The Proposition

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Proposition Movie Poster

3.38 / 5

User rating: 3.38

Based on 269 votes and 17 reviews

  • User rating: 3.38 16.02%
  • User rating: 3.38 19.89%
  • User rating: 3.38 53.04%
  • User rating: 3.38 8.29%
  • User rating: 3.38 2.76%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 17 of 17

User review rating: 5 July 02, 2011

I loved it! Bullock and Reynolds make the sexiest onscreen couple in years!

User review rating: 2 July 02, 2011

Boring...awful characters...distasteful.

User review rating: 0 August 30, 2006

I really liked this movie, it was a western movie with a twist being done in Australia, I really felt the drama being played out in this show and you really got the feeling of how tough it was in that time period.

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2006

Captures the reality of life during the settlement of Australia which was a penal colony for the British Isles. It`s the wild west "Aussie rules" style.

User review rating: 0 August 21, 2006

It`s hot, dry and dirty. It`s violent, but more than that it comments on the implications of violence; a violent act can be committed in a moment and then take decaded, if not generations, to run the course of its impact. Wow, this flick has a lot to offer. It`s one of the best westerns I`ve seen in years...and one with a moral complexity which makes the line between `the good, the bad and the ugly` difficult to discern.

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2006

Better to rent than see in the theatre

User review rating: 0 July 25, 2006

Although the acting is good and the film seems to capture another time in the 1880`s of the outback of Australia, people should be warned that the film, for me, was the most brutally violent one I have ever seen. EK

User review rating: 0 July 21, 2006

I am not a fan of westerns.

User review rating: 0 July 07, 2006

A straight-forward gritty western. Well written, well acted, well made.

User review rating: 0 July 06, 2006

I like action movies and I think that Guy Pierce is outstanding in his roll.

User review rating: 0 July 01, 2006

This is one of those non-Hollywood films that really comes to fruition! You must see this fantastic film! Well crafted and very distinctive!

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2006

Not your typical western, brutal at times.

User review rating: 0 June 18, 2006

Leave the kids and your sense of decency at home!

User review rating: 0 June 15, 2006

The Proposition is not for the faint of heart. You may however want to take this one in. It`s like a Western but the setting is the Australian Outback of the 1880`s. The three Burns brothers are ruthless violent men who kill for entertainment. Their adversary is Captain Stanley (Ray Winstone) who manages to capture Charlie and Mike Burns. The `hero` makes a deal (proposition) with Charlie. Stanley will set the two free if Charlie tracks down and kills his brother Arthur. Ray Winstone gives a creditable performance in a well put together film. Go see The Proposition if you have the guts.

User review rating: 0 June 13, 2006

WOW. Some of the best acting I have seen in any movie. Most realistic violence. I find it hard to do this movie justice with words. It is truly an experience more than a film. If you can, go see this movie.

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2006

This is a very gritty and raw film. It very encouraging to see some great movies coming out of Austrailia. And this one fits the bill.

User review rating: 0 May 31, 2006

I like westerns, looks like it has potential

Change Location