The Black Dahlia

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Black Dahlia Movie Poster

2.99 / 5

User rating: 2.99

Based on 961 votes and 67 reviews


  • User rating: 2.99 29.46%
  • User rating: 2.99 14.59%
  • User rating: 2.99 13.78%
  • User rating: 2.99 9.46%
  • User rating: 2.99 32.70%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 67

User review rating: 0 March 04, 2007

The majority of the movie had nothing to do with the case.

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2007

although very well acted, the movie lacked spark and the storyline was a little difficult to follow - De Palma, as usual, forgets to let the story tell itself adn seems wrapped up in making the pic look pretty

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2007

really boring and weird

User review rating: 0 October 27, 2006

The book was alot better. The film version came within inches of capturing the pacing, settings and feelings of the book. But it fell flat on its face within those few inches. Thanks for the Josh Hartnett "buff" shot though, woo hoo!

User review rating: 0 October 18, 2006

Slow, boring, one of the worst movie I`ve seen this year.

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2006

I found this movie to be brilliantly crafted, making the audience feel like they`ve been transported through time to late 40`s Hollywood, California. The colours, the language, and the overall look, was very nostalgic. As for the murder mystery aspect, I found the artistic embellishment of the real facts to fabricate a very believable story, very intuitive. I know the crime has remained an unsolved mystery for more than fifty years, but the brutality of the crime, still leaves me bothered.

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2006

I was excited to see this movie for the interesting murder in the storyline. But the movie wasn`t much about that. I was really disappointed in that aspect of it. But all in all it wasn`t a bad movie.

User review rating: 0 October 08, 2006

in my 50 years of movie going I had only walked out of one movie,"Casanova" waaay back in 1976,this boring mess of a movie gets the honor of being the second, not even the gorgeous Scarlett could persuade me to sit through this torture.

User review rating: 0 October 06, 2006

I thought this movie was a huge disappointment. They story line was dragged out and uneventfull. Save your hard earned money and rent this on video!!!

User review rating: 0 October 06, 2006

Waited half an hour for the film to pick up and start to get good. Decided not to torture myself any further and got my money back.

User review rating: 0 October 02, 2006

One of the most boring film I`ve seen. I left in the middle, I had already wasted enough time.

User review rating: 0 October 01, 2006

I`m 28 years old, and I like this movie. Easy to follow and very interesting story.

User review rating: 0 October 01, 2006

This movie was amazing. From start to finish... complex plot combined with breath-taking performances by Josh, Hilary and Scarlet... everything was too good to be true about the film. The creative team did a very well job... carefully thought out screenplay mixed with tru story that haunted Hollywood... TWO THUMBS UP!!!

User review rating: 0 September 30, 2006

An awful use of film....went on a first date to see it...luckily she still wants to see me...

User review rating: 0 September 30, 2006

not much entertainment with this one

User review rating: 0 September 29, 2006

When even the lesbians fail to titilate, you know there is something wrong. I found the plot too hard to follow, the twists went way over my head, and the characters too carboard to care about. About the only good thing going for the movie was the art direction, but other than that I was very disapointed.

User review rating: 0 September 28, 2006

Juding by the trailer, it looked very good. After reading bad reviews, I decided to wait for the rental, but I stil went to see it even though. This movie was not that great. The movie is intresting, it`s just I found the acting and some of the dialogue a bit cheezy. I think Scarlet Johanson is gorgeous it`s just the way she acted was kinda cheezy. I`m not even sure if people should rent this. I wasted ten bucks...3 stars

User review rating: 0 September 27, 2006

This movie was well thought out, superbly acted, and an absolute winner in my opinion. I was looking forward to this movie, and after reading the reviews before going to see it, I did not build my hopes up. However, after watching the Black Dahlia, I am shocked at people`s bad reviews. I have come to the conclusion that you need to be prepared to watch, and follow the movie, and perhaps those that didn`t like it couldn`t keep up with it. Definitely for the more mature mind, I believe most of the bad comments are probably from younger viewers. If you like thrillers, this movie will not disappoint. (Opinion from the eyes of a 27 year old.)

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2006

the trailer for the black dahlia looked really good and alot of my freinds agreed with me..so we deicded to go to see it...however the movie is not how it is shown int he trailer...the movie was horrible...it was confusing...and it almsot had nothing to do with the black dahlia...waste of time and money..go see a better movie

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2006

The movie is disjointed, implausible, poorly acted and extremely disappointing. It is difficult to figure out who everyone is and what exactly they are saying. Save your money for a good movie.

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2006

This is a bad movie

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2006

Terrible, Terrible, Terrible movie! We walked out. Couldn`t understand what was going on, couldn`t understand the dialogue. The directing and scrip were pathetic. Do not waste your money on this crappy movie! asf

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2006

Oh my God!! Could this have sucked any more? NO. Worst movie ever second only to Miami Vice.

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2006

I love Scarlett Johansen, but this movie was just too confusing for me. A week later, and lots of thought....I still cannot figure it out.

