Portrait of a Lady on Fire - User Reviews

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.22 / 5

User rating: 4.22

Based on 36 votes and 15 reviews


  • User rating: 4.22 72.22%
  • User rating: 4.22 5.56%
  • User rating: 4.22 5.56%
  • User rating: 4.22 5.56%
  • User rating: 4.22 11.11%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 15 of 15

User review rating: 5 March 15, 2020

It’s a French movie about a painter and her subject, and the entire movie is like viewing a gorgeous, dynamic French painting (with an audio track ;). I’m planning to go back and see it again, and I’m hoping it’s going to become available through Apple’s TV app (you know – the one that used to be iTunes) so I can buy it and watch it whenever I want to.

User review rating: 5 March 11, 2020

This is by far my favorite movie ever! I want more

User review rating: 5 March 10, 2020

Delightful. It is a shame we can't get films like this made in America and are instead treated to bad films like Emma.

User review rating: 5 March 07, 2020

A very beautiful and poignant movie! Best movie I've seen in a while!

User review rating: 5 March 06, 2020

Excellent! Excellent acting, direction. Beautiful. Finally, a film that really launches a critical dialogue about the female gaze. It also captures the beauty of western France.

User review rating: 5 March 04, 2020

Beautifully shot, wonderfully paced. Thought provoking and moving. Will see it again

User review rating: 5 March 02, 2020

Tender, moving, wholly engaging. A flawlessly paced and beautifully acted bit of motion picture craftsmanship not to be missed! I will probably get in line and see it again.

User review rating: 1 March 01, 2020

The worst film I have ever seen In years, totally boring. Hardly any dialogue, and the story line was absurd. There has been No critical reviews in the press A it’s a totally woke film. The acting was wooden and not realistic at all. Some people who have seen it walked out. The theatre we were in only one other couple.

User review rating: 5 February 29, 2020

stunning picture, plot and authenic to real life experience

User review rating: 5 February 22, 2020

Loved it. Funny that all the previews were gore, blood, violent , or scary. Then a lovely poignant lesbian love story.

User review rating: 4 February 22, 2020

Excellent photography in this reflective movie! It surrounds two women discovering their lesbian desires through their work and duties. One is a painter that develops the typical masculine desire of gazing and appreciation. Her muse is in the more typical female style of wanting to be admired. There are some boring patches, where I drifted, but the more interesting qualities were the body language, facial expressions that left the audience to fill in the blanks themselves. This was especially notable in the final shot. The audience, what audience?! I was in the middle of an empty theatre with only a handful of women in the back. At least the sex wasn't overly graphic which would distract from the storytelling. I was left with the message of the damage caused by repression, which can lead to unnecessary suicidal thoughts. Everybody wants love, but it has to be authentic.

User review rating: 5 February 22, 2020

Film is lush and beautiful. Yes, it is slow but when you place yourself in front of a beautiful painting, you enjoy, study and reflect. The pace is very effective and the actors are gifted with the brushwork of director, Celine Sciamma. With all of the recent films containing graphic violence, sophomoric humor and shallow screenplays, this film refreshes the day. Great work!

User review rating: 1 February 20, 2020

Rubbish

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2020

Possibly one of the most beautiful works I've seen on the female gaze. The direction from Celine Sciamma was completely stunning

User review rating: 2 January 10, 2020

It is well filmed but the pace is too slow and the plot is too plain for my taste. I found it very boring.

Change Location