The Raven

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.68 / 5

User rating: 3.68

Based on 114 votes and 40 reviews


  • User rating: 3.68 12.50%
  • User rating: 3.68 57.14%
  • User rating: 3.68 17.86%
  • User rating: 3.68 10.71%
  • User rating: 3.68 1.79%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 40

User review rating: 4 June 14, 2012

an entertaining thriller with a good cast

User review rating: 4 June 13, 2012

a very enjoyable murder mystery

User review rating: 4 June 10, 2012

an enjoyable murder mystery

User review rating: 4 June 09, 2012

an entertaining thriller with a good cast

User review rating: 4 June 07, 2012

an entertaining thriller with a good cast

User review rating: 4 June 05, 2012

an enjoyable murder mystery

User review rating: 4 June 04, 2012

very good thiller - a little dragged out but worth a viewing.

User review rating: 2 June 03, 2012

eek it was long and a lil painful and i love hom but he isnt strong in these drama roles, however it was an interesting story - just wish someone else was the lead

User review rating: 3 June 03, 2012

i really liked the premise of this movie. the opening scene is the kick-off point to an incredible mystery both with the main character and with the events surrounding the whole movie. it was scary, exciting and i was never bored with this movie. john cusack was great as poe. it also exposed you to the background of poe and gave you insight into his macabre stories.it was a bit gory in some scenes but great cinematrograhy and the costumes were spot on. a good , solid movie well worth the visit to the cinema!

User review rating: 4 June 03, 2012

an entertaining thriller with a good cast

User review rating: 3 June 02, 2012

really good movie, glad i saw it

User review rating: 4 June 01, 2012

an enjoyable murder mystery

User review rating: 4 May 31, 2012

interesting

User review rating: 4 May 31, 2012

very entertaining movie with a great cast

User review rating: 4 May 30, 2012

a very entertaining movie with a great cast

User review rating: 4 May 30, 2012

kept me interested throughout...liked it.

User review rating: 3 May 28, 2012

it was a bit predictable, but interesting for an english lit student!

User review rating: 4 May 27, 2012

it was a little slow, but the story was extremely well done. might be worth a rent when it domes out on dvd

User review rating: 4 May 27, 2012

entertaining movie with a good cast

User review rating: 4 May 26, 2012

a very enjoyable murder mystery

User review rating: 4 May 24, 2012

the story line was amazing. i've always been a big poe fan and was expecting the actual story of the raven so the title did disappoint me but the speculations of his last days was very much on target and kept my attention until the end.

User review rating: 5 May 24, 2012

i am a fan of old time victorian mystery movies, so this was a great movie for me. john cusack was excellent as edgar alan poe, he was really believable in becoming that character

User review rating: 4 May 23, 2012

a thrilling murder mystery

User review rating: 4 May 22, 2012

john cusack acting was as dark and troublesome - as poe would have been. true to poe's greatest fear, being buried alive; cusack exact it with character.

User review rating: 4 May 22, 2012

i really enjoyed this movie, despite the poor reviews it received.

User review rating: 4 May 22, 2012

an entertaining thriller

User review rating: 4 May 21, 2012

i enjoyed watching john cusack in this murder mystery.

User review rating: 4 May 20, 2012

poe's most famous work gets a stylish adaptation from director james mcteigue. starring reliable john cusack as poe himself, falsely accused of a series of grisly murders based on poe's own works, mcteigue skilfully recreates victorian england as a backdrop for poe's efforts to prove his innocence, and free his beloved, played by the lovely alice eve, from the clutches of the killer.

User review rating: 4 May 19, 2012

an entertaining thriller

User review rating: 5 May 08, 2012

totally awesome! a few gruesome scenes, accurate historically.

User review rating: 2 May 02, 2012

not a good john cusak movie at all. sort of a cross between pushing tin and the phantom of the opera. cusak's character is far too manic all the way through and no one is evber really developed. take out the gore and you have a decent made for tv movie. wait for the cheap theaters...

User review rating: 3 May 02, 2012

it was ok, not a horror per se, but a gruesome mystery with quite explicit graphic violence in your face even if not that often. an interesting plot that could've been better. if you are claustrophobic, i don't recommend it. some parts were a bit too predictable and that spoils it for a 'whodunit'. edgar allen poe... playing a sleuth... unlikely even if he supposedly creates the mysteries to which he must uncover.

User review rating: 4 April 30, 2012

i'm a " who done it " junkie and this one " has it ". if you go to be entertained in the " a " typlical action movie tradittion, you will be probably disappointed. if you go there to get intellectually involved, take each character (as they are introduced) and look for their part in the web of (must pick the correct adjective)procative story telling. if that doesnt help then try to think of the time at which it was all supposed to have happened. his ( poe's ) behaviour ( and so would others ) would have been off the charts. awesome and masterfull portrail of a man who had faced his demons and was ready to live and ready to die, that as they say is " the rub "

User review rating: 2 April 30, 2012

i went really wanting to enjoy this movie. although i really like john cusack, even he could not save this movie. it was missing something, perhaps its direction could have been better because the components were all there but they just didn't come together well.

User review rating: 4 April 30, 2012

great thriller! much better than i expected. cusack was awsome.

User review rating: 0 April 28, 2012

This movie was so boring, dull and uninteresting.....that I watched "jenifers body" on my phone will the raven played....waste of time!!!

User review rating: 3 April 28, 2012

fair movie

User review rating: 2 April 28, 2012

the base of the storyline using poe was a great idea however the acting in this was horrible (especially john cusack). the storyline needed more of a storyline.

User review rating: 3 April 26, 2012

saw the preview yesterday - ridiculous premise, and cusack does not have any of the brooding charm you'd expect poe to have. still, there is suspense and it is unpredictable, so not all bad.

User review rating: 5 October 22, 2011

I cant wait to see this, as a Poe fan for many years I look forward to seeing this thriller. Though, John Cusack is a stranger choice for Poe

Change Location