Rise of the Planet of the Apes

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.31 / 5

User rating: 4.31

Based on 886 votes and 220 reviews


  • User rating: 4.31 58.10%
  • User rating: 4.31 26.43%
  • User rating: 4.31 8.23%
  • User rating: 4.31 2.99%
  • User rating: 4.31 4.24%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 220

User review rating: 4 June 11, 2012

good movie with action and a look at what happens when a caged animal's intelligence is enhanced. you don't have to have watched the old planet of the apes movie to enjoy it.

User review rating: 1 January 16, 2012

This movie is garbage, anyone who states otherwise is of the same simple minded demographic that justifies the production of such horrible modern films

User review rating: 5 December 20, 2011

very enjoyable!!!

User review rating: 5 December 14, 2011

Stick with the Tim Burton version.

User review rating: 4 December 07, 2011

I loved the old tv series but hated the previous attempt at bringing the Apes to the big screen. This new movie restored my faith as it was well written and well made. The characters were interesting and the special effects fantastic.Looking forward to the next one.

User review rating: 4 December 07, 2011

I loved finding out how it all began.

User review rating: 4 December 04, 2011

good acting but the story line seemed weak even though I am aware of some of the research going on.

User review rating: 5 November 28, 2011

Never a dull moment! fantastic version and was definitely better than i anticipated.

User review rating: 4 November 28, 2011

liked how it wasn't so much based as a sci-fi movie

User review rating: 3 November 28, 2011

Loved this movie, it really bridged the gap between the original 60's franchise and the up to date series. Storyline was well thought out the apes were consistent with previous adaptations of their characters. I found it to be a clever addition to the Planet series

User review rating: 4 November 27, 2011

Nice to see a new idea come out of Hollywood. Was better than expected!

User review rating: 5 November 27, 2011

I didnt think i was going to enjoy this movie but i REALLY did! Good movie!

User review rating: 5 November 26, 2011

It was never boring throughout. Good plot throughout the movie.

User review rating: 5 November 26, 2011

The entire plot was written in an entertaining way. I was never bored throughout.

User review rating: 5 November 25, 2011

Great movie i have seen all the planet of the Apes movies and this is probably my fav,

User review rating: 5 November 25, 2011

Awsome!!! Liked it so much... good movie to watch..

User review rating: 4 November 25, 2011

an enjoyable, somewhat chilling film - it's depiction of profit over science is often far to real

User review rating: 4 November 25, 2011

I really enjoyed this movie - a much updated version of the Charleton Heston movies. Monkeys looked very realistic and story was almost believable.

User review rating: 5 November 25, 2011

As a huge fan of the planet of the apes movies I thought this would be fall short and be terrible. I was however pleasantly surprised that it was really good. Enjoyed it very much from start to finish.

User review rating: 5 November 24, 2011

i really loved this movie the apes seemed so real life& lots of action

User review rating: 5 November 24, 2011

An excellent precurser to the original movies. This movie hits home with our emotions about abuse, indifference, violence, tolerance, acceptance of intelligence in all forms of life, respect and joy that comes with the freedom of self expression. This is great Science fiction, the kind that is inspiring. And as an action movie, it couldn't get more exciting.

User review rating: 4 November 24, 2011

Good storyline ,however special effects is lacking.

User review rating: 4 November 23, 2011

excellent movie. just like human beings, animals don't like to be mistreated or taken advantage of. how would you feel, if all you were good for was to be used as an exiperment, beaten & treated like crap. eventually you're going to rise up & want revenge

User review rating: 5 November 22, 2011

Awsome movie, great story and tied in perfectly to the original in its own way.

User review rating: 4 November 22, 2011

Great pace and story telling.

User review rating: 4 November 22, 2011

Almost as good as the first one. A lot of CGI in this movie, but it looked realistic.

User review rating: 4 November 21, 2011

Really good movie !

User review rating: 4 November 20, 2011

I enjoyed the movie.

User review rating: 4 November 20, 2011

I was really surprised. It was a very good movie and I enjoyed it very much. It was a good story line and was done very well.

User review rating: 4 November 20, 2011

awesome twist on a classic

User review rating: 4 November 19, 2011

A good sequel to a classic.

User review rating: 4 November 19, 2011

Excellent remake!

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2011

Excellent movie, great directing and did a great job at telling the whole story from beginning to end. I saw it twice.

User review rating: 4 November 17, 2011

Not a bad "prequel". Some attempt to clear up questions of original.

User review rating: 4 November 16, 2011

It's a good movie. Hope there's a sequel.

User review rating: 4 November 16, 2011

Good movie and enjoyed it more than the original.

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2011

If you've seen the series and visited San Francisco,this is an excellent prequell! The confrontation on the Golden Gate bridge was thrilling. Ending up in the Muir Woods was a perfect ending! It was suspenseful and entertaining.

User review rating: 5 November 14, 2011

Epic movie. Really cleared up quite a bit from the old Saga. Recommend

User review rating: 5 November 13, 2011

Exellent film with a greatstory line, lots of exellent forshadowing for the next film. A true pleasure to watch

User review rating: 4 November 13, 2011

The best CGI effects ever in a very plausible plot about how apes will overtake humans in the future. If you wait to see the movie on your TV at home, you'll truly miss out on one of the best cinematic experiences.

User review rating: 4 November 12, 2011

Not what I expected - a total hidden jem. The movie is more drama than action, but it is extremely well written and the FX are very tasteful. 4 stars.

User review rating: 3 November 11, 2011

this movie was entertaining enough. Not great and not bad.

User review rating: 4 November 10, 2011

The movie was excellent except the end left you a bit unsatisfied...not a cliffhanger but certainly not a conclusion. It just seems like rather than finish this movie they figured we will happily wait for the sequel.

User review rating: 3 November 10, 2011

A nice reboot of the original series. I found some parts to be a little bit of a stretch (ie. what are so many apes doing in one city at a time?). It was also weird to see the protagonists destroying the human race. Other than these little oddities, the movie was a fairly decent action flick.

User review rating: 4 November 08, 2011

I really enjoyed this movie... much more than the last POTA movie, and eagerly await the next instalment!

User review rating: 3 November 08, 2011

The apes are more interesting than the humans in this movie, but overall I was surprised by how good this was. Its the little touches that do it -- the daughter of the neighbour looking on as a chimp attacks her dad, the leaves falling from the trees. Camp done well.

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2011

awesome movie tells alot about the other ones cant wait to see more

User review rating: 4 November 07, 2011

A great prequal. The CGI is very well done, and all actors present their rolls in great fashion. This movie really lets the audience get into the beginnings of the Planet of the Apes. I hope the next one will be just a s well done.

User review rating: 5 November 07, 2011

It was an amazing movie encompassing humanity lost by humans and found by apes.

User review rating: 5 November 07, 2011

One of the best plausible beginnings to a great series

Change Location