Thank you for rating this movie!

3.19 / 5

User rating: 3.19

Based on 193 votes and 44 reviews

  • User rating: 3.19 25.81%
  • User rating: 3.19 26.88%
  • User rating: 3.19 12.90%
  • User rating: 3.19 9.68%
  • User rating: 3.19 24.73%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 44 of 44

User review rating: 3 November 29, 2010

I guess if you like musicals and a weird plot, you will like this movie. The acting was excellent, which I felt was the only redeeming feature of the movie.

User review rating: 0 September 28, 2010

zzzzzzzzzzzWow! It took me a couple of hours to climb down off my inner scaffolding and stop trying to “be Italian.” Every scene advanced Guido’s story of writer’s block, driven by stunning fantasy musical numbers. While this film is not for everyone, it completely worked for me. The childlike phantasmagorical sensibilities mirrored Guido’s own approach to life. I particularly enjoyed his boyhood influences and the final reference to his inner child, suggesting the guidance it would provide to the new project. Sweet touch.

User review rating: 5 September 10, 2010

I actaully was not sure about it, until it got towards the end, by then iz was hooked and after watching the special features(making of the movie etc..) I watched it again. I love the movie, the hard work by the cast (great cast btw) Great choreography & directing.

User review rating: 3 August 16, 2010

Disappointing. I was hoping for Chicago, instead I got "The weatherman" to music. Depressing life, under tons of pressure, with no sunny look on life. Musicals should be fantasy, too much realism just makes it seem more depressing.

User review rating: 5 May 30, 2010

If you respect Daniel Day Lewis, you'll love this movie. Romance of dedication, in a good way.

User review rating: 1 May 08, 2010

I couldn't even finish the movie, the storyline was pretty weak.

User review rating: 5 February 24, 2010

EXCELLENT! FANTASTIC! WONDERFUL! I'm a big Fellini fan, and wow...this is so Fellini...and the everyone is well cast...except maybe Nicole Kidman...

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2010

great saw it twice.

User review rating: 2 January 16, 2010

waste of my time. In fact I fell sleep during it, with such a good cast did not deliver. I was very disappointed...

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2010

I walked out 45 minutes into the movie - disaster!

User review rating: 5 January 09, 2010

For anyone who knows Fellini for the great movie directors that he was, Nine is a worthy tribute to his art, life and times. The best movie I've seen in years.

User review rating: 1 January 07, 2010

This was a horrible movie. it had so much potential, but it was a total failure. I fell asleep during it! arg was a waste of money

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2010

The best musical since HSM3.

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2010


User review rating: 4 January 05, 2010

Penélope Cruz hot and sexy !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 3 January 05, 2010

Rob Marshall delivers the spectacle in all of the musical numbers but falls short in actually delivering a story and a main character that audiences can relate to. Simply put: there's not enough backstory as the movie immediately begins with a conflicted protagonist where we don't even know why (with all the beautiful ...women in his life for inspiration) he's short on creativity. Standout numbers include Fergie's "Be Italian" which was INSANE! Complete with sand and tambourines!!! A definite showstopper and with vocals like that, why is she wasting her voice on things like "Boom, Boom, Pow"? Another one is Kate Hudson's "Cinema Italiano". With an Impressive Overture and a beautiful Finale t

User review rating: 1 January 04, 2010

This movie is bombing at the box office for a reason. I can't believe I wasted my money on this movie. Too much hype over a dull story-line that they try to cover up with an A-List cast. Too bad it didn't work...

User review rating: 3 January 04, 2010

If you expect this to be an uplifting film, move on. Infidelity, indecision and attempted suicide are recurring themes. The highlights are the musical numbers by Fergie, Hudson was so-so, Cotillard and Cruz. Guido's childhood innocence and fascination with film are endearing. His moral downward spiral is parallel to his career/creative stagnation. His life became a lie.

User review rating: 1 January 04, 2010

I don't know what all the hype is about. This movie is dull. Way too much time spent with Daniel Day Lewis's loser character and not enough songs with Fergie, Kidman and the rest. This movie is barely worth renting.

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2010

Fantastic film. People who rated this movie low do not appreciate the musical genre in movies. These are the same people who will give 5 stars to movies full of car chases.

