The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy Movie Poster

3.30 / 5

User rating: 3.30

Based on 2611 votes and 125 reviews


  • User rating: 3.30 50.13%
  • User rating: 3.30 6.21%
  • User rating: 3.30 4.14%
  • User rating: 3.30 2.92%
  • User rating: 3.30 36.59%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 125

User review rating: 0 August 10, 2006

I love Hitchhikers! It was absoloutley hilarious!

User review rating: 0 November 27, 2005

Senseless Drivel!

User review rating: 0 November 12, 2005

Actually I do understand British humor and I "got" the jokes. Too bad the jokes were not as funny as you vastly superior intellectual Brits thought. As for being about any one President, we could all assign a name of any President we dislike to the President in this movie. The movie is childish and the costumes Muppetlike. The only redeeming quality of the movie was towards the end with the making of the earth. Oh, if only we Americans could be as hip as the Brits. Sigh

User review rating: 0 November 09, 2005

GRRRRRRRRRRRREAT!

User review rating: 0 October 09, 2005

What a horrible movie. Pure rubbish!

User review rating: 0 September 20, 2005

All of us left the room but my hubby gave it 5 stars. I got it..and thought it was the deepest movie he`d ever seen. He loved how it made fun of all things "establishment". He`s going out to get the book.

User review rating: 0 September 15, 2005

It had a few good moments but, needs improvement. Trill should have been played by a different actress.

User review rating: 0 September 12, 2005

Trash, Trash Trash!!! Awlful!!!!

User review rating: 0 August 28, 2005

I Liked it and enjoyed it was pretty close to what I recall from the 80`s mini-series on PBS with the Humour in proper prospective throughout the film("they certainly inmproved on the Vorgons that and finally being able to see the Vorgon Homeworld wild")("and the bonus seeing the original Marvin in a cameo")am wondering if they might make further films based on the mini-series that I saw??.

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2005

I thought the movie was ALRIGHT. I thought it could of done without the cheezy original theme song and include an up dated John William`s version. It wasn`t what I expected

User review rating: 0 August 16, 2005

Thise movie is BAD! Humour!? When you find this humor, you have to see a real laugh movie.

User review rating: 0 August 16, 2005

British Humour, American Humour... no difference, just good and bad humour. I`m Canadian and love Monty Python (Good Humour) and hated this movie (Bad Humour).

User review rating: 0 August 15, 2005

I personaly think it is a mind bogleing story about the distruction of Earth and the great lengths traveled by Authur Dent and Ford perfect to find the answer to tha mening of life whitch in this case is 42.

User review rating: 0 August 02, 2005

british humor??? do I sense someone is just a a bit sensitive that us North Americans just don`t get it British humour?...what you said was a lot funnier than the movie. In case you didn`t get the sarcasm, "funnier" meaning what a joke (bad, terrible, garbage, trash, etc.) of a movie.

User review rating: 0 August 01, 2005

BAD, BAD, BAD. This movie stinks.

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2005

hey all you idiots guess what north americans dont get british humor so when u say it was terrible and think that it wasnt funny guess what i have news for you, its not that its not funny, its that your not intelligent. end of story

User review rating: 0 July 26, 2005

Excellent movie, true to the book. Very Intelligent Humour. But also very British humour, so if you don`t like Monty Python, you won`t like this.

User review rating: 0 July 18, 2005

WORST "SO-CALLED-MOVIE" of the world of all times! what a moronic idiotic waste of film!!! DO NOT WAST MONEY ON THIS C***... DO NOT WASTE TIME EITHER!!!

User review rating: 0 July 12, 2005

I was surprised to find the movie different than the book and original series, but it was a pleasant surprise. I quite enjoyed Arthur`s adventure, though the ending was a bit too neat and tidy.

User review rating: 0 July 05, 2005

sleeper movie of the year. you sleep thru it and you won`t miss a thing. worst movie of the year so far.

User review rating: 0 July 04, 2005

What a BAD movie. I think the makers of this movie should provide us a refund and do us a bigger favour by burning the movie. Pure garbage!!!!

User review rating: 0 July 03, 2005

I think you had to have read the book to understand the jokes???

User review rating: 0 July 03, 2005

This movie has got to be up there for the absolute WORST movie of the year. It`s got my vote. Tries to be funny, but not. Don`t waste your money and time. I rather watch dead grass grow.

User review rating: 0 June 21, 2005

Very enjoyable. Close enough to the book to satisfy fans. Nice visuals.

User review rating: 0 June 10, 2005

Worst ever!

User review rating: 0 June 04, 2005

the ABSOLUTE WORST movie I have ever seen. A complete waste of time.

