Thank you for rating this movie!

Religulous Movie Poster

3.53 / 5

User rating: 3.53

Based on 296 votes and 69 reviews

  • User rating: 3.53 53.24%
  • User rating: 3.53 8.63%
  • User rating: 3.53 4.32%
  • User rating: 3.53 5.04%
  • User rating: 3.53 28.78%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 50 of 69

User review rating: 4 September 28, 2010

Bill, Larry and a small crew travelled around the world asking a few honest questions about faith and received some surprising answers. Maher proves again, that if you give people enough rope they'll likely hang themselves with it. There were so many laughs at our screening, much of the secondary humour was missed. He's just a guy who's trying to understand. Q&A provided a platform for an impromptu rant about the US election campaign. We were also reminded that, despite the results, the production was created with the respect of a curious and doubting mind.

User review rating: 0 May 08, 2009


User review rating: 0 April 17, 2009

very well done. it's good to know I'm not alone :)

User review rating: 0 April 03, 2009

loved it... more athiests should make movies like this

User review rating: 0 March 28, 2009

loved it! rationalist, realist... it's great entertainment to question the absurd! :)

User review rating: 0 March 19, 2009

If you like BM or question organized faith, then you'll like this.

User review rating: 0 March 07, 2009

Smart, beautiful, smart

User review rating: 0 March 07, 2009

A must see

User review rating: 0 March 06, 2009

Bill Maher is still an idiot!!

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2009

refreshingly smart and logical

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2009

Religulous plays to the non-religious crowd. It attempts to documentary-like features, but remember Bill is a comedian. The director was from Borat. The two together is a money maker playing to the lowest common denominator. There are some funny moments, but it is not much better than if Jerry Springer did a show on Religion.

User review rating: 0 December 26, 2008

Do nto watch this film if you're very religious cause it will only anger you. Watch this movie if you are open minded, and/or confused about religion, what its about any why its around. This movie gets you thinking and we need more thinkers out there. Bill explains he was raised Catholic/Jewish and brings up good points on how religion is bogus, but when it comes to Israel he takes a stance on how its for Jews. For a man who claims nobody has ever spoked to God, he sure as hell stood by his word when he talks about the chosen ppl. A more educated man should have taken Bills place, but the whole point of the film was great. A must see

User review rating: 0 December 02, 2008

Attacking religion is similar to shooting fish in a barrel.Maher ispreaching to the converted and as an Atheist,I am a convert!

User review rating: 0 October 28, 2008

Its about time.

User review rating: 0 October 27, 2008

A breath of fresh air. Some good chuckles, but also scary seeing the religious fanatics doing their best to wreck the world. This film more than met my high expectations.

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2008

loved it

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2008

If you liked Super Size Me, Bowling For Columbine, Sicko, or Bigger Stronger Faster then you'll love this documentary. The film presents long held religious beliefs in an entertaining format.

User review rating: 0 October 24, 2008

Bill's uncanny ability to cut through all the b.s. in "religuous" teachings, have shown us all that we need to question things,if we hope to evolve and get better as a society...simply awesome !!

User review rating: 0 October 24, 2008

Terrible. He was being just as ignorant and arrogant as the people he was talking with. Incredibly disrespectful and not intelligent at all. I am not religious, I am an athiest, and I was offended for these people who were being bashed. He didn't try to reason with them, he just laughed at them and said they were stupid. Nice debate. (sarcasm)

User review rating: 0 October 21, 2008

I personally subscribe pretty much to the same theory that Bill Maher does, but having said that, there is one very major flaw in this movie. Bill didn't interview any major, academically qualified religious scholars. Mainly he interviewed folks that quite frankly appeared not to be all that intillectually gifted. Kind of a Jerry Springer approach to the subject presentation. signed...GWH.

User review rating: 0 October 20, 2008

This movie highlights the shortcomings of religion and how it manipulates the minds of followers to the point that they forego rational thought for an ideal. If your answer to anything you can't figure out yourself is "God made it so." then don't even bother to see this, because a) You won't find it funny and b) You will just believe it is "God" testing your faith. For anyone who is open to debate or who is not religious go see this just because it is incredibly hilarious. 5 stars.

User review rating: 0 October 19, 2008

Its not an accurate documentary of you just interview people with little to no knowledge of their own religion, just to prove your right. that's simply big-budget Bashing. I'm not saying this cuz im religious, i just feel that if you want a fair rational debate, you should have brought people who know what they r talking about. 0 stars!!

User review rating: 0 October 18, 2008

Bill is truly a genious. Great movie!

User review rating: 0 October 18, 2008

A proverbial MUST SEE picture! Whether you are religious, non-religious, or teetering on the fence, YOU HAVE TO SEE THIS MOVIE!!! The logic and common sense that is instilled in this movie, hits a home run every time. The fact that it's interlaced with humour, eases the subject matter. So much that, it's not preaching in your face, or poking you in the chest to make it's point. In the end, it leaves you with the same question as you're faced with at the beginning. It doesn't answer to the validity of religion. It merely states..., "Huh?"

User review rating: 0 October 17, 2008

They intend to put out the Light of Allâh (i.e. the religion of Islâm, this Qur'ân, and Prophet Muhammad SAW) with their mouths. But Allâh will complete His Light even though the disbelievers hate (it). (61:8)

User review rating: 0 October 16, 2008

Loved it...."One man's religion is another man's belly laugh!"

