engaged. beautifully done.

User review rating: 5 September 11, 2012

loved it

User review rating: 0 September 11, 2012

good show for those that can stand to think and view at the same time. not a thriller.

User review rating: 4 September 11, 2012

good call; glad i saw it!

User review rating: 5 September 11, 2012

makes you look at yourself and this is likely why some folks are finding it hard to rate. if you are expecting a thriller, it is not that at all. young folks have not lived enough to appreciate or rate this movie. a sleeper worth viewing for anyone that wants more than some flash entertainment. must say that the ending is a bit flat though...but it does make you think.

User review rating: 5 September 11, 2012

one of the best action/adventure movies of the summer!

User review rating: 2 September 11, 2012

is okay, at least while jeremy irons is on the screen. but the ending is quite lame and not much of a payoff to a story that progressively loses focus and purpose as the movie progresses.

User review rating: 2 September 10, 2012

found some of the dialog slow and cumbersome. when you hear someone say "just wait it gets better", you can only hope that it will but in this case it didn't.

User review rating: 4 September 09, 2012

very interesting movie that leaves you thinking.great conversation starter.

User review rating: 3 September 09, 2012

an okay movie.

User review rating: 2 September 09, 2012

big named actors but the movie is slow moving and not worth seeing. good plot idea that just does not make the cut.

User review rating: 3 September 08, 2012

Didn't care for the ending. Movie was over before I knew it though.

User review rating: 1 September 08, 2012

the words is built on an intriguing premise - a story within a story within a story - but features cliche-ridden dialogue and predictable plot points. thanks to those, the film's stunning cinematography and the cast's mostly very good performances are pretty much wasted.

User review rating: 3 September 08, 2012

a movie about a book about a book.

User review rating: 2 September 08, 2012

the movie is quite superficial. never really gets down to real emotion, just skims over it. jeremy irons and dennis quaid are well cast and play their parts well. cooper and saldana (the latter especially) can't portray their characters believably.

User review rating: 3 September 08, 2012

i think the film editors may have accidentally removed the plot.?

User review rating: 3 September 07, 2012

we saw the movie and enjoy it. bradley cooper and jeremy irons did a great job. it was very good story. we did not like too much the story within the story with denis quaid. we tought it was too much.

User review rating: 3 September 07, 2012

different movie from all the action movie, but a bit all over the place. did not understand the ending. it was great acting from bradley cooper and his wife and the old man.

User review rating: 2 September 07, 2012

kind of slow, no depth

User review rating: 5 September 06, 2012

great movie with some good acting!

Change Location