The Host (2007)

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.25 / 5

User rating: 4.25

Based on 408 votes and 22 reviews

  • User rating: 4.25 70.40%
  • User rating: 4.25 8.00%
  • User rating: 4.25 8.00%
  • User rating: 4.25 3.20%
  • User rating: 4.25 10.40%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 22 of 22

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2009

The movie simply sucked. The dubbed english was bad. The movie was long, not scary, stupid and really not that funny. It's like the emperor who has no clothes. Is everybody just afraid to say the movie was horrible. Dusty formaldehyde bottles, escaping from the police 10 times, sketchy scenes, bad special effects, do I need to keep going. What a waste of 2 hours.

User review rating: 0 July 04, 2008


User review rating: 0 November 02, 2007

A great monster movie with a good storyline. I adore Asian cinema, and this movie was no exception.

User review rating: 0 July 28, 2007

wow movie thats related to monster and yet it has story to it. how come this wasn't in movie theater.

User review rating: 0 July 10, 2007

I thought it was a very interesting movie, and i wish i knew more about the Korean culture and society, to better appreciate this movie. Unfortunately all my friends hated it and to this day still rib me for making them watch it! It was pretty long and some parts made no sense to us. Guess i'll only invite them to watch mainstream movies, sigh.

User review rating: 0 May 29, 2007

Very good movie! more funny than scary and I don't mean it in a bad way.

User review rating: 0 May 17, 2007

Beautiful,Imaginative and just plain entertaining!A real work of art!

User review rating: 0 April 27, 2007

Didn't find it to be a horror but like a comedy. It’s a rental

User review rating: 0 April 25, 2007

Not your typical American movie. Had its funny moments.

User review rating: 0 April 13, 2007

This was totally different kind of monster movie. If you come to theatre expected to be just scared by creatures, its not for you. although it has great monster movie elements in it, this is really a story about a family, and satire on Korean society .It has good laughs, and drama. generally it was really fun movie, that`s worth watching. it felt fresh after, same old hollywood monster movies.

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2007

sorry...just didnt like it, not scary in the least, not funny enough, just not campy enough to warrant cult status at all. a big salmon with legs wont scare a 10 yr old, neither would the bad cg...some "hidden" symbolism but 2 hrs was just boring. wait for the dvd.

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2007

I saw this with no subtitles, just Korean, even though it may have been a bit confusing at some parts.. actually it was quite understandable ^-^ I understood most of the words (since my family`s Korean) and yea! It was great movie! I loved it! It was full of suspense, family bonds, and horror!! HAHAHA! There were also some funny parts, and I loved it! It was a very good movie!

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2007

Do Not underestimate great korean movies. This is the best

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2007

I personally loved it because it was different from other monster films that I’ve seen. The movie has a nice plot and a protagonist wasn’t a typical hero type. However, if you were expecting a conventional monster movie where blood sheds all over the places with attractive main character/s, you might not enjoy this one. Bottom line, it worth watching.

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2007

Blows most big-budget Hollywood monster epics out of the water.

User review rating: 0 April 03, 2007

For once, a monster movie that is not pure blood and gore is created. Unlike many other monster movies which focuse solely on the survival of the main characters, this movie contains way more than that such as using the monster to represent United States in a symbolic way and making us aware of the importance of unity of the family. Simply, this is a monster movie that requires you to think deeper than other typical one dimensional monster movies that entails only the basic themes of killing and staying alive.

User review rating: 0 April 02, 2007

It`s a hell of a ride. Very good movie. No questions asked. It is different from other ordinary monster movies. Basically, it sets apart from other monster movies. It actually has a descent STORY line and only monster movie that makes you think when you go to bed that night. Go check it out!

User review rating: 0 April 01, 2007

DO NOT UNDERESTIMATE THIS MOVIE BECAUSE IT IS NOT FROM HOLLYWOOD. It is one of the best monster movie that is made recently in a long time. I thought this movie was overrated and thought this was another weak attempt of a foreign movie but after watching this, you will realize that America is not the only country that makes good movies.

User review rating: 0 April 01, 2007

Completely different kind of monster movie. Sick of Hollywood blockbusters based on American heroism? Go see this one.

User review rating: 0 March 31, 2007

This movie is CRAZY!!!! full of action and suspense..and it`s hillarious too..i loved it. great action movie..the scenes where also predictably unpredictable.

User review rating: 0 March 30, 2007

don`t need any other words. just go to the movies, and see this movie.

User review rating: 0 March 30, 2007

Great monster-type of movie, but it was much more than just that. It`s about family. You actually cared for the characters. I saw this last year at the Toronto International Film Festival and everybody had a great time. There were thrills & chills.

Change Location