The Post

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.87 / 5

User rating: 2.87

Based on 400 votes and 100 reviews


  • User rating: 2.87 38.33%
  • User rating: 2.87 6.67%
  • User rating: 2.87 4.44%
  • User rating: 2.87 4.44%
  • User rating: 2.87 46.11%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 100

User review rating: 5 March 24, 2018

It gets across the intensity of that real life story.

User review rating: 1 March 07, 2018

Boring pretty much throughout. To save her career Streep got on the Me Too bandwagon when she's actually the poster girl for the We Knew one.

User review rating: 4 March 06, 2018

Very informative and the acting was great

User review rating: 1 March 05, 2018

If I wanted to see a movie take so long to turn into anything significant I'd watch a documentary.

User review rating: 5 March 05, 2018

Excellent, pertinent. A key historical event well presented. Portrays the relevance and importance of a free press and how intelligent, inquisitive minds utilized the tools of investigative reporting for that event and the one that followed -suggested at he end of the movie-, which resulted in the resignation of President Nixon. Meryl Streep and her magnificent portrayal of Katherine Graham, is testimony to her excellent acting.

User review rating: 1 March 03, 2018

Horrible and boring. Slept through most of it

User review rating: 4 March 02, 2018

I read a lot of the reviews here (many against, some for) that seemed like the person writing the review had made up their mind about it for political reasons before even having seen it. Some of them have likely reviewed it without ever seeing it. I did see the film and I know the actual history behind the events. And while not perfect, I thought it was pretty good overall. One thing that impressed me was that as the story built to its conclusion, I felt real suspense despite knowing how things turned out. If you can make a picture that does that, somebody's doing something right.

User review rating: 1 March 01, 2018

One doesn't expect a show such as this to be fast paced but it was nevertheless quite dull.

User review rating: 1 March 01, 2018

Boring, fake & pretentious. Poor acting by Tom Hanks who only serves to show a main character totally in love with himself. Just another of the mainstream (fake news) media falling all over themselves to "award" themselves a job well done. Avoid this tripe.

User review rating: 5 February 27, 2018

Well acted and very relevant considering the crook currently in the White House. Reminds us of the importance of a free press!!

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2018

Excellent and informative. Refreshing to see an intelligent film amongst all the superhero nonsense!

User review rating: 5 February 26, 2018

5 rating An excellent , historical reveal of the the critical , very often conflicting but imperative role of free press in a democratic society. Meryl Streeps role as Washington Post’s Katherine Graham was true and outstanding. Thorourly enjoyed showing of the press technology of the day / times during the many controvercial issues, gender, political and cultural warring: relevant , important and timely today! This should be seen by everyone, especially born after 1950 or “unaware” ... “in the day “

User review rating: 2 February 24, 2018

2.4 STARS. Boring. Dull. Saw this 2 weeks ago, completely forgot that I did, that is how flat it was. Don't bother seeing this, you won't care about any of the characters, but even if you do, you won't remember why.

User review rating: 5 February 23, 2018

Acting was excellent,

User review rating: 1 February 23, 2018

expected better

User review rating: 1 February 23, 2018

Alt-leftists at work. Brutal. Try using facts.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2018

It is a true story. It is so important and relevant to our times.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2018

This movie highlights a Supreme Court decision regarding freedom of the press, which greatly affects our lives. The movie left me thinking, and I believe it will leave you thinking, too. Go see it, and then think about how what we read in the newspapers would be different had the Supreme Court decided differently. The plot was well laid out, the acting excellent, and the glimpse into Watergate should be eye-opening, especially to generations that came after it.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2018

Good movie, excellent actors. Some comments say that this is not movie to watch for entertainment,and it is not! This far above entertainment, it is about importance of free press and their role to protect us from crooked politicians and their doing. Tom as Meryl are excellent as always!

User review rating: 1 February 17, 2018

Utterly boring

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2018

What I really liked was that it was a true story and told the truth about our governments involvement in the Vietnam war. We were being told one thing while something quite different was being planned. That war raged on for years while out govt. knew we could not win and so many of our young people died in vain. The hidden and secret paperwork was found and this story tells how it finally came to light in the "Post."

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2018

Okay, I get bored by movies A LOT and I loved this movie. Was there a ton of action and sex? No... but the movie speaks for itself. Worth a trip to the theatre.

User review rating: 1 February 15, 2018

This one will be gone quickly. Zzzzz. It was trying to revive the careers of two rapidly aging actors who best days are well behind them. I was counting the number of lights and speakers in the room rather than watching was on the screen. The lights and speakers were much more interesting.

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2018

Excellent movie. Would have preferred to have Graham portrayed as a little less wimpy. At that time I and many others were fearlessly starting our own woman-owned companies. However, her situation was a little different from ours. Good to see how she broke loose from the "little lady" stereotype and came into her own.

User review rating: 1 February 12, 2018

Was a personal disappointment for me but I expect it to be looked upon favorably by the academy.

User review rating: 1 February 11, 2018

Kind of slow. would have been better suited as a documentary but then they couldn't have interjected any propaganda into it if it was exclusively factual.

User review rating: 1 February 10, 2018

Another well done performance by Hanks but Streep taints the performance by her presence.

