The Revenant

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.50 / 5

User rating: 3.5

Based on 464 votes and 109 reviews


  • User rating: 3.5 46.21%
  • User rating: 3.5 11.36%
  • User rating: 3.5 9.09%
  • User rating: 3.5 12.88%
  • User rating: 3.5 20.45%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 109

User review rating: 4 May 24, 2016

Fantastic scenes, Leo did it very well

User review rating: 1 May 15, 2016

Another over hyped and underachieved Leonardo Dicaprio film. And unbelievable. I have several in my shelf that I have watched less than half of each one and became bored.

User review rating: 5 May 07, 2016

Awesome movie! Brilliantly made and acted. Leonardo definitely deserved the oscar even though through half the movie he grunts during his performance. His portrayal of the character in the conditions of the place and time, and progression of the role made you feel very strongly for a climactic outcome. I did not find it was a slow movie for the length of the film at all.

User review rating: 1 April 27, 2016

bad

User review rating: 1 April 08, 2016

After finally watching the revenant I am more convinced than ever that Samuel L Jackson deserved the oscar way more than dicaprio

User review rating: 5 April 04, 2016

Awesome show

User review rating: 4 March 31, 2016

Worth seeing lol

User review rating: 3 March 23, 2016

A Quest For Fire for contemporary audiences. 3/5

User review rating: 2 March 18, 2016

This movie was so boring. Nice scenery and that is about it. I was about to leave in the first 45 minutes. Disappointed that I didn't. Leo and Tom are both fantastic actors, but their talents were wasted here.

User review rating: 3 March 06, 2016

Very disappointed with this movie, Leonardo DiCaprio is amazing actor but this was far from his best. The movie was a 3 star. There was not much action and talking through the whole 3 hrs of it. I was totally shocked about the reviews, and I don't understand why

User review rating: 0 February 29, 2016

No stars

User review rating: 0 February 29, 2016

No stars

User review rating: 5 February 26, 2016

Good movie

User review rating: 4 February 26, 2016

will be Oscar winning movie

User review rating: 5 February 24, 2016

Excellent depiction of the events of Hugh Glass's life and near death from a bear attack. Outstanding special effects and great acting performances bring Mr. Glass's struggle for survival to life. It's well worth your time to see this very realistic story of frontier justice.

User review rating: 1 February 24, 2016

To the user below: I believe the Revenant in the title refers to the character Leo is playing, Hugh Glass, since he's left for dead and comes back to get revenge.

User review rating: 5 February 24, 2016

Saw this movie twice, once with my hubby a stage actor. He isn't fond of gratuitous violence but felt it was not overdone and made it more real. We both could understand Leo's total acting not just words to enhance the reality of the times. Tom Hardy was also amazing. I think the film was "mostly done in Canada". Was the Revenant his wife or son??? Very thought provoking!!! Best fill in years from every aspect, direction, editing, acting but not a film for folks who want to be entertained rather than think

User review rating: 4 February 23, 2016

Very good deep and action pact the bear atack that was awesome

User review rating: 0 February 23, 2016

The worst movie Leo has been in. Playing Cowboys and Indians, no real story line. Lots of blood and gore without being remotely believable. The scenery was spectacular, but that was the only saving grace. Otherwise, too long, too far fetched. Don't know how that bad guy was planning to get through the Rockies in the middle of winter to make it to Texas?.... Just one example. Also Bison really weren't in the Rockies, maybe they should have used goats instead. Save you money.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2016

Incredible. Beautiful cinematography, amazing acting (it takes a lot of skill to act with just motions and eyes), and great storyline. I admit it did seem like some parts were dragged on for too long, but the nature scenery definitely made up for it.

User review rating: 2 February 16, 2016

There are some good scenes (like the bear attack), but otherwise, the film is very disjointed. Suddenly, there is a herd of buffalos; then, Leonardo has to cut his horse open to warm himself inside, etc. etc. And in regards to the scenery, it is clear that this was not all shot in the same location... Where do the ruins of the Spanish-style church come from? Anyone who knows the winter locations in Canada would know that there are no remnants of a Spanish-style, colonial churches. Etc. etc. The French trappers? In South America? The Western part of Canada? The film is totally lacking in any authenticity which I believe, is something it attempted to do.

User review rating: 1 February 12, 2016

Great movie if you like depravity, arrows through someone head, gratuitous killing and psychopathic behavior.

User review rating: 3 February 10, 2016

A snooze for the first 45mins. Di Caprio's character hardly says anything. The evil character, Fitzgerald, does his monologues in his annoying accent. Unfortunately, he has the most lines. At times, it was difficult to sit through the movie due to all the greed, cowardice, murder and savagery.

User review rating: 2 February 09, 2016

Stunning scenery Large inaccuracies Slow boring plot Stunning scenery

User review rating: 5 February 08, 2016

great movie:) took my daughter to see it and we both loved it:)

User review rating: 5 February 08, 2016

Went with my wife, I usually avoid"violent" films so was prepared but quickly got into the story, the depth of the acting and the direction and cinematography. This is a powerful movie and a must see even for the squeamish

User review rating: 2 February 06, 2016

Very disappointed!! So unrealistic and it just dragged on. You would think that they were in a teeny tiny forest by how easily....!! Nice scenery and good acting but just kept throwing my arms up in frustration. Needlessly brutal.

