Thank you for rating this movie!

Partition Movie Poster

4.46 / 5

User rating: 4.46

Based on 496 votes and 81 reviews

  • User rating: 4.46 75.44%
  • User rating: 4.46 12.28%
  • User rating: 4.46 2.63%
  • User rating: 4.46 2.19%
  • User rating: 4.46 7.46%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 50 of 81

User review rating: 5 June 10, 2014

The ending may not be great, but i love the story so much. and it really touches my heart. i fall inlove with Indians. i love to watch it again and again.!!

User review rating: 0 April 11, 2009

i really loved it,

User review rating: 0 November 28, 2008

Excellent movie

User review rating: 0 October 13, 2008

Just saw the movie on TMN. What a great movie. Surprised I hadn't seen more on this movie til now.

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2008

I loved it

User review rating: 0 May 08, 2007

wish there were more movies like this. amazing cast - kristin is fabulous.great cinematography

User review rating: 0 May 08, 2007

a touching story which touched so many lives

User review rating: 0 May 05, 2007

THE BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!! You cannot get any better than Partition. GREAT CASTING. GREAT DIRECTING, & PRODUCING. Such a true strong tear-jerker! You have to see it.

User review rating: 0 May 05, 2007

A very effective film of our time.

User review rating: 0 March 26, 2007

Very high quality movie detailing what life was like just after India gained its independance. In reality, the hate, prejudice and suffering only became heightened between Muslims and Sikhs once no mediator was there to govern anymore.

User review rating: 0 March 23, 2007

A movie not to be missed by any one if you care about humanity. an oscar caliber fim - would love to know about their next film.

User review rating: 0 March 23, 2007

Excellent cast - Kristin is amazing

User review rating: 0 March 22, 2007

The movie is fascinating, provocative and a tragic love story. Although the story takes place in India, it could be played in many other countries and proves that wars are futile, solve nothing and just create large divisions. Everyone, especially politicians, can learn a lot by watching this great film.

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2007

thought this movie was really well shot and directed. I loved the opening scene when the credits are on that soft focus was really beautiful. I`m not keen on love stories but I did think it was an excellent way of revealing the hate that was there then and continues to this day. I look forward to the next project that you take on.

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2007

I thouroughly enjoyed this moving story which was beautifully portrayed through amazing cinematography. I would highly recommend it.

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2007

Bring a box of kleenex ladies!

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2007

I loved it. It is a beautiful love story. It is a must see movie for all ages.

User review rating: 0 March 08, 2007

This movie is a copy of the Bollywood film, Gadar. Many of the scenes are exactly the same.

User review rating: 0 March 08, 2007

I was very moved, the love of Gian and Naseem just shows that Love Conquers All. Kudos to the director Vic Sarin. So what`s next?

User review rating: 0 March 06, 2007

with american movie making doing so well it is very pleasing to see that very soon canadian movie making will be at the same level where they will be asking us to go there to shoot their movies and partition is one of the ones to break ground on leading the pack of feature movies that will be just as competitive with any market in the world not only do we have the crews, cast, and everything else that we need but now we will be producing to notch quality movies that will rival american movie making soon just watch and see and hey!! don`t forget to get out there and really support canadian films

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2007

I highly recommend that you see Partition. It is a beautifully filmed and powerful love story. Don`t miss it.

User review rating: 0 March 03, 2007

Partition, the latest film by Canadian filmmaker Vic Sarin, is truly a great tale. However, when you look beyond the storyline you’ll find that the film has a much deeper meaning. The story takes place roughly 60 years ago, however, it’s funny how many of the same issues dealt with in the film are still very evident in today’s world. People are still killing each other over race, religion and political stance. The theme of finding happiness is a value that many of us can implement to our very fortunate western lifestyles, do what makes your happy because you only live one life. Although separated by two cultures Gian and Naseem find this

User review rating: 0 March 03, 2007

To my delight and surprise, I am so glad that the film makers did not go into the political realm of the time but rather focused on the human side of the event which gave the movie so much more power. I am still haunted by the imaginary long after the day I saw the movie, I intend to see it again.

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2007

Excellent acting and location shooting. All around entertaining and educational ~ to bad that`s a real life story. When will we lead with Peace, rather than hate.

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2007

I thought Partition was a very moving film, an epic love story. The cinematography was superb and the actors, especially Jimi Mistry and Kristin Kreuk, were remarkable in their roles. We are fortunate to have Vic Sarin, Tina Pehme and Kim Roberts making Canadian films of this calibre.

