Solaris

Thank you for rating this movie!

Solaris Movie Poster

3.23 / 5

User rating: 3.23

Based on 1242 votes and 59 reviews


  • User rating: 3.23 52.15%
  • User rating: 3.23 2.83%
  • User rating: 3.23 2.11%
  • User rating: 3.23 2.19%
  • User rating: 3.23 40.73%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 59

User review rating: 0 December 26, 2008

I like intelligent, thought provoking movies. I really do!! They're pretty much the only movies I like. The one I watched just before Solaris was "Quest for Fire" - which was awesome. Very thought provoking and well done. However - Solars was just horrible. The only thoughts this movie provoked were: a). Why on Earth did I rent this movie? b). I'd kill myself, but I'm afraid I'll "come back" and after to start over at the beginning of this stupid movie". c). Even if you sleep during this movie, it will not be good sleep and your time will still be wasted. d). ???

User review rating: 0 December 08, 2005

Read this! This movie is wonderful..plain and simple. If you dislike thinking for yourself, discussing this movie over dinner afterwards, or marvelling at the possibilites a movie like this has to offer, don`t watch it. Go rent Armageddon, order a pizza, and relax. But if you want a brain-teasing, feel-good, guy and/or chick-flick..watch this movie. I watched it with my brother and my room-mate, then again with my girlfriend. We were explaining little details to each other until we were blue in the face! I`m not normally a big George Clooney fan, but he played the part of a non-nonsense, "I-do-not-have-time-for-this-crap" Dr., who onl

User review rating: 0 April 28, 2005

Very good movie. The possiblities for interperetations are endless. It can be almost said the move means to you what life means to you. It is a very well crafted thinking movie, and if you are blessed with an open mind and a healthy dose of patience, this movie will stay with you forever.

User review rating: 0 September 05, 2004

I hated it from beginning to end. I still want my money back!

User review rating: 0 October 07, 2003

It`s so crapy......it`s so unclear

User review rating: 0 August 13, 2003

Great movie. If you need everything spelled out for you, dont watch it. It does require SOME thought but not as much as Matrix 2..etc. Dont watch this if you didn`t like Vanilla Sky, AI, etc.

User review rating: 0 August 04, 2003

Good acting, hard storyline to follow. Not enough action. I found it boring.

User review rating: 0 December 12, 2002

I have seen hundreds of movies in my time, some good and some bad. This movie is BY FAR in the top five worst movies I have ever seen. Watching paint dry is more exciting. I guess those who enjoyed this are considered cerebral, I consider them "without a life". To top it off, the acting sucked. The female lead had the same expression all throughout the movie, and the other character kept talking with his hands. I deserve both a refund and a medal for sitting through this BS.

User review rating: 0 December 12, 2002

Snooze-fest.

User review rating: 0 December 12, 2002

how many times did we have to see that Photoshop-created Solaris? what a joke!!! and how many times can you have a scene with just music in the background and no intelligent dialogue?? Is this a music video or another Vanilla Sky...or both???? [both]

User review rating: 0 December 12, 2002

This movie just doesn`t fit into our era of fast-paced, dim-witted space-adventure movies. That is not to say it is bad - it is excellent and far better than the 1973 Russian version. The movie leaves plenty to think about - at deep philosophical and pschological levels. If you liked 2001, Blade Runner (director`s cut), then you will probably like it - just be prepared to think!

User review rating: 0 December 10, 2002

No wonder this movie bombed the box office Absolutely Terrible!!!!!! I stood up during the movie fingered the screen and left

User review rating: 0 December 10, 2002

Solaris is hands-down the most thought-provoking film of the year and George Clooney gives us his best performance to date. A true masterpiece that raises some important questions. Top notch film.

User review rating: 0 December 09, 2002

Absolutly Funky! Love it! Like I`m THERE like YESTERDAY!

User review rating: 0 December 08, 2002

Awesome. The acting was top notch - Jeremy Davies, particularly, captured the eccentricities of Snow`s character brilliantly. The score was excellent, and was all the movie needed. The dialogue was great - and the "Yeah" part was perfect for someone who just took a tranquilizer - and every character was well represented. All around an excellent movie, definitely a great move for Soderbergh.