User review rating: 0 October 14, 2008


User review rating: 0 October 14, 2008

I Feel sorry for people who believe in any religion and no im not just saying that because i saw this movie, although this movie does a good job of waking people up. 5 stars

User review rating: 0 October 13, 2008

People who cling to "faith" will, at the very least, have a hard time watching this movie. And just watch folks, these so called faithful types will turn their angst about the message from this film into a personal attack on Bill Maher. If you can come to grips with "reality" you'll enjoy it immensely. Bill Maher is a brave guy, given the repercussions of disagreeing with fundamentalists of any religion, whether Muslim or Christian. His extremely serious message is literally thrown at the screen in the last 5 minutes of a well presented movie. Watch it till the end and those of you who need to, just loosen up for the good of all mankind.

User review rating: 0 October 12, 2008

Bill Mahr is a miserable womanizing man who has created a documentary based on minimal to no truth behind it. Not to mention...he portrays religious people as nieve, I believe anyone who takes what he says as fact is nieve.

User review rating: 0 October 12, 2008

This movie was excellent. I was roaring in the theatre, absolutely hilarious. Bill Maher knows how to push those buttons but seems to do it in sort of a genuine kind of way! It was great.. just great!

User review rating: 0 October 12, 2008

Excellent example of critical thinking, in a culture where most cannot think at all.

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2008

Just because someone says something in a movie and says "this is true" does not make it so. This movie presents a lot of facts about religion that are nothing more than fabrication (but what else is new in Hollywood?). Those of you who thought this movie was great, use your heads, research some of the 'facts' presented, you'll find many of them are simply made up for added effect.

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2008

Loved it!! "Religion is regarded by the common people as true, by the wise as false, and by the rulers as useful." - Seneca the Younger

User review rating: 0 October 10, 2008

Maher's hilarious in highlighting the absurdity of so many beliefs so many cling to so desperately. This goes beyond a Michael Moore type treatment: Maher's own quick wit plays a big role in the interactions. I was impressed by his courage to say what he thinks, and by his camaraderie with those he's exposing -- humor is used not merely at their expense, but also at times as a way to convey togetherness in the (albeit absurd) situation. The documentary could've been better organized and edited; hits you over the head at the end; and behind the humor there's the depression of seeing how many dense, misled people are driving our world. But all that's beside the point. It's a wake-up call; and

User review rating: 0 October 08, 2008

shame on you!

User review rating: 0 October 07, 2008

Maher gives the religious just enough rope to hang themselves. A movie that must be seen not because it is good and not because it is particularly insightful to anyone alive and thinking today, but because it points out in a most direct way, from the lips of the religious, the utter inanity of their beliefs, the ignorance from which they stem and the cognitive dissonance they breed.

User review rating: 0 October 07, 2008

One of many questions I wish to ask the'omniscient' Mr Maher is this: Which 'learned' scholar ever taught you that none of the four evangelists was a contemporary of Jesus? Most biblical scholars agree that Matthew and John were two of the apostles and that Mark was a disciple of Peter.

User review rating: 0 October 07, 2008

At the start of the film Mr.Maher gives viewers to believe that he is going to try and find out some rationality behind religion. But, if you really want to do that and be honest with yourself, you go and interview highly qualified people and not 'easy-mark religious people'(FAMOUS'-Movie Guide)

User review rating: 0 October 06, 2008

Bill, will you marry me?

User review rating: 0 October 06, 2008

I love Bill Maher and I loved this movie. I've always thought that religion (no matter which one it is) is totally absurd, and Bill highlights the absurdity in a humourous way. It is mind boggling that othewise sane people can actually believe that stuff!!

User review rating: 0 October 05, 2008

phenomenal and hilarious look at the absurdity that is religion. well done!

User review rating: 0 October 05, 2008

Great Movie. if you are a fan of Bill's old show and his current show, you'll enjoy this movie. I could have spent all day watching some of the interviews he did on this film...hopefully there will be many more on the dvd. (when I buy it)!! This is a Grade 'A' movie folks

User review rating: 0 October 05, 2008

Bill Maher has done a great job, and he successfully sold his product "DOUBT". The film conveyed its message effectively in a very light mode. Bravo!

User review rating: 0 October 05, 2008

This was a great movie, my all time favorite! Bill Maher is genius, I recommend EVERYONE of ANY denomination sees it, it is an eye opening experience.

User review rating: 0 October 05, 2008

Fantastic movie and worth the price of admission. Although I do recommend you sneak in your own pop.

User review rating: 0 October 04, 2008

I just saw your film and must congratulate you for your currage and straight talk on this sensitive but very conflicting subject of religions. You are a HERO taking about all these misleading and lying institutions which have created turmoil and wars throughout history and still use their GOD for wars to this day. Thank you for your straight and no nonsence talk. America needs a man like you. Helmut

User review rating: 0 October 04, 2008


User review rating: 0 October 04, 2008

Hilarious! This movie exposes the truth about all major religions - they're nothing more than quacks dressed up in

User review rating: 0 October 04, 2008

Awesome.... laughed my A55 off!

Change Location