User review rating: 0 May 29, 2005

just dont waste your time reading the rest of the review cause this movie is garbage

User review rating: 0 May 28, 2005

Mos Def`s last album was a big disappointment, but his role as Ford Prefect mos def got my interest back...he did a great job! I think to enojy this movie it`s better if you read the book before, otherwise you WILL NOT get the humour...this movie sort of complements the book, and it does an OK job...could have been better...but it`s a 3.5/5.0 i think....worth it...

User review rating: 0 May 28, 2005

This was an excellent movie, its so absurd yet makes a great deal of sense at the smae time. Mavin was the sexiest robot I have ever seen. Steve

User review rating: 0 May 27, 2005

I thought it was a great movie. I had read the book before watching the movie and I found it`s true enough to the book. It`s an enjoyable, fun and humourous movie.

User review rating: 0 May 23, 2005

I loved the Hitchhiker`s books...I didn`t like this movie...it`s 109 minutes of my time I`ll never get back!

User review rating: 0 May 23, 2005

This movie was quite funny. Those who had read the book didn`t seem to enjoy it as much as us those of us who were to lazy. It was surprisingly good.

User review rating: 0 May 23, 2005

It was BAD left and tried to get our $ back. CK

User review rating: 0 May 23, 2005

i liked it, it had all these cool gadgets and stuff!!

User review rating: 0 May 23, 2005

My boyfriend IAN wanted to see this movie, I wanted to see Kingdom of Heaven. I talked on my cell through half of this movie, so basically it was bad overall, but very few ideas were pretty cool. Like the whole planet factory was awesome, and the very beginning of how the earth gets blown up was pretty good too. The rest was bad. All of the aliens were costumes and looked so fake. After the aliens in Star Wars, this movie is just so pathetically and cheaply made. But I saw it cause my boyfriend wanted to see it and i LOVE him so it was all good. Plus I got to hug him for the majority of the movie cause I didnt care about what was on the scree

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2005

Unpleasantly like being drunk.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2005

You sort of have to have read the book, you can understand some parts, but the rest was confusing. But the book was great, and i have to say..the movie was great too. It was pure British humor.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2005

um, the dolphin thing at the beginning was EXTREMELY STUPID but it got funnier after. this movie dosn`t really have a good plot; it`s junt random nonsense. (I think i`m a sofa!)

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2005

One of the worst movies in my life!!!

User review rating: 0 May 20, 2005

This was probably one of the strangest movies I have ever seen. I LOVED the Robot!!!

User review rating: 0 May 20, 2005

It was soo good!!!

User review rating: 0 May 19, 2005

I found this movie to be quite entertaining and full of wonderful symbolism. For those of you who rated it below 3, you`re obviously too ignorant to understand the film and therefore assume it`s terrible. It`s a pity, really.

User review rating: 0 May 19, 2005

Bad. Very bad.

User review rating: 0 May 18, 2005

anyone who does not understand the messages in this movie is 3/4 of the way dead. Its marketed as a comedy but it should be marketed as the movie that tells the truth. The truth is in it if you can see it.

User review rating: 0 May 17, 2005

Ok people, just so you know, 1 star is bad. This was not a bad movie. This movie was hilarious! Amazing movie, I have gone to see it 7 times now.

User review rating: 0 May 15, 2005

This movie was amazing!!! I loved it sooo much...very funny and entertaining i would definitely recommend you go and see it as soon as possible!!!

User review rating: 0 May 14, 2005

If you like british humour. Then this is a must see. I enjoyed the tv show when i was younger and also enjoyed this movie. Great effects.

User review rating: 0 May 14, 2005

First of all this is NOT the worst movie ever, the worst movie ever is a film called "manos: the hands of fate" second this movie is like the book it takes a great deal of intelligence to get it. that`s why i never felt that it should go to film, however they did a fantastic job with it. i saw it with 4 people that had never read the books but they had open minds and thought it was just as funny as i did. gauging the "funnyness" of a movie based on how many people in your theatre laugh is also not accurate, dry british humour rarely spawns hearty belly lughs but it`s still funny as anything. just think about what youre gonna be watching befor

User review rating: 0 May 13, 2005

I wanted to walk out 5 minutes into the movie, but I stayed to see if it would get any better. It didn`t. Watching it felt like I was having my teeth pulled: EXCRUTIATING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 May 13, 2005

It`s rather enjoyable. If you like quirkly, unusual campy films, say, Tim burton or the Farelly brother movies, Hey you`ll probably like this picture. Don`t listen to critics, see it for yourself, and maybe you might enjoy it!

Change Location