Straw Dogs

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.83 / 5

User rating: 2.83

Based on 112 votes and 30 reviews


  • User rating: 2.83 21.15%
  • User rating: 2.83 19.23%
  • User rating: 2.83 15.38%
  • User rating: 2.83 9.62%
  • User rating: 2.83 34.62%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 30 of 30

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2012

real good movie!

User review rating: 1 January 09, 2012

dumb!

User review rating: 1 December 26, 2011

this movie was awful..

User review rating: 2 December 18, 2011

The original is far better. In fact it is one of Dustin Hoffman's best performances. I am starting to wonder about these re-makes now a days, they seem so slapped together. Why can't Hollywood dream up more new stuff instead of re-making everything?

User review rating: 3 October 29, 2011

I enjoyed the film. I mentioned it to my dad, and he noted quite enjoying the original many years back. Good cast in this one. Not the best movie of the genre this year, but a fun ride.

User review rating: 4 October 28, 2011

Good scary movie, you never really knew whether the wife was good or bad.

User review rating: 1 October 27, 2011

very bad plot, not a good story.

User review rating: 5 October 26, 2011

Movie was fantastic. Very nice plot- I didn't find it predictable like other movies.

User review rating: 3 October 26, 2011

the story was a bit slow in showing the different reasons why it came to that point..im also confused with the character of kate bosworth because she was raped and she doesnt want to take revenge on these men that raped her?

User review rating: 3 October 24, 2011

this movie was not for me.

User review rating: 4 October 24, 2011

great movie, even though there was disturbing scenes it's amazing to see what mankind is all about and what we as humans will do when a situation arises. it's nice to go to a movie that is different with a different story

User review rating: 4 October 22, 2011

excellent Thriller

User review rating: 1 October 20, 2011

Watch the original.

User review rating: 4 October 20, 2011

A great re-telling, slow in the beginning, but works up to an intense ending.

User review rating: 3 October 20, 2011

Pretty much a modern retelling of a classic when classics should be left alone.

User review rating: 5 September 30, 2011

I really hate how people just show up to movies and not know what to expect I always research movies before i go to see them so i am know what to expect. I liked the film and while the rape was disturbing it is not the worst i have seen. I have seen sex scenes far more graphic than that. The first rape was graphic but not violent, the second was violent and for that reason the director barely showed it happening. To all the people who saw it and were distrubed it's your fault if you had reserched the movie you would have known that there would be a rape in it as there was in the original thrity years ago!!! The movie was terrifyingly realaistic and that scared me more if you think that this

User review rating: 1 September 29, 2011

We went to the movie based on the fact that there was supposed to be a plot and only a bit of violence at the end. THERE IS NO PLOT! The brutal rape scenes were sickening. The violence was over the top. We are left with very disturbing images in our minds. There should have been warnings about the rape scenes and the level of violence. We asked for a refund and received movie coupons. It's a shame that a good title was wasted on such a horrible movie.

User review rating: 2 September 27, 2011

I just saw Straw Dogs this weekend and was deeply disturbed by the rape scenes in the movie. I would like to suggest some sort of warning for customers that there is sexual violence in a movie. If there are warnings of nudity sexuality violence and coarse language I think adding a warning of scenes with sexual violence doesnt seem that unreasonable. Scenes like this are unnecessary in my opinion but writers producers and directors feel they are ok fine. But for someone who may have experienced sexual violence in their past scenes like this can bring on flashbacks and memories of something theyd rather not think about while trying to enjoy a night out at the movies.

User review rating: 1 September 27, 2011

I thought I was going to love this movie. And it was good - until the brutal rape scene. Honestly, this was too graphic for me and if it didn't make other people uncomfortable, I don't know what will. I probably would have mostly liked the movie if there wasn't this horrid part to it. Because of the rapes I ended up wanting to leave the theater, I will never watch this movie again, and strongly discourage others to see it as well.

User review rating: 4 September 22, 2011

Fantastic movie. Great plot and great writing. One of the best thrillers I've seen in a while!

User review rating: 4 September 19, 2011

None of these people know what they are talking about. Plain and simple. It's not 90 minutes of boredom, it's called a PLOT. Something most movies are missing these days. Now, most people just wanna see guts. They wouldn't know a good movie if it ever came along.

User review rating: 4 September 19, 2011

Fantastic film--great thriller. Visceral and effective (I say this as as horror/thriller buff). I have NO idea what these other "reviewers" are talking about...

User review rating: 1 September 19, 2011

THIS is easily the worst movie I have EVER seen. I am warning you do not go. If you go you will be like I should have listened to that guy who wrote that comment on tribute. It is that bad!

User review rating: 1 September 18, 2011

This was the WORST movie EVER!!! Boring and made no sense at all!!! Don't waste your time and money!!!!!

User review rating: 4 September 18, 2011

my husband seen the movie, it was a good movie, good story. what is wrong with you people, does it always have to have have guts, and gorrie before you enjoy it a movie.

User review rating: 2 September 17, 2011

This movie is crazy!!!!

User review rating: 1 September 17, 2011

Movie was very slow and very boring. People were falling asleep and walking out. last 20 minutes of film were very good and also where all the action is. Not worth sitting thru 90 min of boredom. Rent it and fast forward to last 20 min and you will be better off!

User review rating: 1 September 17, 2011

If you are looking for a fast paced or even medium paced thriller...this ain't it! The only action is in the last 20 min of the movie, which was really good, but not worth sitting through 90 min of boredom. The rest is drawn out, boring and not worth watching. People were leaving the theater and falling asleep. Don't waste your money. Rent it and fast forward to last 20 minutes and you will be better off. Worst movie I have seen this year.

User review rating: 3 September 16, 2011

Went to see this movie today with my husband and was not satisfied and not scary at all.

User review rating: 1 September 16, 2011

last house on the left called, they want their movie back

Change Location