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2007

Partition made me realized that as long as I have been aline which is almost 78 years, hatred between different religions, have been going on. I wish every human beings could see Partition. It shows the stupidity of religion teaching their followers to hate and kill all those who do not believe their beliefs. How terribly sad! We often hear that love can conquer all. Yes, it does. And as this film shows love is still greater than hate. I thought I was the only one who cried at the end, but when the lights came on, I saw many teary eyes. Thanks to Vic Sarin who knows how to portray raw emotions is such a realistic way. Al Goguen Victoria

User review rating: 0 March 01, 2007

I was taken on a great journey of love. It was a most memorable film a story that will stay with me forever.

User review rating: 0 March 01, 2007

I found this movie very touching and real. I cared about the characters and was touched by the story, and the events that shaped them. It shows loves has no barriers. Kristin was excellent in the role, and Jimi and she shared a special kind of chemistry. I found the photography by Vic Sarin magnificent and his directing masterful. Hat off to him and producer Tina for bringing such a wonderful human story with universal theme that transcends all ages and races to screen. I love it and highly recommend it to anyone who wishes to see great story telling in action.

User review rating: 0 February 28, 2007

I loved it!!

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2007

I was not very impressed by this film, it is unfortunate. Maybe becasue I have done a lot of research on Partitoin, and it was not portrayed very well in the movie.

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2007

Wow! I loved this film ... it`s powerful story with a timely message, and beautifully shot.

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2007


User review rating: 0 February 25, 2007

A very real, heartfelt and touching film.

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2007

As a person of one of those cultures featured in the movie, I was disappointed at the story being more of a love story then the dealings with the actaul partition. The history of the partition was not researched correctly and unfortunatley I was quite dissapointed. Kirsten Kurek hit it right on!

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2007

A timely story about the most precious need of humanity - well told with integrity and honesty. A visual feast to stay long after with you after the movie is over.

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2007

A beautifully directed, well acted and well scripted production. I have recommended it to everyone, because PARTITION is a classic film.

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2007

A+ movie rating. I don`t normally like romance movies, having a particular dislike for romantic comedies and over the top dramatic romance stories. This movie, however, was one part romance story, one part social/political story, and one part human interest. An interesting story told in an interesting and touching way without overdoing it. A quiet reserve in a story about human passion (love & hate).

User review rating: 0 February 23, 2007

Hats off to director Vic Sarin, and an excellent cast and crew of `Partition` for this epic and obviously personal film. The partition of India was a radical political decision costing and affecting the lives of millions, fomenting radical, religious nationalism and reshaping geopolitics to now affect billions worldwide. Sarin`s film reveals this decision`s impact on two families from two religious belief systems, thereby revealing the world in microcosm. The script was sensitively written and balanced, the film was sumptuously shot, edited and beautifully scored. Today, we rarely see films with such sweeping vistas and rich scores---more`

User review rating: 0 February 22, 2007

A timely film. A must see for all ages.

User review rating: 0 February 20, 2007

Shot with sencerity, intimacey, and sensitivity that conveyed deeper truths about love in the face of some of our harshest realities.

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2007

This was the best movie I have seen in three years! Excellent acting, directing, cinematography and music. A most poweful and moving story with an ageless message that is most relevant in the post 9/11 world. If we are to avoid conflict and war we must learn to understand and respect each other, and most of all, put love above hate! Congratulations to the screen writers and producers of the film. You couldn`t have done it better!

User review rating: 0 February 16, 2007

An honest and meaningful film - a rare in to-day`s film world.

User review rating: 0 February 16, 2007

A very powerfull movie. I would recommend Partition to anyone.

User review rating: 0 February 16, 2007

An incredible journey, rich in detail with a real sense of place. It is not often that once sees a movie so compelling, a definite 5 star, I will be recommending this movie to friends and family.

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2007

A wonderful movie depicting a rich history that is little known in North america.

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2007

What an amazing achievement. I absolutely loved this movie, it drew me in right away and never let go. It was both sweeping and intimate. Great acting, very exciting and very moving at the same time. I enjoyed every minute of it and I can`t say that about too many movies I see.

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2007

This is an excellent film from the standpoint of direction, cinematography, acting and writing. The fact that so much of this film was shot in Canada is amazing, given that the story is set in the Indian subcontinent. It has a truly international feel in terms of quality and audience appeal. The subject matter is sensitively and realistically treated and the all the performers turn in believable and empathetic performances. Vic Sarin and Tina Pehme`s work here shows us how good Canadian films can be.

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2007

A great film - honest, touching and first class exeution on every level. How refreshing to see this film in a otherwise pool of so many mindless films. Amazing score.

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2007

Age 24,female: Powerful and moving movie. I cried a few times..more than the notebook, and I thought it was better than the pursuit of happyness. Kristin Kreuk was outstanding. I did not like the ending, it was not perfect..but i guess that`s what makes it realistic! = )

User review rating: 0 February 10, 2007

realy enjoyed and wonderful movie

Change Location