Take This Waltz

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.60 / 5

User rating: 3.60

Based on 86 votes and 30 reviews


  • User rating: 3.60 38.10%
  • User rating: 3.60 14.29%
  • User rating: 3.60 23.81%
  • User rating: 3.60 16.67%
  • User rating: 3.60 7.14%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 30 of 30

User review rating: 4 March 14, 2014

an emotional rollercoaster of a movie! very well done. a movie you think about long after it's over!

User review rating: 5 December 22, 2012

A subtle but effective heart tugger based on the Leonard Cohen hit.

User review rating: 1 December 22, 2012

Should never have been made. Another example of Telefilm Canada rushing a film into production.

User review rating: 4 October 17, 2012

a tough movie to watch at times...but a very good and realistic movie..makes you think "the grass isn't always greener"..

User review rating: 1 October 07, 2012

I didn't see the end...it got boring....(s.....l.....o......w), Michelle Williams she is a nerve-wracking, distressing

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2012

wonderful adaptation of the leonard cohen classic. 3.2 stars!

User review rating: 4 September 24, 2012

fantastic.

User review rating: 5 September 22, 2012

excellent

User review rating: 5 September 10, 2012

beautiful and poignant. makes you wish you could be married to 2 guys at the same time.

User review rating: 4 August 30, 2012

seth rogan is great in this. great film! :)

User review rating: 5 August 27, 2012

take this waltz was a movie that makes you think. michelle williams is amazing! seth rogen also does a super job!

User review rating: 3 August 15, 2012

emotionally raw and somewhat draining. after watching it i kept thinking about the movie for days.

User review rating: 0 August 09, 2012

this happens very rarely; i watched the movie, i enjoyed it, can't say it blew me away, but it stayed with me all day the next day; i could feel it in my heart.

User review rating: 3 August 01, 2012

emotionally draining movie....good, but hard to watch at times

User review rating: 3 July 23, 2012

a bit disturbing and extremely raw - but very good!

User review rating: 0 July 20, 2012

tough movie to watch about relationships, divorce and the fact that the "grass isn't always greener"...good movie, but maybe best as a rental. michelle williams was annoying, but seth rogan and luke kirby were great..especially kirby.

User review rating: 2 July 18, 2012

depressing...not really a fun times at the movies.

User review rating: 3 July 17, 2012

overwhelmingly raw and real...a tough movie to wathc, but a real good movie.

User review rating: 3 July 13, 2012

an emotional rollercoaster of a film. a hard movie to watch at times, but a good one.

User review rating: 2 July 12, 2012

tough movie to watch, which is part of teh appeal. a bit too long and slow for me, but entertaining nonetheless.

User review rating: 5 July 04, 2012

an absolutely beautiful film - a raw, nuanced examination of romantic relationships and desire. sarah polley once again provides an incredibly insightful and honest perspective on the human condition. very believable chemistry between all of the lead actors. luke kirby's thoughtful and expressive performance deserves to be recognized.

User review rating: 3 July 04, 2012

satisfying sequel to the last waltz, but nothing more. needed dylan or diamond to reprise their roles from the first film to make it something special. as is, just ok.

User review rating: 2 July 04, 2012

the central love affair at the heart of this summer flick is the love of the world class city which is the setting for this romantic drama. this should come as no surprise when we consider that native torontonian sarah polley used an all canadian cast. in fact most of the lead cast members met on the set of degrassi high- the mythical canadian public television drama which was produced in the late 1980's. polley also remained in contact with sarah silverman in spite of silverman being fired from the second season of degrassi following charges of public indecency following an incident at a degrassi public appearance in a mississauga mall. the richness of the directing and acting are compl

User review rating: 5 July 03, 2012

i really loved this movie. subtle, nuanced - not your typical relationship movie. great performances by all esp. rogan and williams. loved the portrayal of their marriage - esp. how it realistically captured the private, playful intimacy of a couple. s.

User review rating: 5 June 22, 2012

heart-wrenchingly beautiful.

User review rating: 5 May 29, 2012

i saw this film at tiff last year, and i was blown away. polley hit the nail on the head with this bittersweet story.

User review rating: 4 April 20, 2012

finally, a movie musical with decent music! 8/10

User review rating: 5 April 20, 2012

it's flashdance for today's generation.

User review rating: 3 April 20, 2012

i finally got oruand to seeing the fighter, and i agree that bale's performance is electric. there was an underlying sadness to many of the scenes revolving oruand bale's character, and thankfully russell doesn't overdo it with any sentimentality that is typical of similar movies. my only problems with the movie are that some of the fight choreography feels rocky -like), wahlberg is a tad shallow in his acting, and rifts are too easily patched up and the movie ends predictably.

User review rating: 5 September 11, 2011

The Leonard Cohen song, "Take this Waltz", has the lyrics "Take this waltz, take this waltz It's yours now. It's all that there is." Sarah Polley includes Cohen's song at the key moment, as she tells an intense story of voided relationships. The story is of Margot, a beautiful Michelle Williams and her partially satisfying and comfortable marriage to Lou, a believable Seth Rogen. Margot perceives gaps in her relationship and sees in Daniel (Luke Kirby) what she lacks. Includes some racy scenes but in context, and it's really a stunningly beautiful, romantic and insightful movie. Not just a chick's flick but it does move slowly at times as it plumbs relationships and context, and some guys

Change Location