The Constant Gardener

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Constant Gardener Movie Poster

3.55 / 5

User rating: 3.55

Based on 1144 votes and 63 reviews


  • User rating: 3.55 54.66%
  • User rating: 3.55 8.17%
  • User rating: 3.55 4.19%
  • User rating: 3.55 3.87%
  • User rating: 3.55 29.11%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 63

User review rating: 0 July 15, 2009

I seldom watch movies more than once; but this film stood up well to several viewings. It is a more than just a typical Hollywood movie, in that it touches on some of today's fatal flaws in world politics, and is terrifyingly accurate with regard to the scruples of some multinational drug corporations.

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2008

I found it slow-paced. There was a great story and great acting, but there was barely any climax in this movie. If your looking for an action-packed spy-game then dont come here. 3 stars

User review rating: 0 November 24, 2006

Great Acting,,,sad ending....

User review rating: 0 May 25, 2006

I enjoyed the story, however, if I were not such a fan of Ralph F. and Rachel W., I would have given up long before the ending. I had the volume turned up as loud as possible but I still missed a significant amount of the dialogue due to the mumbling and heavy accent. I was able to figure out the gist of the movie without the dialogue, but it was quite disappointing to not know what was being said.

User review rating: 0 May 20, 2006

very confusing...and good fer nothing

User review rating: 0 May 07, 2006

Not surprising to read some of the negative comments regarding the Constant Gardener. Sometimes films that make you think about the world you are living in are not the most popular, especially ones that make you think about critical issues of the day (i.e. Africa and corporate colonialism). The Constant Gardener is great film on many levels, significance of the story, acting, beautifully shot, that will hopefully inspire more film-makers, directors and actors to get involved and help tell stories as socially and politically important. The exposure that Africa receives from this film is long overdue.

User review rating: 0 March 21, 2006

Here`s the deal. I had to work waaaayyy too hard to keep my attention on this. If I had watched a documentary on this same subject, it would have been easier to follow, more informative and almost certainly more entertaining. Because when I fork over $10 or more, I want some entertainment value. If I have to work as hard as I did to follow this movie, then maybe it`s the filmmaker who should pay me!

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2006

Intellectually challenging, yes. You needed to concentrate 100% on what was happening and being said and even then, it was impossible because people mumbled things and spoke in whispers and music overpowered the dialogue. Plus, it was shown out of order in the beginning, without even attempting to make it clear what was a flashback, what happened recently and what was happening now. Then, when we were caught up, they showed the SAME SCENE AGAIN! You know what, I saw that scene about an hour earlier, no need to show it again, my memory`s not that bad.

User review rating: 0 February 28, 2006

Bad and boaring.

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2006

this movie started out a bit slow but as it evolved it was so like nothing i have seen before it had a slow beating heart till the last few chapters which heated it up into a really good story (if only love was really like that eh? girls LOL)and it made me want to book a flight to africa

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2006

what a great flick. and Kenya, absolutely gorgeous, what lovely people.

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2006

it was wonderful to see a movie that was intellectually challenging, beautifully acted and realistic.

User review rating: 0 January 22, 2006

Wonderful movie, couldn`t do much better really. At times the accents were hard to understand because the actors spoke quietly.

User review rating: 0 January 17, 2006

Compelling viewing. Not for the mentally challenged hollywood blockbuster lover who wants everything on a plate, who I presume the "sleepers" through this movie are...

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2006

Terrible terrible movie. What is with all the nudity? I couldn`t get past the fact that they showed skin whenever they could. Sorry what was this movie about? Politicians being arm wrestled by big business? Oh right. The movie would have been great if they stopped talking for so long and mixing the talking with a pulp fiction style of chronology. The movie is confusing enough that you don`t have to go back and forth in time all the while speaking african and jiggling the camera like it was being held by a toddler! This movie hurt my head and because of that it will get in the wallet.

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2005

`The Constant Gardener` is brilliant! All the acting is tremendous, especially by Ralph Fiennes. The story is a beautiful journey, and the plot quickly develops to be very intense and engaging. Some of the African filming is just breathtaking. I really strongly recommend this film, it deserves so much more recognition than it is receiving.

User review rating: 0 December 13, 2005

I fell asleep watching this.

User review rating: 0 November 24, 2005

nice movie

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2005

its amazing. go see it

User review rating: 0 November 19, 2005

Great ending, but the lead up is far too long. If you survive (yes, survive) the first 45mins you will be in for a treat. The first 45mins are just background information that could have, and should have been only 10mins. Several people left the theater before 45mins. If it were 30mins shorter then it would be a great movie, but it is still pretty good.

User review rating: 0 October 30, 2005

one of the most powerful movies i`ve seen in years

User review rating: 0 October 29, 2005

A good movie, but as with that other long, slow winding (and often boring) movie, The English Patient, this one loses out for many of the same reasons. The actions of the main character are illogical and no one would do what he did in the end. Melodramatic!!

