The Majestic

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Majestic Movie Poster

4.25 / 5

User rating: 4.25

Based on 415 votes and 35 reviews


  • User rating: 4.25 68.77%
  • User rating: 4.25 8.72%
  • User rating: 4.25 10.90%
  • User rating: 4.25 2.42%
  • User rating: 4.25 9.20%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 35 of 35

User review rating: 0 September 18, 2004

i`ve just read 3 negative reviews of this movie after watching it for the third time and agree with my wife .this is one of the most underrated movies ever. reviewers mentioned things about it didn`t achieve this and that failing to realize the only thing fictional movie makers hope to achieve is to entertain you and make a buck doing it, not to change your life with some deep hidden meaning. i give it a 4 out of 5 and highly recomend it to anyone not looking for car chase, bus jumping, gas stations blowing up action

User review rating: 0 July 01, 2002

Great movie! I`m not a fan of dramatic pieces, but I am a fan of Jim Carrey, even if he wasn`t Mr. Rubberface this time! I really liked the story. It seemed almost fairy tale-like to me. The most difficult part was getting used to Jim Carrey NOT being funny or at least, weird.

User review rating: 0 June 12, 2002

The movie was originally to be titled The Bijou but was changed to The Majestic when it was found that the calls coming in to inquire about production repeatedly mistook the title as "The Bayou."

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2002

Although it got bad reviews, this movie is actually really good. It was touching and cute. Jim Carrey is amazing!

User review rating: 0 February 13, 2002

Great, touching at times! Loved the topic!

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2002

Martin Landau was the only decent actor in the whole movie. Jim Carrey was better in The Truman Show and Man on the Moon average movie

User review rating: 0 January 17, 2002

I loved this movie. It literally made me feel good all over. It was the perfect escape from everything that is going on in the real world.

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2002

jim carrey gets better and better every time out!

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2002

I truly loved it! After seeing Jim Carey`s serious side in "The man on the moon" and "The Truman show", I wasn`t sure if I was going to like this movie but was pleasantly impressed!

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2002

Outstanding, feel good movie.. no sex, drugs, or foul language. If you want something l ight, charming, and not overly cerebral, this is it.

User review rating: 0 January 11, 2002

If you like Jim Carrey, see it. If you don`t like Jim Carrey, see it. In other words, don`t miss it. It is great.

User review rating: 0 January 11, 2002

it was great:)

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2002

Jim Carrey gives once again an oscar worthy performance. The Majestic is truly a great film, and one of the ten best of the year.

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2002

I went to see the picture and I thought is was great. Better then Kate and Leopode, which was not a love story done right. Can they do some thing about Meg`s hair, goodness it is horrible and messy. What a trade mark.

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2002

Jim Carrey was not bad in this movie. To sappie though. Movie sucked

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2002

This is SUCH A GOOD MOVIE. People who find it boring have no emotional depth what so ever. It`s one of the best movies I`ve seen!

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2002

Frank Darabont shines again! This man is a superb film-maker. All those who say, "They just don`t make them like they used to," well, Framk does!

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2002

This movie made me think... what a great movie. Jim Carrey does a great job in this "non-comedy" role. The story is great, though a little slow at the beginning. People that don`t like this movie are obviously looking for action packed nudity flicks.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2002

One word BORING!

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2002

Worth every penny. The development of the various characters was extremely well done. You truly felt an emotional investment in each of them, because you knew each of them. It was great to go to a theater and really enjoy a movie based soley on the story without special effects playing a role in it`s entertainment value.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2002

i think this iz the best movie it izz like the bomb i think it iz sooo good and that jim carey did soo good and he looked soo hot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2001

well it was so scaryyyyyy.....

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2001

well it was so scaryyyyyy.....

User review rating: 0 December 28, 2001

Well after reading the previous reviews I`m leary to see the film now...but I`ll chance it. Jim Carey is an amasing actor and I`m sure whatever he stars in is good. If it isn`t I`ll still support Jim in whatever film he see`s fit to be in. That`s what a fan does and I`m a fan. Thorold, Ontario

User review rating: 0 December 28, 2001

My wife and I thought it was a great movie; It was good to see Jim Carey in a role where he can showcase his talents as a serious actor rather than one who has to resort to slapstick to get laughs. This certainly was a feel good movie and with the state of affairs in our world we need more movies like "The Majestic" A must see .....especially for anyone who grew up in the 50`s.

User review rating: 0 December 25, 2001

This movie was really bad. It made no sense, it lacked reality, and this was not a role for Jim Carey. He should stick to comedy,I was waiting for him to do something slapstick the whole movie! He`s a great actor, but the movie really sucked.

User review rating: 0 December 24, 2001

I think it was a great movie and anyone who thinks it sucks is an idiot

User review rating: 0 December 22, 2001

It sucks big time.

User review rating: 0 December 22, 2001

Wonderful

User review rating: 0 December 22, 2001

This movie rocked and I love Jim Carrey and he did such a good job.

User review rating: 0 December 22, 2001

Fantasic feel good movie...

User review rating: 0 December 21, 2001

This film was a masterpiece. Wonderful acting from Jim carrey he may win the oscar for this touching perfomance. The best movie of all time.

User review rating: 0 December 21, 2001

I thougth it sunk, but my wife really like it.

User review rating: 0 December 21, 2001

This movie stinks.

User review rating: 0 December 21, 2001

The movie was originally to be titled The Bijou but was changed to The Majestic when it was found that the calls coming in to inquire about production repeatedly mistook the title as "The Bayou."

Change Location