The Post

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.38 / 5

User rating: 3.38

Based on 264 votes and 85 reviews


  • User rating: 3.38 49.17%
  • User rating: 3.38 7.50%
  • User rating: 3.38 6.67%
  • User rating: 3.38 5.83%
  • User rating: 3.38 30.83%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 85

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2018

It is a true story. It is so important and relevant to our times.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2018

This movie highlights a Supreme Court decision regarding freedom of the press, which greatly affects our lives. The movie left me thinking, and I believe it will leave you thinking, too. Go see it, and then think about how what we read in the newspapers would be different had the Supreme Court decided differently. The plot was well laid out, the acting excellent, and the glimpse into Watergate should be eye-opening, especially to generations that came after it.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2018

Good movie, excellent actors. Some comments say that this is not movie to watch for entertainment,and it is not! This far above entertainment, it is about importance of free press and their role to protect us from crooked politicians and their doing. Tom as Meryl are excellent as always!

User review rating: 1 February 17, 2018

Utterly boring

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2018

What I really liked was that it was a true story and told the truth about our governments involvement in the Vietnam war. We were being told one thing while something quite different was being planned. That war raged on for years while out govt. knew we could not win and so many of our young people died in vain. The hidden and secret paperwork was found and this story tells how it finally came to light in the "Post."

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2018

Okay, I get bored by movies A LOT and I loved this movie. Was there a ton of action and sex? No... but the movie speaks for itself. Worth a trip to the theatre.

User review rating: 1 February 15, 2018

This one will be gone quickly. Zzzzz. It was trying to revive the careers of two rapidly aging actors who best days are well behind them. I was counting the number of lights and speakers in the room rather than watching was on the screen. The lights and speakers were much more interesting.

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2018

Excellent movie. Would have preferred to have Graham portrayed as a little less wimpy. At that time I and many others were fearlessly starting our own woman-owned companies. However, her situation was a little different from ours. Good to see how she broke loose from the "little lady" stereotype and came into her own.

User review rating: 1 February 12, 2018

Was a personal disappointment for me but I expect it to be looked upon favorably by the academy.

User review rating: 1 February 11, 2018

Kind of slow. would have been better suited as a documentary but then they couldn't have interjected any propaganda into it if it was exclusively factual.

User review rating: 1 February 10, 2018

Another well done performance by Hanks but Streep taints the performance by her presence.

User review rating: 5 February 10, 2018

Truth-telliing

User review rating: 1 February 09, 2018

Fairly well done but some of the issues they allude to aren't relevant and so are like a dishonest assertion where the audience can't point out the fallacy.

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2018

I give thumbs up to both Ms. Streep and Mr. Hanks for their work on this Movie not because of their political views and or prior political statements but because they are great actress, and actor. The other actresses and actors performed equally well in this Movie. In this Movie I view the media's place in American society and its rights only in the context of the times not in the context of today. I give thumbs up to the movie's message(s) not because of any point of view I might have of the U.S. media but because of what that Supreme Court at that time in American History held, interpreted, is the protection the U.S. Constitution provides under the First Amendment. We citizens have protections under that Amendment as well. It is the media's right to express themselves though I agree news reporting should be honest (truthful), objective (fair-unbiased) and not used to influence political decisions. On the other hand, it is our responsibility, each person, to decided what we should believe that we hear on news reports, especially in today's times. I am very careful how I interpret or construe the things that I read and or hear on the news. This was a good movie.

User review rating: 1 February 09, 2018

Same old bias liberal trash !!

User review rating: 1 February 08, 2018

What a waste of time. Save your hard earned money. I think this was produced by the Democratic National Committee. More extremely left wing brain washing rather than entertainment

User review rating: 1 February 06, 2018

No doubt the corrupt, bias liberal media is falling all over itself to laud this film as it endorses some of its ideology. Freedom of the press and journalistic integrity are the most important aspects of a healthy democracy but it has been severely compromised for over a decade now. We can appreciate the performances of Hanks, Streep and the story but do we really need the implied disapproval one expects in partisan politics.

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2018

A masterpiece! See this movie!

User review rating: 2 February 06, 2018

Hanks & especially Streep are no longer relevant or actors they once were. Used to look forward to all Hanks movies but that time has passed. This is nothing but California fluff!!!

User review rating: 1 February 05, 2018

Hollywood self-righteously loves to lecture the rest of us on politics, ethics and morals yet possesses no integrity itself. Meryl Streep, the poster girl for hypocrisy and one of the leading actresses of her time, who called Harvey Weinstein her agent and God while accepting a Golden Globe award in 2012 couldn't possibly have not known about his improprieties. When asked, her answer was to attack the first lady, behavior one would expect from the guilty. The Post, like some other notable shows I won't name is as much a propaganda piece as a movie and as such loses it's appeal, except for the true believers.

User review rating: 1 February 05, 2018

I remember Nixon debating Kennedy, and I lived through those tumultuous times. Why the upheaval, there were so many young kids that society lost all control and SHTF. The Post was filled with kids at the time, and they were all edging to take down the man. It was symbol of their"resistance". The Post implied and lied like they still do very well to this day. The witch hunt was a coup, not about facts. Pass on this fabrication of the real history, and head down to the library for a real education.