User review rating: 0 December 07, 2002

The feel good movie of the x-mas season.

User review rating: 0 December 06, 2002

Anyone with the talent of a mushroom could have acted in this movie. Truly bad!!!

User review rating: 0 December 06, 2002

There is a part in the film where Natascha McElhone says the word "yeah" like 10 times in a row...myself, my date and the people around me just broke out laughing. Sad thing is...this was probably the best part of the movie.

User review rating: 0 December 06, 2002

This film was made FOR Soderbergh and only for Soderbergh. It was not made for anyone else who appreciates good film-making and/or good screenwriting.

User review rating: 0 December 06, 2002

Well...until I saw Solaris, I had thought that I SPY was the most boring and pretentious film. We now have a new champion.

User review rating: 0 December 05, 2002

I can`t believe George Clooney agreed to play this role. This is the worst movie of the year!

User review rating: 0 December 04, 2002

It was a very well designed movie- but it was WAY TO SLOW!!! There is no need to have 10 minutes of music between lines. Nothing happened... I am a huge movie fan and like all types of movies and generally enjoy them or find the positive in them. But beyond saying that it was pretty to watch, Solaris was BAD! I went with 5 people to see this and 4 of us fell asleep and over 15 people left the cinema (that was while we were awake too) It tried to be brilliant- but fell short! Sad but true.

User review rating: 0 December 04, 2002

I thought is well made it had a lot of action and I don`t mean about George Clooney`s butt I thought it was well put together and well set up I would definitly see it again absoulutly FANTASTIC.

User review rating: 0 December 04, 2002

TERRIBLY TERRIBLY AWEFULL! I have never walked out of a theatre in my life. This so called movie actually compelled me to leave the theatre with extreme urgency. It is the worst excuse for a movie production in the history of film making. ABSOLUTE GARBAGE. Shame on the movie industry for trying to steal my money. I demanded my money back and suggested a "View at own risk, no refunds allowed" warning on the movie signage in the theatre. The manager had no problem refunding my money and said that she was had never seen so many people leave a theatre. Enough said!

User review rating: 0 December 04, 2002

This was definately the worst movie i have ever seen im my whole life. I cant even put into words how bad it was. I warn you not to waste your money to go see it.

User review rating: 0 December 03, 2002

As a fan of the original book and Russian movie by Tarkowski, I was apprehensive about a North American version of Solaris being released. However, seeing is believing, and Sodenbergh`s Solaris really stands on its own. Although cutting out huge chunks of the book for length and clarity purposes slightly annoyed me, the movie manages to focus on the central themes of love, redemption, understanding, and the power of the subconciousness very well. Great performances by the entire (though very small) cast, especially George Clooney (playing Kelvin, the psychologist) and Davies (playing the crazy scientist Snow). Visual effects were also done ex

User review rating: 0 December 03, 2002

This movie was definately over-rated. If you take 2001 Space Odysee and slow it down about 10 times, you will have this movie. The story could have been thought provoking if you were alert enough to have any. Everytime the characters slept I wanted to join them. For people who did rate it high, you must be trying to pull off an artificial intelligence of your own. The only thing this movie made me think about is.."Why did I sit through the whole thing?"

User review rating: 0 December 03, 2002

I couldn`t wait to leave the theater.

User review rating: 0 December 03, 2002

A great film to go and se with your Girl/Boy Friend

User review rating: 0 December 03, 2002

This seemed like it was filmed partly in my back yard....partly with Photoshop...and partly with spliced scenes from Doctor Who

User review rating: 0 December 03, 2002

it borin

User review rating: 0 December 03, 2002

While I don`t think it is worth full price admission, I do think the story had potential. Unfortunately, in the filmmakers efforts to produce something different, "edgy", and enigmatic, they failed to develop the plot. I felt there were a lot of gaps throughout, although visually it was very cool. They tried to hard to make this movie non-Hollywood that they failed to make it coherent. I don`t know how all these reviewers rated it so high though...plain and simple I missed how it was supposed to make you re-evaluate the meaning of life and love by taking you on a philosophical sci-fi journey.

User review rating: 0 December 02, 2002

One of the best movies I have ever seen!!! But please read the book is MUCH better, has different ending, it`s more complecated.

