The Place Beyond the Pines

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.54 / 5

User rating: 3.54

Based on 78 votes and 42 reviews

  • User rating: 3.54 38.46%
  • User rating: 3.54 12.82%
  • User rating: 3.54 23.08%
  • User rating: 3.54 15.38%
  • User rating: 3.54 10.26%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 42 of 42

User review rating: 1 January 12, 2014

I would write a review, but this movie doesn't deserve one. It's boring, the story line changes 3 times and we follow multiple hero's through a short lineage. None of which are interesting... The terrible performance of Gosling can sometimes be a little bit funny, but really, the only respectable performance (and actor) in this film is Bradley Cooper. Eva Mendes slept her way into the film, so she gets cut from any form of respect right there. Men don't use their dicks to get into the biz, they use their cunning. Women that use their poontang are as low as a snake oil salesman.

User review rating: 2 January 03, 2014

Kind of a pointless exercise, although I did like Mendes' performance. Very slow moving...lets hear it for fast-forward

User review rating: 5 September 12, 2013

Excellent drama !

User review rating: 3 September 10, 2013

Too long, but nonetheless a very good, smart movie.

User review rating: 1 August 17, 2013


User review rating: 4 August 14, 2013

very entertaining

User review rating: 5 August 14, 2013


User review rating: 0 August 10, 2013

Slow to start, with a story line that was long in coming. I lost interest for the most part. Acting is mediocre. How this gets 4 stars is beyond me. Must be all the ladies voting for Ryan Goseling.

User review rating: 3 August 07, 2013

interesting film and concept...exceptional acting

User review rating: 0 June 20, 2013

Excellent movie. Still thinking about this movie. Certainly one of the better movies currently playing.

User review rating: 5 June 17, 2013

One of the better movies I've seen this year. Someone said the performances were great especially Cooper. I would say all the performances were solid with Cooper being the least impressive. The movie excelled despite of him.

User review rating: 3 May 10, 2013

very gritty and enjoyable movie. Disturbing at times.

User review rating: 3 May 09, 2013

other than being a tad too long, i thought this movie was really well done and provided some great acting performances...especially Cooper

User review rating: 4 May 07, 2013

I thought it was very good. Great acting by everyone in the movie. It was not fast-paced but hey, not every movie can be a Marvel Comics adaptation. My only complaint is that it was a little long, probably could have been about 25 minutes shorter with a little tighter editing and still would have had the same impact. Lord help us if they release a director's cut on DVD with even more footage!

User review rating: 4 May 05, 2013

sad generational portrayals of father-son outcomes pinned on misguided personal ambitions (or lack thereof), parental compromise and neglect, and selfish shortsighted desperation that drives men at the expense of supposed loved ones. worth the see.

User review rating: 5 May 04, 2013

A superbly entertaining way to explain how corruption and dishonesty enters all our lives. One can argue the degree to which it does depending on circumstance. Usually we are corrupt to the degree we can get away with.

User review rating: 5 May 02, 2013

Thinking is required during this excellent 5 star movie. If you don't like thinking don't go and see it.

User review rating: 5 May 01, 2013

Fabulous. Great characters, wonderful and interesting story line. Doesn't give you all the answers-you need to do some thinking.

User review rating: 2 May 01, 2013

I was very disappointed after watching this movie. After reading all the good reviews, I was very excited to see this movie with it's all star cast but ended up leaving the theatre feeling disappointed & very unsatisfied. This movie had the potential to be a great movie, but fell very flat. It was very long & drawn out & ended up having no real point to it. I wouldn't recommend this movie, but if you do go to see it, don't go in with very high hopes.

User review rating: 5 April 30, 2013

love ryan gosling ! such a fan! love the movie . all characters were fabulous!

User review rating: 5 April 29, 2013

An excellent movie with a fabulous cast! Acting was superb, as usual, Ryan Gosling was incredible.

User review rating: 5 April 29, 2013

Anyone who claims "this is a slow movie" is someone who hasn't the ability to think beyond a car chase.

User review rating: 1 April 28, 2013

This was a horrible movie, slow, boring and second only to "The American " Starring George Clooney. I wish i had gone to get my money back

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2013

Contrary to the 2nd last review this excellent movie is about more than 2 families. It is about each and every character who plays a part in the movie. It's about the corruption we all participate in for our own gain throughout each of our lives. Police are corrupt, regular folks are corrupt to whatever small degree benefits them. Successful public officials, lawyers and judges are corrupt; and on it goes. Not a simple plot intended fir simple people.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2013

A must see for all folks over 30.

User review rating: 3 April 28, 2013

If you believe that this is an action movie based solely on bank robberies you will be disappointed. The movie is more about two families and how they cope with events in their lives. I thought the movie was mildly entertaining however I would have rather waited until the movie was released on TMN or DVD and saved my money.

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2013

5/5 Stars ! Best movie of 2013 thus far. Great story line and character development. Absolutely flawless acting. Academy Award worthy. Go see it.

User review rating: 4 April 22, 2013

Wow, such a rare occurence these days, a movie with a really good story!!!!! Excellent acting by everyone. Go see it.

User review rating: 2 April 22, 2013

One of the worst movies I have seen in ages. I do not recommend this movie to anyone, even though both Cooper and Gosling are great actors. This movie had great potential but was put together horribly and turned out to me 3 short movies in one, although I don't think this was intentional. It dragged on and on to the point where I was happiest at the end when I could go home.

User review rating: 3 April 22, 2013

most boring movie, I've been to wanted to cry when i realized it was going to last even longer than two hours, love the actors but not in this movie

User review rating: 3 April 22, 2013

Ryan Gosling was amazing! Loved most of it but the ending dragged on and was typical, boring and so unnecessary. Had it ended after 3/4 the way, movie would have been fantastic.

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2013

Beautiful story of a fathers love for his son.

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2013

Fantastic movie. Worth watching.

User review rating: 5 April 20, 2013

excellent, excellent, for older generation 5 stars

User review rating: 5 April 20, 2013

This movie amazing great cast great story. Go see this movie

User review rating: 2 April 20, 2013

I thought this would have been better. The preview made it look like more of an action film but parts are quite boring. It's kinda like watching 3 or 4 movies in one and in the end it's kind of a bummer.

User review rating: 4 April 15, 2013

It's a good film, worth seeing.

User review rating: 3 April 14, 2013

This had the cast and potential to be a great movie but just doesn't come together in the end. I hope Gosling gets an acting nod as he was the movie's most compelling character.

User review rating: 5 April 13, 2013

Great movie. Bravo, Derek, very-very solid job!

User review rating: 5 April 13, 2013

Wonderful acting and a great story.

User review rating: 5 April 13, 2013

It was Interesting. But towards the end it was the same old, same old. Both my roommate and I actually Enjoyed it!

User review rating: 3 April 13, 2013

I started rating this movie a 5 out of 5 right out of the gate.. then half way thru the movie, the story does a complete 180 degrees and then the movie drags till the end, and that's where I drop the rating to 3 out of 5... YAWN, to bad they ruined a good story line!!

Change Location