User review rating: 1 February 04, 2018

Very disappointing

User review rating: 2 February 03, 2018

it was not as I had expected considering the stars. I felt it was slightly boring and did not deserve 4 or 5 stars.

User review rating: 3 February 03, 2018

Spotlight, the movie, was 5 stars

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2018

This movie was great! Despite the fact that I lived through it myself and knew how it ended, it still kept me riveted and on the edge of my seat. The cast was awesome and I especially loved the process of the paper going to press. It is obvious that the poor comments that have been written here are written by those that are quite young or do not know the history (and do not care) that is involved here. I learned a lot and have been educating myself, as well as learning more about this time period; being a teenager then, I tended to not pay a lot of attention to news worthy events. I do however, remember it to be a scary time for our country, and give kudos to the cast, directors, producers and anyone else involved in the making of this film. Five stars for sure!

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2018

Watergate was a great time to be alive.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2018

As someone who lived through the events depicted in the movie, and spent eleven years living in Washington and reading the Washington Post every single day, I absolutely LOVED this movie. The Post was a great newspaper and Ben Bradly a great editor. Streep's portrayal of Katherine Graham was spot on (read her life story and you will see why.) Kudos to Spielberg for making this movie at a time when America needs to hear the message about freedom of the press and how necessary it is in a democracy. Anyone without some knowledge of recent American history or expecting to simply be "entertained" won't get anything out of this film. Personally I found it well made and absolutely riveting even though I knew "the rest of the story"........

User review rating: 2 January 30, 2018

I thought the movie was just ok. I think Meryl Streeps role could have been played by anyone ... I'd say the same for Tom Hanks' role. At times it was boring. I can't see them winning an Oscar for their roles.

User review rating: 1 January 30, 2018

So boring!.. left half way through to go shopping!,, more entertaining!,,

User review rating: 2 January 30, 2018

Boring. Streep was boring. No development to help me dislike Nixon. Big disappointment.

User review rating: 1 January 28, 2018

If you want to see a snap shot into history of how reports and one lady that owned a newspaper went against the president of the US and won you will enjoy this movie but if you are going to be entertained this is a sleeper.

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2018

Kudos to Mr. Spielberg, Mr. Hanks, Mrs. Streep, the screenwriters, and everyone else involved for bringing us this extremely well done movie at the right time, considering today's White House. I shall Post this movie among my number of personal favourites from Mr. Spielberg (one of my favourite directors of all time) and Mr. Hanks (one of my favourite actors of all time)!

User review rating: 1 January 27, 2018

Plot typical news media hype. Acting was dull most of the time. Not exciting and over dramatic. Waste of money. Don’t believe the media commercials.

User review rating: 0 January 26, 2018

A Great Movie. Streep & Hanks Are Great. Exceptional Cast

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2018

So timely, fabulous acting!

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2018

Another homerun for Meryl Streep. Hard not to give her the Oscar every year - the lady is that good. And Tom Hanks is no slouch either. There is a reason that the two have double statues. And in today’s political climate, the message is as relevant today as it was then. Another Spielberg hit. A must to see!

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2018

The script, acting and diirection of "The Post" were excellent. Even though we know how Watergate ended, this suspensful film showed us how it really unravelled. I recommend the film. I do caution you not to read the negative reviews below which seem to be written by the same right wing person who repeatedly trashes Meryl Streep, the greatest living actress. Some people don't have enough to do in their spare time. Shameful and childish behavior.

User review rating: 4 January 23, 2018

Great movie...my husband and I really enjoyed it!

User review rating: 3 January 23, 2018

Great actors, great acting. But because historically I knew the ending I was bored to death... couldn’t wait for this movie to end.

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2018

Horrible movie! I wonder how many young actresses Streep had to drag to the casting director's hotel to get the Weinstein treatment for the part. Hanks is about foaming at the mouth to get somebody relating the movie to Trump. Looks more like Hanks got into his kid's stash while he was away to re-hab again.

User review rating: 4 January 22, 2018

The Post is an excellent movie. It kept my boyfriend and me in suspense. I love the determination and investigation done to get were they wanted. I love how it specified the view on women in some point in history and how it is proven that women are as capable as men. I loved everything about the movie but I wished it spoke more about the governmental information that was disclosed. Great Movie...

User review rating: 4 January 22, 2018

Great movie, but can't forget 59,000 Americans and millions Indo-Chinese died because of arrogant stupid governments. What a waste ! I was in Laos and it changed my trust in my government.

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2018

TYPICAL LIBERAL HOLLYWOOD GARBAGE THAT WAS ORCHESTRATED TO GIVE THE TRUMP HATING, HILARY & OBAMA WORSHIPING LEFTIST MEDIA SOME FORM OF VALIDITY!!

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2018

As relevant today as in 1971...the importance of the press as a check on the power of government. Also of note was that the Supreme Court found that the press is meant to serve the governed and not the governing. Not surprisingly this Spielberg, Streep, Hanks collaboration makes for an excellent movie in many respects. I would recommend.

User review rating: 1 January 21, 2018

Usual Hollywood media spin!!! Terrible movie !!!

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2018

Excellent movie

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2018

One of the best movies of the year. There will be an Oscar for this movie

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2018

Excellent portrait of historical events. I lived through that time.

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2018

So well done and very informative.

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2018

So relevant to 2018 that everyone should see it. Meryl Streep is moving and magnificent as Katherine Graham.

Change Location