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2002

TERRIBLE WASTE OF MONEY PEOPLE LEFT I SHOULD HAVE POOR TERRIBLE BORING

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2002

I`m embarassed I convinced my girl to go to this movie with me. I`m no longer allowed to pick movies because of this mistake. It`s not so much of a waste of money, but more of a waste of time. I would pay twice as much to sit in a phone-booth for two hours......Live and learn.

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2002

I thought it was fantastic. An intelligent movie with fantastic direction, music, and art direction. Very thought provoking analogy about regret and the basic nature of human interactions.

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2002

This has to be the SINGLE WORST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN. The plot sucks, it tries to be thought-provoking without asking any of the big questions/morality issues, and the sound is so awful in this that you will just want to KILL whoever was in charge of music and sound effects. Want to waste money? Go see this

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2002

I generally enjoy virtually every movie I see, and have never written a review of a movie before but felt I had to save the rest of society from wasting almost two hours of their lives. I understand Sodenberg`s attempt to make this a thought provoking journey, but it is very difficult to go on this journey when it puts you to sleep so quickly, and never snaps you out of your slumber. The movie studio should be ashamed for logging on numerous times to boost the rating, because there is no way on Earth, Solaris or any other planet for that matter that this film should be given 5 stars.

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2002

To criticize Solaris is akin to the act of criticizing love...the cinematic angels left the taste of crystal candies on my lips...I found myself lost inside Solaris...Solaris takes one outside of oneself to find oneself again within Solaris...frustrating for 30ish Clooney-wooney girls who watch as couples leave after ten, twenty, thirty, etc. minutes in and out of the film asking themselves inside whether the other is staying, getting this, wondering what to say when asked at the watercooler on Monday "So, how was George?"...audience members heard to discover "I`ve never seen so many people walk out of a film in my life."...music lite, playfu

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2002

THIS WAS THE MOST GOD AWFUL MOVIE I HAVE EVER HAD THE MISFORTUNE TO SIT THROUGH! HOW MANY TIMES DID I HAVE TO SEE THAT FREAKIN PLANET!!! THINK OF MORE CREATIVE SCENE TRANSITIONS STEVEN!

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2002

THIS MOVIE SUCKED !! DO NOT GO SEE IT AND WASTE 2 HOURS OF YOUR LIFE!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 December 05, 2002

Easily the WORST FILM I`ve seen in years, I was falling asleep during the "trailers", but lo-and-behold, I should have saved the sleeping until the feature...just `cause it`s got BIG name talent (CLOONIE, SODERBERGH & CAMERON) attached to it, doesn`t make it a good story...AVOID SEEING THIS AT ALL COST!!!

User review rating: 0 November 30, 2002

If you understand the film you will love it, If you are used to Hollywood grabage, or a movie that feeds you everything like an infant then yeh I guess you will most likely hate it. It is unfortunate that the North American movie audience is not ready for films such as beautiful as this and many others I have noticed. Blade Runner comes to mind just because, that movie has to be one of the best films ever made but for some reason people just don`t get it and then dismiss it as garbage and a bore. Exact same here. Open your damn minds and think! Well done, Solaris was truly a work of art!

User review rating: 0 November 30, 2002

Lame Hollywood crap!

User review rating: 0 November 30, 2002

I can see what the director is attempting to portray. However, the pace of the movie is rather slow, thus unable to capture my attention. Nevertheless, the acting is rather applaudable. Be prepared to not like it unless you like Vanilla Sky. Having a philosophical mind is advised.

User review rating: 0 November 30, 2002

I have to say I was very disappointed. I love George Clooney and Soderberg is an amazing film maker but, this one just didn`t cut it. George was amazing, it just wasn`t enough to hold this SLOW movie together. Great idea, poorly executed. Try again guys.

User review rating: 0 November 29, 2002

Terrible. Very boring movie.

User review rating: 0 November 29, 2002

Well...it IS thought provoking. I mean, I thought about so many things during this movie, but unfortunately they were things like my bills, my relationship, and other things going on in my life...Why?? Because this movie was so BORING!!!

User review rating: 0 November 29, 2002

really boring

User review rating: 0 November 29, 2002

A humorless journey into a philosophical void.

Change Location