User review rating: 2 February 06, 2016

Ugh!! Very disappointed!! So incredibly unrealistic.. and way too long. Also, you would think it was a teeny tiny forest by how easily....!! Nice scenery and some good acting but I just kept throwing my arm up in frustration.

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2016

great movie

User review rating: 1 February 05, 2016

The first time I ever wanted to write the production company and ask for my money back. A painfully slow and unrealistic movie with meaningless content like the meteor falling to earth. Maybe the director thought it was artistic symbolism but it had was irrelevant. My wife is a fan of DiCaprio and even she hated it. The only positive was that DiCaprio didn't try shouting in rage which simply sounds like a little girl screaming. Save your money and read a good book instead.

User review rating: 1 February 05, 2016

This is the worst movie I've seen in a very long time.

User review rating: 2 February 03, 2016

After all the hype about this movie, what a disappointment.

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2016

Amazing what a person can endure when they have a vendetta mission. Some parts a little hard to believe anyone could survive but then - this is the "movies". Great show, but gruesome, not for the faint of heart. Some parts a little slow but you have to put yourself in Leo's shoes, as he was healing from severe wounds and reminiscing about his past, while making his way back to get revenge.

User review rating: 4 January 29, 2016

Loved it....I watched it twice.

User review rating: 2 January 29, 2016

note worth the hype - and certainly DiCaprio is not worthy of the Oscar. His range of acting is limited by the role itself. The story itself is completely unbelievable.

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2016

The movie was absolutely stunning. The acting was incredible, the bear scene was cinematically amazing. Leo hands down deserves an award for this movie, I feel like if you put someone else in that role it becomes a three star movie or lower.

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2016

The best movie of the decade.

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2016

Masterpiece!

User review rating: 3 January 28, 2016

Only a so/so movie. Poor movie plot. Good acting.

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2016

Spectacular Scenery, very suspenseful, my brother and hubby loved the action. There was too much gore for me...as women we would simply talk our disagreements out and settle on the fairest compromise. The white actors were all awesome, yet the big brown actress should share the Oscar with Leonardo.

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2016

It was one of the very worst movies I have seen in 50yrs of movie going,no story,I felt like it was a national geo,

User review rating: 1 January 27, 2016

The story is so far from the truth because the director takes too many liberties to make DiCaprio believable in a role he never should have been cast in. The only reason the movie and DiCaprio are being hyped for the Oscar is because the old racist members of the Academy hate when a non white actor or actress wins their stupid award.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2016

I thought the movie was exceptional, quite thrilling. Leonardo did a fantastic job braving the elements and the ones out to kill him. How did they shoot that bear scene--amazing!! It was very realistic. And the beauty of the scenery was breathtaking, even though so brutal. At times you could hear a pin drop in the audience. This film deserves to win many Oscars. Highly recommend it.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2016

Excellent movie. Great acting (acting is NOT all about dialogue alone, people!), great cinematography, and great tension-building sequences. Quite violent (and not in a Batman or Iron Man kind of way either), so if you have a weak heart or weak stomach, probably not the movie for you. To the person who said they don't use the F-word in those days, my question is, how do you know? Were you there during those days? Do you have Stewie Griffin time machine?

User review rating: 0 January 26, 2016

What an awful movie! Lots of violence, blood and gore. My husband didn't like it either. Definitely a movie for men who like violent movies. I found it very disturbing. Ladies save your money and keep looking for another movie to go to.

User review rating: 3 January 25, 2016

With so many likes and dislikes, I can wait to see this later. That said, I am guessing many of the good/great reviews might not be for the acting, but rather than amazing scenery - as it was filmed in both Alberta and BC

User review rating: 1 January 25, 2016

Unrealistic and over acted. Line delivery is amateurish. The fact it's been nominated for so many Hollywood awards shows the depth of collusion in the movie business. Yes, it is a business. The art matters little compared to the money.

User review rating: 2 January 24, 2016

Long and tedious. Basically a Cowboys and Indians scenario in slow motion. Unrealistic....the "f**k" word was not used in the 1850's. Anyone in that cold water would have terminal hypothermia. I wish movies would get details correct. If I had been watching at home, I would have turned the channel. Not worth the hype.

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2016

WOW ! From the opening scene (how do they make an arrow look like it goes through a person?) Then the bear scene. My stomach was in a knot the entire time. A reminder of a "not so long ago" time. Mother nature, raw, unforgiving, yet beautiful. Survival for only men that had balls. My guess ? 1.) Leonardo will finally get his gold statue ! 2. ) Gold for cinematography 3.) Gold for director 4.) Gold for best film 5. ) Tom Hardy deserves gold but will probably go to Sylvester. A movie that stands the test of time.

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2016

Leo as gorgeous as he is, looks a little wild in this pic.

Change Location