Tears of the Sun

Thank you for rating this movie!

Tears of the Sun Movie Poster

4.15 / 5

User rating: 4.15

Based on 2912 votes and 43 reviews

  • User rating: 4.15 73.67%
  • User rating: 4.15 5.13%
  • User rating: 4.15 2.00%
  • User rating: 4.15 1.10%
  • User rating: 4.15 18.11%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 43 of 43

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2014

Wow! What an amazing experience. I love it story music perfect the erie murdering scene really scared the hell out of me man it's like watching Hitler movies over again. You guys did a great job with this movie shows great talent behind it Thank you

User review rating: 5 November 13, 2010

top movie , one of bruce willis's best, bought the DVD

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2007

"The tears of the sun" was so realistic

User review rating: 0 June 28, 2006

so real. it is just what civil wars are about in Africa. Cruaulty, barbarian, no pity for innocent people.

User review rating: 0 May 31, 2006

anytime have a second

User review rating: 0 July 06, 2005

"Tears Of The Sun" was very emotional, dramatic and humane...Two hours after watching the movie, I was still feeling the effects it had on me...

User review rating: 0 June 22, 2005

I sat and watched this movie for the first time with my husband on Wed 22th June 2005. For me personally I found the scenes to be so realistic and horrific, it has left a definite and lasting impression on my mind. Being a mother of 4 children, 3 girls and 1 boy aged from 10 to 2 yrs, I was shocked by many of the scenes. I live in Auckland, New Zealand, and have just recently seen a BBC Documentary on Sudan, where many villages have been burnt to the ground, all the men killed and only the women and children left, all who have been

User review rating: 0 March 07, 2005

Tears of the sun is a great movie it`s just very graphic and it so real. It opened my eyes to see what really is happening in Afica. This is an eye opener and shows what those people really go through to survive and what those women go throgh to keep there population growing. I hope the people see waht really happens and trys to do something about it.

User review rating: 0 October 15, 2004

Absolute depth of the human spirit and our opposing animal nature. I hope this movie is seen by as many happy-go-lucky people as pssible. Maybe then, "Out of sight out of mind," will be less of an excuse for selfish inaction. Congrats!

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2004

Awful movie. Bruce Willis` character was poorly developed which doesn`t say much for the movie as he was the central character. I thought it was a superficial attempt to depict the horror of the fighting in Africa.

User review rating: 0 September 14, 2003

Top of the range craaaap, totally unrealistic and plot set in the wrong country where there is relative peace and the movie depicting Africans(Nigerians) as barbarians does leave a sour taste in my mouth.

User review rating: 0 September 03, 2003

Tears of the sun is the best movie i have watched all year, plots was great storyline was true afica 2003.thank bruce willis for a great movie.i hit the spot.

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2003

Tears Of The Sun was an amazing movie. It was one of the best movies I have seen in awhile.

User review rating: 0 July 09, 2003

tears of the sun was exteremly entertaining movie. I like the idea of U.S.military action used for helping people without being prompted by corporate profit motivation

User review rating: 0 June 30, 2003

the best for me and also emotional.i believe this movie was to let the world see what really is gong on in most african countries and of which is true so thats why i gave this movie 4 stars.two thumps up for the director,the cast and i am proud because i am an african who experienced such a life thanks

User review rating: 0 June 29, 2003

Tears of the Sun was visually amazing.I love war movies, and this is an easy one especially with all the cool characters like Red and the awesome gun fights and the touch of emotional conflict.I do think it lacked dialogue, or even a stronger message, there was even some lousy acting, but it did it for me!Red was sooo cool.I wish i was him. I still think this movie deserves alot more praise.

User review rating: 0 May 27, 2003

I thought that Tears of the Sun was great movie. It was well done with a nice story line and amzing action scenes. I reccomend this movie to any war lovers out there.

User review rating: 0 May 21, 2003

it`s mind blowing...awesome

User review rating: 0 May 12, 2003

i though at first i would not like the movie but when me and my friend came out of the theatre we were so glad we went and seen it. it was one of the best movie i have ever seen.

User review rating: 0 May 10, 2003

it was one of the best movies i had ever seen. bruce willis was awesome. i can`t wait to own it.

User review rating: 0 April 14, 2003

This is a excellent moving with a lot of substance and on the edge of your seat action!

