The Golden Compass

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Golden Compass Movie Poster

3.25 / 5

User rating: 3.25

Based on 959 votes and 129 reviews


  • User rating: 3.25 42.09%
  • User rating: 3.25 11.53%
  • User rating: 3.25 7.24%
  • User rating: 3.25 7.24%
  • User rating: 3.25 31.90%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 129

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2011

Loved it so much. Does anyone know if there is going to be a sequel?

User review rating: 5 November 30, 2010

Wonderful movie. I adore Ioric Berneson and really hope they will make a sequel to this film!

User review rating: 4 September 28, 2010

It's one of those movies that deserves to be seen on the big screen. The first of three books about Lyra and her adventures, it's got magic, myth and mahem. Lyra overhears something she doesn't understand (where have we heard that before?) and is flung into a struggle between gobblers, gyptians and of course armored bears. Lyra is a brave girl - a wonderful role model for impressionable minds. She's also defiant, clever and successful - thanks to her mastery of the titular Golden Compass. I can't wait for next cinematic installment so will need to read the books to know what happens next.

User review rating: 5 November 30, 2009

This movie is great. Wish they would make another one and stop listening the ignorance of the Catholics who think they should be in control of everyones lives. Its a story for crying out loud. Make believe....

User review rating: 0 July 22, 2009

awesome movie

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2009

i love it was one of the best ever seen for they got three models the best one is laira ilove it loooooooooooooooove it

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2009

it was so lovely and beutifull girl models all three of them but the best is laira she was very smart and brave iorack banison was so tough and bit the king the best bear fight ever seen i love that chapter

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2009

it was absolute amazing because lyra was so beutifull and smart but theres another one coming out

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2008

one of my favourite movies... its right up there with Harry Potter, The Lord of the Rings, Star Wars and the Dune Trilogies.... I hope they make the sequals or I will be genuinely disappointed.

User review rating: 0 December 23, 2008

This was a Great Fantasy Film, everyone I speak to says how much they enjoyed it. It was awarded an Oscar and it made money but shame they didnt make the sequels as promised to the fans. Big let down to them.

User review rating: 0 December 14, 2008

this movie was left with no real ending will there be a 2nd golden compass?

User review rating: 0 November 27, 2008

If you have read the book then you could see why it really sucks but if you haven't read the book then you don't see the parts cut out that were a part of the book. I give it 1 star for not following the book.

User review rating: 0 July 14, 2008

I have just watched that movie and i thought it was amazing and it was not religious what so ever it was more of about childhood and growing up hint the other comments this movie is awesome and i very much like it i think every should watch this movie its great and it just might be my favorite movie ever im going to watch it again

User review rating: 0 July 13, 2008

This is one of the worst Fantasy movies I have ever seen. The movie had good special effects but thats it, the story was so poorly done and did not have a good conclusion at all. Very poorly done. I have seen many fantasy movies and this one is not worth your time.

User review rating: 0 June 30, 2008

For those who see only religious themes - get a life! It more about the change from childhood to adulthood. As we grow older we lose the spontaneity of children. Look at Pan. He exhibits all the habits of children, changing and shifting. Adults, for the most part, are unable to change, hence the adults "demons" are constant. They reveal the true "soul" of their adult counterparts. The soul is not something that can be riven from a body. It is immutable. Without a soul - conscience - we are as nothing. For those who tore this movie apart, watch it again from this perspective.

User review rating: 0 June 23, 2008

The ending wasn't good. It lacks so much detail and feeling. The book's ending was more like it. But, the fact that so many parts of the books were made exciting in the movie makes up for most of it. I read all three books in the trilogy, and even though the ending wasn't good, the movie seems like it captures (although not all-including religion) most of the main theme.