User review rating: 0 October 18, 2005

I liked it better the first time, when it was called The Constant Snoozefest...painfully and agonizingly slow, that by the time the end comes you think "thank god" its over. I almost baled on this half way through it was so slow and boring, there is nothing to hold your attention in it. Save this for a dvd night as a chick flick then find an excuse to call someone. Timewasting at its finest. rx

User review rating: 0 October 16, 2005

the constant gardener tackles complicated subject matter and edge-of-your-seat thrills head on due to the masterful direction by Meirelles and the beautiful cinematography. It is fast-paced, and usually provocative, but sometimes had a problem finding the right characters for the beginning and the right ending 3.5/5

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2005

The Constipated Gardner was the worst waste of my time this year. I have seen better camera work by my 10 year old son. Just because what we saw was amazing doesn`t mean it was photographed well. It isn`t hard to point a camera out a helicopter in Africa and end up with a shot or two. Unfortunatly this film couldn`t rent a tripod and I felt sick most of the time. The acting was great the story engaging, but it was told is such a disorginised cluttered way that I lost interest by the time i was suppossed to care. Too bad, this director has talent an it is a great story, but this film just plain sucked.

User review rating: 0 October 04, 2005

Wrestling between this and Sin City for the best flick I`ve seen this year. Ccnstant Gardener will find its box office success once Oscar announces its best picture nominations in january. It`s a lock for best cinematography.

User review rating: 0 September 29, 2005

Best movie of the year. Beautiful, haunting and very moving. Brilliant performances by Ralph Fiennes and Rachel Weisz. Extraordinary and original direction. Should be nominated in all the major Oscar categories

User review rating: 0 September 25, 2005

dragged out boring, predictable

User review rating: 0 September 25, 2005

This was not what I expected in terms of being a "thriller". It was more dramatic in the telling. The camera work seemed pretty amateur and left me cross-eyed at times. That said, the story was excellent and cast performances were wonderful. Had the camera work been smoother, I might have given it a five.

User review rating: 0 September 25, 2005

Splendid film from all aspects. The acting is wonderful and Ralph Fiennes has never been better. This thought provoking and intense film may be lost on some moviegoers who seek mindless entertainment. There are real issues in this film and the not so slow dying of Africa is but one. There are some great surprises and even some "I wonder ifs" after. This film is experienced and I will definately see it again for all its excellence. Oscar, Oscar, Oscar

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2005

some of us find this movie cruel,but that the reality of some countries.

User review rating: 0 September 22, 2005

I Loved it!! The movie was filled with suspense and passion. Great acting, direction, I think this movie will win quite a few awards. I can`t wait to read the book!!!

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2005

While not a box office hit, definately moving, thought provoking and interesting. The scenery was fabulous. The jerky camera movements were a bit off putting at times but over all a worthwhile show.

User review rating: 0 September 19, 2005

Definitely a provocative story line. I thought it had the look and feel more of a docudrama than a narrative story. I especially was moved by the contrasting beauty and ugliness of Kenya. The story definitely made me wonder, Is it really true that drug companies do such a horrific thing to unsuspecting victims?

User review rating: 0 September 18, 2005

Loved the story, not a big fan of the hand held camera shots. Too jerky.

User review rating: 0 September 15, 2005

The jerky camera movements made my wife ill part way through the movie.I didn`t think the movie was all it was cracked up to be- I wouldn`t recommend it to others.

User review rating: 0 September 15, 2005

Worthy of best reality award as ajudged by current 3rd world countries realism.

User review rating: 0 September 13, 2005

Probably should have read the book. Did they film this using Super-8? I hate when directors want to make something "artistic"! Also couldn`t stand all the jump cuts and shaky camera movements. I think the story and suspense got lost in the direction, cinematography and editing.

User review rating: 0 September 13, 2005

Very good!! Good plot/story. A long movie but kept me interested throughout.

User review rating: 0 September 12, 2005

Magnificent. Oscar nods all around!

User review rating: 0 September 11, 2005

Anything but....

User review rating: 0 September 11, 2005

Wonderful. Great acting, beautiful scenery. I was very impressed.

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2005

A thoughtful film. At first you are scrambling to try and pick up details to understand the mystery that is the story behind her death and her work, but it in the end you are left with a shocking, but bittersweet awareness and resolution. I loved the movie. But don`t go to see it if you are looking for a fun date movie or late at night when you are at risk of falling asleep. It is long, with some pretty shocking images and themes.

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2005

Superb film and adaptation. Acting–as good as it gets. Negative comments about length and lack of action are in appropriate, or just show immaturity.

User review rating: 0 September 09, 2005

This film is brilliant. It is so poignant, touching, genuine and beautiful. The energized style that the director, Fernando Meirelles, used helped keep it visually alive and suspenseful. The story is an important one and I`d loved the fact that Justin was a reluctant hero and ordinary guy in extraordinary cirucumstances. The love story was between Tessa and Justin was spiritual and powerful, and one the most beautifully portrayed love relationships that I`ve ever seen in a film. Ralph Fiennes and Rachel Weiz were superb in every scene and the shots of Keibera in Africa were intriquing. I loved the humanity about the film, and the amount

User review rating: 0 September 08, 2005

Absolutely the worst movie in a long time... perhaps since the English patient. 2.5 hours too long. weak story, weak acting weak crew, horrible cinematography, the dop should be fired.

User review rating: 0 September 07, 2005

A little long, but overall a good movie. Hard to understand what they were saying the odd time because of the stronger English accent of some of the actors.

User review rating: 0 September 07, 2005

Absolutely the best movie of the year. It was spectacular!!! I could go on and on and on but I think that everyone should just see it for themselves...

User review rating: 0 September 06, 2005

Thoughgt the4 moiviue was wonderful; very adult. Well made with wonderful cinematogrpahy and story sequencing.

User review rating: 0 September 06, 2005

VERY GOOD. FINALLY A REALLY ADULT MOVIE...TO ENJOY AT THE TIME AND PONDER LONG AFTER.

Change Location