Sugar

Thank you for rating this movie!

Sugar Movie Poster

3.65 / 5

User rating: 3.65

Based on 301 votes and 23 reviews


  • User rating: 3.65 51.64%
  • User rating: 3.65 14.91%
  • User rating: 3.65 5.45%
  • User rating: 3.65 2.91%
  • User rating: 3.65 25.09%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 23 of 23

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2007

This movie was awesome. I wish that Andre was still alive so they could do another movie. I grew up with Andre. He was a great friend and a grear actor. Its been a long time since he passed away but he is still missed. This was the last movie he ever acted in and it was by far the best.

User review rating: 0 October 05, 2006

nice job guys... i love the movie... but i do hate the ending.... anymore plann of sequel? do let me know

User review rating: 0 August 08, 2006

it took he a whole hour to figure out that it was a low budget Canadian flick... I thought it was purposeful art-house!! Very impressed.

User review rating: 0 May 14, 2006

Mmmmm. It reminded me of The Outsiders. Aw, Cliff was adorable. I wanted to sex him up.

User review rating: 0 May 08, 2006

Amazing show. It reminded me of what it was like in the late 80`s. Keeping making movies.

User review rating: 0 November 26, 2005

ITS A REALLY GOOD MOVIE

User review rating: 0 November 16, 2005

is a great movie

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2005

Very accurate depiction of the internal turmoil that arises when a straight male actually falls in love with a male. Note how I am not saying a straight male has sex w/ another male. The truth is, the gay community largely misses the concept that a straight male CAN and often WILL have sex with another male w/o being gay, what gives them issues is if they develop FEELINGS for a male, otherwise the sex is like masturbation. Good Movie, Brendan did a top-of-the-line performance - had me wanting to help him. `Cliff` is typical of the homosexual response and turned rather cold in the end. Over all really good movie - ending needed a little be

User review rating: 0 May 15, 2005

Very acutrate depiction of the drug world and how quickly you can be taken by it. It was quite fluky that I saw this movie today because just four days ago my ex boyfriend was released from hospital after almost losing his life. He also had punched a window. Brendan Fehr did a really convincing job as a drug addict. Jay

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2005

Shocking, passionate, touching, funny and very real. Excellent performances by Brendan Fehr and Andre Noble.

User review rating: 0 March 01, 2005

Profoundly honest, passionate, and disturbing film. Believable characters and situations.

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2005

I thaught it was very interesting and i love all the characters, its almost as if the people watching are being invited in to this new erotic world just like cliff.

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2005

the only reason i wanted to see `sugar` was because it had brendan fehr in it...he`s such a hottie...but anywayz im from america and i don`t really like canadian movies...but after i seen this movie, i wanted to see it over and over again. and yeah, a little more nudity would have been great...especially if it were brendan`s character, butch!!!

User review rating: 0 December 13, 2004

Wonderful. You either love or hate it, I really loved it. Very moving, honest and funny, great performances by the entire ensemble. Highly recommended.

User review rating: 0 December 09, 2004

I thought the movie was a true depiction of the average young guy who is experiemnting...unaware of his true sexuality..unwilling to give himselfto the truth.Brendan Fehr`s character was brought out really well...realistic and robust performance! he deserves a commendation , acting in a role I never thought possible of him.. if there is any hero in the movie..it is surely him...The sexual innuendo ..finding true love only to lose it...are anthemic of the worldwe live in. The cold , harsh absence of the antigay slam was evident throughout the movie...it screamed for Butch`s death...as we all..."normal" people would`ve.... a death away from t

User review rating: 0 December 07, 2004

Stunningly simple yet moving and so real, something Holywood has problems creating these days. Leaves a person kind of raw...

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2004

Needed more development. The ending felt rush.

User review rating: 0 August 23, 2004

sugar is the perfect movie for the queer population, i saw this film twis in toronto i love de story and de characters; i from mexico and i´m waiting for sugra for see again.

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2004

As a member of the festival staff for the SF screening with Frameine28, I was able to catch a couple dozen offerings from this year`s new Queer cinema. "Sugar" is on my "Top 2 List." (along with James Bolten`s lovely film "The Graffiti Artist.") Each of these films had me "missing" the lead characters for days, wanting to delve further into their lives.

User review rating: 0 July 26, 2004

The movie lacked any emotional thrust and lacked a strong narrative. Brendan Fehr`s character nose-dives too quickly without any apparent reason besides that he`s into drugs. A disappointment. A lot of potential, but unpolished.

User review rating: 0 July 16, 2004

Sugar is an extremely powerful film. Brendan Fehr as "Butch" give a solid, heart wrenching performance. Reaching deep within himself he has pulled out a magical transformation from the TV actor to an screen actor to be reckoned with. John Palmer`s film brought both laughter and tears.

User review rating: 0 July 06, 2004

I really enjoyed watching this movie, my partner and I were both very pleased about it. The one thing I do have a problem with (which isn`t that big a deal I guess) is that scene near the end where to two old guys are looking at the preteenage boys in the pool. I just don`t understand were it fitted in? But there than that scene I thought it was a well produce and powerful movie which deserved more credit. Oh ya when is it been released on to DVD? G

User review rating: 0 June 26, 2004

I wanted to see more nudity

Change Location