User review rating: 0 April 13, 2003

Bad movie. Die Hard in the jungle.

User review rating: 0 April 11, 2003

Poor movie, weak plot. I lived in Africa for 23 years and it`s just not realistic.

User review rating: 0 March 21, 2003

After spending over a year living in Africa, I could feel the pain of the doctor as she watched in horror to what the rebels did to `her` people. This movie was amazing and reminded me so much of what actually happens today in many Africa counties. To know that this happens, made the movie come alive so much more. Great job!

User review rating: 0 March 19, 2003

This was a very good movie, on what the american foreign policy SHOULD be. Too much stuff is about political stance these days and not about doing the right thing. This is a great, smart action movie that isnt just about blowing stuff it. It has a really great message and I enjoyed it.

User review rating: 0 March 18, 2003

i thought this movie was awesome not CRAAAAP

User review rating: 0 March 18, 2003

I thought this was an excellent depiction of the horrors of war. I enjoyed the movie even though some parts of it were extremely disturbing. It is not for the weak at heart.

User review rating: 0 March 18, 2003

Just in time for the U.S. invasion of Iraq comes `Tears of the Sun,` a glossy but fraudulent promotion for America`s revived role as self proclaimed global policemen.

User review rating: 0 March 16, 2003

I went into this movie expecting action, instead I got a bite of the reality that exists in Africa. So overall I was disappointed, there were only a couple of good action sequences, and the trailers falsely portrayed a movie that contained a lot of action. DO NOT GO INTO THIS EXPECTING AN ACTION MOVIE!

User review rating: 0 March 16, 2003

Gt real.It,s what they do for our (there )freedom.Of course it,s hollywood.Could you imagine what happen,s in real life?Movie was great,stood away from the `love-scene,s.Showed the (real-emotion)in horror and frightend innocent human being,s!

User review rating: 0 March 15, 2003

I think that anyone who writes "CRAAAAAP" as a review needs english lessons and should above all else ask his parents permision before sharing his "LAME" comments with anyone else. This movie was fantastic.

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2003

This was a bad, bad movie. I thought it would be cool to see the director`s view of the navy seal, but it turned out to be a boring and unimpressive interpretation. The combat scenes were very poorly done. Also, the over dramatic shots of the mourning africans and the africans in the throes of death were uneffective and became tiresome very quickly. As did the painful background music.

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2003

Typical American Flag waving, chest thumping crap. The only "tears" will be comming from people that go to see it when they see how badly the got ripped off. I have seen mud puddles deeper than this movie. Save your money it is typical American propoganda.

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2003


User review rating: 0 March 13, 2003

I believe that is was a verry large waste of money. The plot was predictable. There was war romance(simthing truely non-existant) and ia an unrealistic depiction of a war movie. ex a leutenant makes his own orders and nothing happens to him not even a complaint. and worst of all NO BLOOD :(

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2003

super world-shaking rescued in that exciting movie

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2003

i think this was a great war movie hat showed the reality of war in africa and takes one close to the conflict that is still on going in places like the Congo (zaire), Rwanda and even somalia. If you loved blackhawk down, behind enemy lines you`ll like tears of the son.

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2003

The war part of the movie was good, but the way they tried to incorporate romance was pretty pathetic

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2003

If you like war movies...see this one. Plot is foreseeable, but who cares...when you`ve seen as many movies as i have, you get use to it. Go watch a musical if you want a plot that you can`t predict. I also thought Bruce Willis did a great job! Keep it up Bruce

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2003

This movie was not original at all. Just wish Hollywood would come out with something new for a change. If they do wanna recycle plotlines, at least make some major changes or improvements so the audience wouldn`t waste 10 dollars for a night out.

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2003

It is extremely difficult to say that this movie flunked because of all the time, effort, and money spent on it... But the movie did indeed flunk. I think Bruce Willis should stick to internal affairs, he is not suited to act as a navy seal. Also, I could`ve guessed the story line for this movie before I watched it. I was disappointed, and this is a drawback from the director`s great movie, Training Day.

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2003

The movie struggled in an attempt to glorify war. However, Bruce Willis did a decent job. Everything else was just about disappointing.

User review rating: 0 March 07, 2003

Best war movie since BHD

Change Location