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2010

Amazing...totally worth seeing on the big screen...I am sure I will see again while its still in theatres...the combination of acting and music is genius...unlike many other silver screen musicals the music is perfectly intertwined with acting, scenes, plot and characters. Another thing this movie has that many of it movie musical contenders don't is depth of story...this movie wa way more the I even expected it to be... the casting and acting was perfect the music was phenominal the pace was fast...I never felt a slow moment and the beautiful Italian scenery was love love this movie

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2010

NINE was amazing! I highly recommend it. Daniel Day Lewis was great. A great cast - very well done - highly entertaining.

User review rating: 4 January 02, 2010

The visuals and soundtrack are 5 star. The script was average and unfortunate since the A list cast could have done so much more however they did the best they could. You must be able to relate to the story or a least one of the characters if not chances are you will not enjoy it since the thoughts and emotions are not spelled out for you as so many lazy moviegoers need now a days. I preferred this to Chicago it doesn't tell the usual story with the expected ending...

User review rating: 3 January 02, 2010

the music was outstanding..... especially fergies part.... but I have to agree with most that the story line was not good at all... it did get boring at some parts........ I saw it twice to really make sure the story line was bad because I really wanted to like the movie but my impression the first time was right on the money.... however the music and dancing was outstanding!! I love nicole kidman!! =)

User review rating: 4 January 02, 2010

I think the people writing these reviews must not have grasped the plot of this musical. It was very clerverly done to depict Day Lewis's character's imagination. The acting was great as were the songs, sets, and cinematography.

User review rating: 1 January 02, 2010

I thought it would be great as the 'Chicago' movie, but it wasn't.. maybe my expectation was too much. I liked the fact that there were many beautiful women in this movie, but the main character guy wasn't great. But overall story was okay. Songs could have been better.

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2010

Thinking person's movie! definitely the best move if of the year!

User review rating: 3 January 01, 2010

I was really looking forward to seeing this movie, Bravo to Daniel Day-Lewis another amazing performance,The movie was a little slow and back and forth confusing to me but Judy Dench,Penelope Cruz and Kate Hudson were good but but not amazing, Nicole Kidman i found her performance quite weak. Fergie's voice very powerful. 7/10

User review rating: 4 January 01, 2010

My Husband and I enjoyed this show, we found the acting and singing was great, the movie had a plot and it was easy to understand.

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2010


User review rating: 5 December 31, 2009

You have to like musicals but the cast is amazing and all of them can sing!

User review rating: 2 December 31, 2009

i love musicals, but this movie was truly shallow. the only exciting thing is wardrobe and costumes, the entire movie is about sex. oh well

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2009

This movie is amazing. The best. Visually, it is stunning. The acting is superb. Rob Marshall is a genius! Give this movie a chance!

User review rating: 1 December 30, 2009

My girlfriend and I both almost fell asleep half way. This is the worst film of the year. I love musicals but if you fall asleep half way then that is pretty bad. Save your money. Boring

User review rating: 1 December 30, 2009

Im still ill from enduring this trash called a film. In a room with seating for about 100 that held about 50 people in it. Two Couples & a lone woman walked out, never to return. That's a 10% couldn't stomach it...

User review rating: 2 December 29, 2009

Cinematically beautiful. However, the script leaves little to be desired.

User review rating: 4 December 28, 2009

This is a thinking person's musical - don't expect to be led by the hand like in Chicago or Dreamgirls. Day-Lewis, Cotillard, Cruz, Hudson and Fegie are all in fine form and deliver great musical numbers - Kidman admittedly is a bit of a disappointment. I was completely entertained - Very good, but not great. 4 stars!

User review rating: 1 December 28, 2009

BORING!!! The songs were weak. Penelope Cruz was the only one that stood out in this movie. The lady down the row fell asleep! And I am a huge fan of musicals but this was just horrible. Save your money, folks.

User review rating: 1 December 28, 2009

I love musicals..but this one is very boring..I left 3/4's the way through. I kept waiting for it to get better..but it was not to happen! Very very dissapointed..:(

User review rating: 2 December 28, 2009

It definatly wasen't my favorite movie. There was absolutly no plot, like at all. The dancing was very good but most of it came at the wrong times and it was very to follow. tHE COMMERCIAL WAS MUCH BETTER, even though it was only 30 seconds.

User review rating: 1 December 28, 2009

The most boring film I have seen in some time. The dancing is nice, but the story goes nowhere.

User review rating: 2 December 27, 2009

Good beginning; good ending; a lot of blah in between.

User review rating: 4 December 26, 2009

Great movie if you are a fan of musicals.

User review rating: 5 December 25, 2009

Great movie, really enjoyed NINE. Daniel Day Lewis is every woman's dream come true!

Change Location