Solitary Man

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.87 / 5

User rating: 3.87

Based on 133 votes and 18 reviews

  • User rating: 3.87 38.81%
  • User rating: 3.87 34.33%
  • User rating: 3.87 8.96%
  • User rating: 3.87 10.45%
  • User rating: 3.87 7.46%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 18 of 18

User review rating: 2 November 19, 2010

Michael Douglas' gives a very good performance. Unfortunately that is the only positive thing I can say about this crappy movie.

User review rating: 1 October 19, 2010

what garbage!! A waste of a telented cast.

User review rating: 2 September 24, 2010

Not very good at all. The performances were good, especially Douglas' performance, but the writing and direction was not very good. Even the strong performances couldn't save this film from a bad script.

User review rating: 2 September 23, 2010

If it were not for the impressive performance of M. Douglass,this movie would be a waste of time. THat being said, it isn't very good. I found it to be choppy and disjointed. Too bad for Dougals as his performance is wasted.

User review rating: 3 September 08, 2010

Michael Douglas character reminds of a real life con that I know. He is in jail for the 5th time and still claims to be innocent. Michael plays this role to perfection. The ending is almost perfect the only flaw is why Susan Sarandin would put up with his crap ever again.

User review rating: 4 September 02, 2010

The priapic,womanizing Ben Kalmen's life is a physical,financial,emotional and personal mess. He is a victim of his own excesses. Michael Douglas's character persists in lieing to himself and is oblivious to his own bs. Although unlikeable,Ben is fascinating and not without his own brand of humanity.The excuse/exlaination for his tomcatting,that he is afraid of his own death(how ironic,since Doulas is currently battling throat cancer)is somewhat universal. It is thought that the late President Kennedy's serial philandering could be attributed to his own fears surrounding his many illnesses. One wonders whether the Kalmen character is a possible reflection-to some degree-of Douglas's own life

User review rating: 3 August 26, 2010

The character portrayed by Michael Douglas is a real creep and slimeball. I couldn't get past that and did not enjoy the movie at all. If you find a guy who sleeps with his girlfriend's daughter likeable you'll like this movie.

User review rating: 4 August 13, 2010

Very good movie, funny and sad at the same time. Michael Douglas is a very good actor.

User review rating: 2 August 07, 2010

I love Michael Douglas but it sucked!

User review rating: 1 July 30, 2010

No stretch in acting - he played himself.

User review rating: 4 July 27, 2010

Way better than "up in the air" and that got oscar nods. M. Douglas was absolutely great! The story had a good flow and I loved the witty, shocking, comedic plot.

User review rating: 1 July 24, 2010

This movie was a significant disappointment! It was borring, predictable and depressing.

User review rating: 4 July 22, 2010

solid performances - a little sad, but still satisfying

User review rating: 3 July 21, 2010

IT HAD SOME GOOD MOMENTS THAT HAD MY @10TION. Good characters,but story was average to my liking.***

User review rating: 5 July 09, 2010

Fantastic film...very poignant and profound

User review rating: 5 July 07, 2010

Brilliant but depressing.

User review rating: 4 July 05, 2010

Michael Douglas has a very good strong performance in this movie.

User review rating: 4 July 04, 2010

it wan an entertaining movie

Change Location