User review rating: 0 September 22, 2006

very poor entertainment

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2006

after reading all these bad reviews, i had to make my way into the theatre and see for myself...judging by trailer,i was in for a treat...in a way,i was...only a different kind of treat....i have never seen more people walk out of a movie than in this one...terrible movie...if you can`t tell a story,maybe you shouldn`t be directing a movie mr.palma

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2006

bad, boring, bad story, cheezy acting, it was nothing like the trailers

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2006

It was BAAAAADDD!!! to the bone. /sheep

User review rating: 0 September 20, 2006

this movie was terrible. doesnt even deserve a 1. I have never walked out of a movie. But I walked out of this one!

User review rating: 0 September 20, 2006

If the trailer intrigued you then go see the movie, everyone has different interests and different tastes so it`s silly to take advice from people you don`t know, and i wouldn`t advise listening to someone who was trying to say "i was lost from the beginning" but instead wrote "i was lost from the begging"

User review rating: 0 September 20, 2006

james ellroy is probably my favorite author.... but this movie was embarrassing. sadly I have to say skip it.

User review rating: 0 September 20, 2006

bad....terrible....need i say more?

User review rating: 0 September 20, 2006

Was an ok movie. not as bad as most comments say. could have had more with Betty Short though. some pretty kinky sex scenes. Scarlett is sizzlin!!!

User review rating: 0 September 20, 2006

It was gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood!!!!!

User review rating: 0 September 19, 2006

It was baaaaaaaaaaaaaaad!!!!. it should have been called something else as they had very little to do with the name of the movie The Black Dahlia. please don`t keep your hopes up for this one people, save your money for the better days or a better movie.

User review rating: 0 September 19, 2006

Absolutely horrible! Not even worth a rental fee!

User review rating: 0 September 19, 2006

What an amazinly sexy noir thriller. great actors. SUPERB! dont listen to bad comments!

User review rating: 0 September 19, 2006

A very good Movie even though a lot of it was fictional even though it was based on a true crime story it does make you wonder who really killed the Black Dahlia. Overall not bad and good acting.

User review rating: 0 September 19, 2006

It goes to show that you can not always go by the opinion of others. I almost dodn`t go to see this movie because of the ratings on this site. I found that the movie was well done and entertaining. You had to follow every action to understand the plot. It is not a movie that you could leave to refill popcorn but took every minute of your attention. If you`re willing to pay attention then it is a very well done picture with a number of subplots that all come together at the end.

User review rating: 0 September 19, 2006

good acting but difficult to follow the story. it could`ve been so much better.

User review rating: 0 September 18, 2006

its a real stinker!....please dont spend ur money on this....go see something else....

User review rating: 0 September 18, 2006

I was really excited to see this movie but ten minutes into the film I was asking myself if I was in the right theater watching the right movie, "The Black Dahlia" ofcourse. My point is that the movie had nothing to do with the story of what actually happened to Betty Short. Sure, they made some reference to her throughout the movie but not what I had anticipated to say the least. The acting was good but the movie itself was terrible and a waste of time.

User review rating: 0 September 18, 2006

commercial for cigarette smoking good acting baaad movie

User review rating: 0 September 18, 2006

i`d rather see a porno staring Robert Montgomery then have to sit through this load of crap again.....TERRIBLE!!!!!

User review rating: 0 September 18, 2006

it sucks sooooo bad ... half the people left the half emptied theater !!! Some stupid boxing match in the beginning that has nothing to do with the story. Countless sex scenes with nothing to do with the story. Although is based on a true story, it totally waste such a good storyline with a sad history to back it up. I am soo piss of I kick two dogs on my way home (kiddin) Is not much of a thriller, you will not be scare at all, but instead you will feel like you want to punch the director and watch some other crappy movies instead. Hell man even baseketball or orgazmo or Doom was better than this piece of crap. Stayyyyy away from this film,

User review rating: 0 September 18, 2006

The movie sucked, it was the most boringest movie I have ever seen. I was lost from the begging to when I got up and left half way through. Don`t waist your money. PLEASE!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 September 17, 2006

this movie is supposed to be good.. what the hell happened??

User review rating: 0 September 17, 2006

WHAT?!?!.....how could they do this?!?....they turned a perfect story into a DISGUTSING MESS!!!!!.....poor acting....bad directing....lame setting.....and i thought this was about an unsolved murder...not 50,000 different love stories!...I HATED IT! IT WAS TERRIBLE!....ONE OF THE WORST MOVIES I`VE SEEN IN A VERY LONG TIME!.....

User review rating: 0 September 17, 2006

sexy.

User review rating: 0 September 17, 2006

It makes you wonder how can a director take a group of good actors and a decent book and come up with such a terrible film. Perhaps the actors were concentrating too hard on how to smoke and hold their cigarettes that they didn`t realize how bad their lines were. Mia Kirshner as Betty is the highlight of the film, unfortunately her part is too small to salvage it. For the last 45 minutes of the film , by the audience`s reaction, you would have thought you were at a comedy, it was so bad, so overdone that you couldn`t help but laugh.

Change Location