User review rating: 0 June 22, 2008

i did not like it at all, the movie did not follow the book and cut out many important scenes. If you had a rating below one star, that would be my rating

User review rating: 0 May 05, 2008

very good movie great story line just one thing the ending was terrible i hope that wasnt the actual ending hope they make a sequall

User review rating: 0 May 01, 2008

It was an alright movie. They did skip over alot of the scenes in the book, of course i never expected them to put them all in. And for you idiots who said the ending wasn't good, it's a trilogy, there obvoiusly continuing the series afterwards (while skipping a few scenes at the end). The daemons weren't done too well, but other than that, it was an alright movie. If you read the book, you would understand that it wasn't that good

User review rating: 0 April 17, 2008

this movie was iteresting. i hope another one comes out soon

User review rating: 0 March 29, 2008

it was a very good movie

User review rating: 0 March 29, 2008

i liked this movie because it was full of action

User review rating: 0 March 24, 2008

I felt like they skipped over alot of the story. I mean you get the idea, but you feel cheated. On the plus side, it has compelled me to read the book.

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2008

the movie dosen't have a good ending.

User review rating: 0 February 22, 2008

absolutely stunning! i LOVED it!!! the daemons were done really well, it was quite compelling.

User review rating: 0 February 22, 2008

loved it... great movie!the daemons were done very well. hope they make sequel to it! i've read ALL of the books and they are GREAT!

User review rating: 0 February 21, 2008

Rilly good an action packed adventure nothing can keep you from seeing this movie

User review rating: 0 February 19, 2008

Great movie for everyone!!

User review rating: 0 February 08, 2008

I cannot wait for the sequel

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2008

LOVE LOVE LOVED IT

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2008

This was the BEST movie i ever watched. It was full of adventure and fantasy, my favorite.

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2008

a truly horrible movie ... spend your money elsewhere

User review rating: 0 January 26, 2008

One of the worst movies I have ever seen.

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2008

This movie sucks. I expected it to be better than Narnia if not as good as LOTR, but I was wrong. BIG BIG DISAPPOINTMENT.

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2008

AWESOME

User review rating: 0 January 22, 2008

The movie was poorly edited and seemed disjointed

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2008

A decent movie. I couldn't find anything wrong with it. The start is a bit difficult to follow (lots of "story" details). Nicole Kidmans gives a great performance. Daniel Craig doesn't have a huge role, but I guess that expands in the sequel. The Special FX were pretty good (the demons were well done). The bear fight is awesome!

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2008

Good movie. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the movie didn't seem complete at the end and it actually requires a sequel. Some movies are still are whole in itself without the need of a sequel, but not true of this movie.

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2008

Even worse than Cloverfield and One Missed Call

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2008

sucks

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2008

Loved this movie! The story was compelling and the effects were amazing. Great choice on top actors. I have read the book and it does differ from the movie but they are both great. Too bad they are not making the sequels. Daniel Craig's charactor has a much bigger part in the second and third books.

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2008

Liked it just a little but found it kind of strange.The bears fighting scene was very fierce. Is there really a sickness called "dust"

User review rating: 0 January 11, 2008

Good story line worth watching .. waiting for the next sequal..

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2008

I saw this movie with my husmand, our 7 year old daughter and my Mom and we all loved it. I am almost finshed reading the first book now and altough the story is somewhat different than the movie, I still think the movie was great. Can't wait for the sequel!!!!

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2008

it was pretty good it had good graphics and it could be compared to narnia

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2008

Great flick for anyone to see!

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2008

I was disappointed with the story. Everything else was top quality. I didn't really care whether these characters lived or died. A friend said the book was great. So it was poorly adapted to the screen and no amount of special effects or talented actors can remedy that.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2008

Went to see this film expecting so much more. Hey, Nicole Kidman looks stunning but I found the rest of the film to be a let down. No need to create sequels. I'd wait for video.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2008

Wonderful, wonderful. I did not see the time pass by and could not believe it was already the end of the movie. The graphics are amazing, I also loved the play of actors, especially the little girl. The story is great. Go watch it, it is worth it.

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2007

I went to see it opening day at one of the cheaper theaters as I had read mixed things about it. For the $6.25 it cost me it was definitely worth it. I thought it was quite entertaining, easy to follow and enjoy. I have not read the books. Daniel Craig and Nicole Kidman were good as always.

Change Location