The Big Short

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.96 / 5

User rating: 3.96

Based on 96 votes and 41 reviews

  • User rating: 3.96 63.04%
  • User rating: 3.96 8.70%
  • User rating: 3.96 6.52%
  • User rating: 3.96 4.35%
  • User rating: 3.96 17.39%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 41 of 41

User review rating: 5 May 07, 2016

Super movie about the collapse of the housing bubble and those that saw it coming and used the stock markets folly against itself. Definitely makes you feel that money is not all that it seems, nor are we all safe...nor is it as tangible a substance to base a society on. Capitalism definitely is a dream.

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2016

Superb movie. We go about our lives and think the 'free market' economy is going to look out for us. Ha, this movie does a wonderful job of telling the story of how fraudulent the system can be if not is. So well done, so well acted. A movie that leaves you with insight and somewhat skeptical about our financial system and the corruption of money in politics. What's your house worth and why?

User review rating: 5 February 29, 2016

I can't believe I just heard about this movie.... watched it over the weekend and I was floored. Great acting and what a "story." Well done by everyone.

User review rating: 4 February 19, 2016

If not for the profanity, would have rated it 5 stars. Overall, well done, informative, and funny to boot. Not at all boring.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2016

A great fast paced film that illuminates the Mortgage crisis of 2008. The acting is superb by all involved especially Christian Bale and Ryan Gosling. Go see this film!

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2016

Great movie! Anyone interested in the 2008 US mortgage crisis will be fully engaged.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2016

Not sure why this is getting bad reviews, must be from simpletons because this movie was great!! Learned a lot and held my attention the whole time.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2016

I can't believe I just watched this movie! Wow. So glad I'm debt free and don't have a mortgage. SO GLAD! Watch the movie, and you might learn a thing or two.

User review rating: 1 January 30, 2016

Walked out after 30 minutes! Poorly projected story line,along with uneeded profanity, the attempt was there-but Failed.

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2016

If you own a house with a subprime mortgage, you will understand how the entire world was effected by the 2008 housing crisis. I am embarrassed to say that i did not realize Ryan Gosling was one of the 4 best actors of all time in this movie. Make up and cinematography were outstanding. Yes, there is a 5 minute point at the beginning of the movie were the camera was bouncing around looking at the stocks and bond market graphs. All said, it was a very informative movie...thought provoking and viewed at the best movie theater ever...Richmond Hill Silvercity.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2016

This movie is incredible.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2016

Great movie! Liked all the cameos.

User review rating: 4 January 25, 2016

More of a docudrama if anything else. Well done and great acting.

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2016

This movie was based on the housing crash in 2008. Don't think it'll happen here in Canada, but then again, that's exactly what the USA said, so it makes me wonder now. Go see it with and open mind. It'll be great to get some opinions on the matter.

User review rating: 1 January 25, 2016

I sat in the back row of the theatre but had to leave after thirty minutes because I was motion sick. This was not an "action" movie but the camera moved around so fast that I felt that I was on a wild roller coaster. This coupled with the fact that the Cineplex theatre had some heating issues; it was incredibly warm, almost had me tossing my cookies. I was interested in the plot initially but found the story hard to follow despite my physical symptoms.

User review rating: 4 January 22, 2016

I can't say I liked it, because millions of people lost their jobs and houses in 2008, but this really puts things into perspective. Are people really that ignorant and woefully blind?? I hope not.

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2016

I had no idea what this movie was about. It's an eye-opener for sure! Well down and thank you! I'm being careful with my money and my investments after watching this!

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2016

AWFUL. No steady cam. If you are prone to motion sickness, do NOT see this movie. Boring, dull, no story line with the characters. (except for a fleeting moment with Steve Carell). Just thinking about this movie gives me a headache.

User review rating: 1 January 16, 2016

A disappointment. The camera kept flashing so many times on the scenes it was hard to watch. Wait until it comes on the tv. Not worth seeing in a theatre.

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2016

Loved this movie. It was very engaging and easy to understand. If you don't understand the world of finance and global markets than you probably won't enjoy it as much though.

User review rating: 1 January 10, 2016

You must get past the multiple 4 letter words, and the over the top characters. Then you are faced with the well known history of failed, subprime mortgages. After an hour, there was trouble keeping this plot moving. Varied between, irritating, and boring.

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2016

This movie is great. The book is better.

User review rating: 1 January 09, 2016

Glorifies a bunch of bankers who found a different way to get rich off the misery of others. Acting was not challenging - not Oscar worthy. Should be called BIG DEAL.

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2016

Kept me up all night

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2016

Brilliant movie telling the truth about the corrupt banking system!!! Steve Carell deserves an Oscar for his performance.

User review rating: 2 January 07, 2016

It is a sort of a boring documentary. No acting at all. The director failed to put that shameful event of wall street deceit into an interesting story. Waste of talent. Yousry

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2016

Brilliant, great acting,

User review rating: 2 January 05, 2016

Not very well put together.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2016

Outstanding!!!! Rivals "Spotlight" for best I've seen this year.

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2016

Brilliant film with a great cast. Most films about this kind of topic would be earnest and preachy but this is funny and very engaging.

User review rating: 1 January 02, 2016

Unless your a mortgage broker, stay away.

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2016

Brilliant movie! C Pro

User review rating: 3 December 30, 2015

Really interesting story - definitely worth seeing. Christian Bale's character was boring, but I'm just not a fan of his. Overall, not an exciting movie, but very interesting.

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2015

5 out 5 stars: absolutely, yes. this is educational, funny so the learnings get across the point, historical, non-fiction. everyone who has been affected in one way or another in a big way in the years since 2008 should see this. informative like movies "Margin Call", "Chasing Madoff", and "Wolf of Wall Street". worth the see.

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2015

Best christmas movie. Truth for a change. Documentary/drama/documentary/drama. Actually understandable though a really complicated subject.

User review rating: 0 December 27, 2015

I thought this was a great movie about the housing bubble & helped in the understanding of this terrible crash of the banking system. Good performances by Gosling & Carrell. It deserves four stars!

User review rating: 1 December 27, 2015

disappointed, asked for our money back

User review rating: 1 December 27, 2015

we left after the first ten minutes. Using the F word in the opening scene, and some woman stripping shows everything...can't we do better than this. If you need this type of entertainment, there are places on the vegas strip.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2015

This is not a movie for someone that just mindlessly wants to be entertained. You actually have to think while watching this movie. Though I was not totally enthralled with the way in which it was filmed, it was a fascinating presentation of the housing bubble debacle. The total greed and complete disregard for other people is quite shocking. Be informed.....go see this movie.

User review rating: 5 December 26, 2015

Carell and Gosling haven't been this funny since Crazy, Stupid, Love!

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2015

I saw a documentary a few years back on Frontline about the housing bubble and was shocked at the corruption the big banks where a party too. This movie refreshed my memory of how bad it was and how much worst I remembered it was. Greed is a bad thing. I would recommend anybody who gives a crap about their country go see this movie. It is an eye opener.

Change Location