User review rating: 5 February 10, 2018

Truth-telliing

User review rating: 1 February 09, 2018

Fairly well done but some of the issues they allude to aren't relevant and so are like a dishonest assertion where the audience can't point out the fallacy.

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2018

I give thumbs up to both Ms. Streep and Mr. Hanks for their work on this Movie not because of their political views and or prior political statements but because they are great actress, and actor. The other actresses and actors performed equally well in this Movie. In this Movie I view the media's place in American society and its rights only in the context of the times not in the context of today. I give thumbs up to the movie's message(s) not because of any point of view I might have of the U.S. media but because of what that Supreme Court at that time in American History held, interpreted, is the protection the U.S. Constitution provides under the First Amendment. We citizens have protections under that Amendment as well. It is the media's right to express themselves though I agree news reporting should be honest (truthful), objective (fair-unbiased) and not used to influence political decisions. On the other hand, it is our responsibility, each person, to decided what we should believe that we hear on news reports, especially in today's times. I am very careful how I interpret or construe the things that I read and or hear on the news. This was a good movie.

User review rating: 1 February 09, 2018

Same old bias liberal trash !!

User review rating: 1 February 08, 2018

What a waste of time. Save your hard earned money. I think this was produced by the Democratic National Committee. More extremely left wing brain washing rather than entertainment

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2018

A masterpiece! See this movie!

User review rating: 2 February 06, 2018

Hanks & especially Streep are no longer relevant or actors they once were. Used to look forward to all Hanks movies but that time has passed. This is nothing but California fluff!!!

User review rating: 1 February 05, 2018

Hollywood self-righteously loves to lecture the rest of us on politics, ethics and morals yet possesses no integrity itself. Meryl Streep, the poster girl for hypocrisy and one of the leading actresses of her time, who called Harvey Weinstein her agent and God while accepting a Golden Globe award in 2012 couldn't possibly have not known about his improprieties. When asked, her answer was to attack the first lady, behavior one would expect from the guilty. The Post, like some other notable shows I won't name is as much a propaganda piece as a movie and as such loses it's appeal, except for the true believers.

User review rating: 1 February 05, 2018

I remember Nixon debating Kennedy, and I lived through those tumultuous times. Why the upheaval, there were so many young kids that society lost all control and SHTF. The Post was filled with kids at the time, and they were all edging to take down the man. It was symbol of their"resistance". The Post implied and lied like they still do very well to this day. The witch hunt was a coup, not about facts. Pass on this fabrication of the real history, and head down to the library for a real education.

User review rating: 1 February 04, 2018

Very disappointing

User review rating: 2 February 03, 2018

it was not as I had expected considering the stars. I felt it was slightly boring and did not deserve 4 or 5 stars.

User review rating: 3 February 03, 2018

Spotlight, the movie, was 5 stars

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2018

This movie was great! Despite the fact that I lived through it myself and knew how it ended, it still kept me riveted and on the edge of my seat. The cast was awesome and I especially loved the process of the paper going to press. It is obvious that the poor comments that have been written here are written by those that are quite young or do not know the history (and do not care) that is involved here. I learned a lot and have been educating myself, as well as learning more about this time period; being a teenager then, I tended to not pay a lot of attention to news worthy events. I do however, remember it to be a scary time for our country, and give kudos to the cast, directors, producers and anyone else involved in the making of this film. Five stars for sure!

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2018

Watergate was a great time to be alive.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2018

As someone who lived through the events depicted in the movie, and spent eleven years living in Washington and reading the Washington Post every single day, I absolutely LOVED this movie. The Post was a great newspaper and Ben Bradly a great editor. Streep's portrayal of Katherine Graham was spot on (read her life story and you will see why.) Kudos to Spielberg for making this movie at a time when America needs to hear the message about freedom of the press and how necessary it is in a democracy. Anyone without some knowledge of recent American history or expecting to simply be "entertained" won't get anything out of this film. Personally I found it well made and absolutely riveting even though I knew "the rest of the story"........

User review rating: 2 January 30, 2018

I thought the movie was just ok. I think Meryl Streeps role could have been played by anyone ... I'd say the same for Tom Hanks' role. At times it was boring. I can't see them winning an Oscar for their roles.

User review rating: 1 January 30, 2018

So boring!.. left half way through to go shopping!,, more entertaining!,,

User review rating: 2 January 30, 2018

Boring. Streep was boring. No development to help me dislike Nixon. Big disappointment.

User review rating: 1 January 28, 2018

If you want to see a snap shot into history of how reports and one lady that owned a newspaper went against the president of the US and won you will enjoy this movie but if you are going to be entertained this is a sleeper.

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2018

Kudos to Mr. Spielberg, Mr. Hanks, Mrs. Streep, the screenwriters, and everyone else involved for bringing us this extremely well done movie at the right time, considering today's White House. I shall Post this movie among my number of personal favourites from Mr. Spielberg (one of my favourite directors of all time) and Mr. Hanks (one of my favourite actors of all time)!

User review rating: 1 January 27, 2018

Plot typical news media hype. Acting was dull most of the time. Not exciting and over dramatic. Waste of money. Don’t believe the media commercials.

User review rating: 0 January 26, 2018

A Great Movie. Streep & Hanks Are Great. Exceptional Cast

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2018

So timely, fabulous acting!

Change Location