Mulholland Dr.

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.25 / 5

User rating: 4.25

Based on 4374 votes and 25 reviews


  • User rating: 4.25 72.67%
  • User rating: 4.25 3.25%
  • User rating: 4.25 11.38%
  • User rating: 4.25 1.65%
  • User rating: 4.25 11.06%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 25 of 25

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2005

Dude just threw a bunch of loose ideas together and decided it was a movie, far as I can tell. I`ve read some explanations for it, but you just can`t make that complicated a concept into a movie properly, man. Then again, this is the only movie of his I`ve seen, so maybe having no idea what`s going on is an aquired taste.

User review rating: 0 October 27, 2004

There are movies that are deep and poetic, but this is too much. It was too weird to be interesting. It just became dumb even though it’s not.

User review rating: 0 September 27, 2004

honestly david lynch manages to give me everything i want in a movie. i thought the film was totally amasing and visually stunning.how does he do it time and again.

User review rating: 0 March 30, 2004

definately my favourite movie. Lynch is an absolute genius with fantastic performances all round.I would have liked to have seen this as a series.

User review rating: 0 January 22, 2004

All I can say,brilliant.A masterpeace.

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2003

Very good, very freudian, a journey into a mind troubled with parental fixations. Extremely symbolic.

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2003

I`d like the 2-1/2 hours of my life back. i never watched twin peaks.. so i have no clue what was going on here!? the sound quality was terrible, i literally had to adjust the volume every 30-45 secs. - & who were those actors? it build me up for answers that were never provided. he could of at least put a 2 hour commentary at the end to explain what goes on the whole movie. watch it again to find out? u wish... snore

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2002

Brilliant. Lynch`s masterpiece so far. Well written...great acting...great directing. You have to see it more than once.

User review rating: 0 May 29, 2002

Maybe it was me and my friend`s mood, but we couldn`t even get through 3/4 of the movie. The first thing was that there seemed to be too much going on, and not enough explanation. Secondly, I think the casting directors must have pulled some of the actors right off of the stage, and tried to make them film actors! The acting overall, really sucked! Thirdly, there were some definitely corny corny lines. All the good I can really say is that the cinematography was of a very professional quality, and that maybe it could have been a good movie, given many many changes. But I should try watching it again when i am not so tired, mayeb that`ll

User review rating: 0 May 13, 2002

Lynch is a kind of Jacques Cousteau of the postmodern nightmare, where our cartoonish notions of family values and the American dream are ravaged by an undercurrent of forbidding treachery. And with apologies to Wallace, it`s about much more than peanut butter or, for that matter, Pabst Blue Ribbon ("Blue Velvet") and cherry pie ("Twin Peaks"). It`s about decent people cornered by obsessive evils we can`t clearly see.

User review rating: 0 May 13, 2002

it`s more than just a critical victory for the writer-director: It`s outright revenge. Lynch first conceived "Mulholland Drive" as a television series for ABC, the network on which his "Twin Peaks" became arguably the most original programming ever to appear on small screens. But nervous executives canceled the "Mulholland Drive" show before the pilot was ever aired. Undeterred, Lynch eventually got Canal Plus to buy the rights, proceeded to shoot some new footage and turned it into a feature film.

User review rating: 0 May 13, 2002

"To give a sense of place, to me, is a thrilling thing. And a sense of place is made up of details. And so the details are incredibly important. If they`re wrong,then it throws you out of the mood. And so the sound and music and color and shape and texture, if all those things are correct and a woman looks a certain way with a certain kind of light and says the right word, you`re gone, you`re in heaven. But it`s all the little details." -- David Lynch

User review rating: 0 May 10, 2002

Saddest Scene: After Betty and Rita change into Diane and Camilla, they ascend up a secret path in the Hollywood Hills. At first you think they`re about to transcend their bodies and leave Earth, as lights twinkle above their heads; then you realize their destination is an awful, humiliating Hollywood party.

User review rating: 0 May 10, 2002

Coolest Scene: Betty`s arrival in Los Angeles is blasted with so much bright light it`s as though it`s shooting out of her body. She`s Dorothy seeing Oz for the first time

User review rating: 0 May 10, 2002

"[Lynch`s] never before married his subconscious impulses to an accessible storytelling style in such a satisfying, beguiling way." -- Rene Rodriguez, MIAMI HERALD

User review rating: 0 May 10, 2002

"A gorgeously rounded picture, one that starts out with a glamorous come-hither wink and has the good grace to follow through, although perhaps not in the way we expect." -- Stephanie Zacharek, SALON.COM

User review rating: 0 May 10, 2002

Fans of Lynch will find much to savor here: the ripe detail, the arch humor, the hallucinatory enigmas, the eroticism, the terror." -- Steven Rea, PHILADELPHIA INQUIRER

User review rating: 0 May 10, 2002

Just a brilliant Lynch film. You should also see The Straight Story for a "different" Lynch approach to film-making

User review rating: 0 May 10, 2002

Great movie...another Lynch masterpiece. Or is it THE masterpiece?

User review rating: 0 May 10, 2002

Lynch turned down an offer from George Lucas to direct RETURN OF THE JEDI in order to collaborate with Dino De Laurentiis on DUNE. In Dune, Lynch shot much more footage than ended up in the finished film, but executive producer Dino De Laurentiis didn`t want a three-hour-plus sci-fi epic on his hands, so he coerced Lynch into trimming it. The result is one of cinema`s most infamous cases of personal vision colliding with studio politics. Nonetheless, Lynch still manages to cram in so many visual ideas and captures the tone of the book so well that these production issues can be easily set aside once the story starts rolling. Refusing to furt

User review rating: 0 May 10, 2002

For his work on this film, director David Lynch tied for Best Director (with Joel Coen for The Man Who Wasn`t There) at the 2001 Cannes Film Festival

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2002

I knew David Lynch was messing with my head but I still couldn`t help loving this film. It was worth the price of admission just for the audition scene with Naomi Watts. They should create an Academy Award for Best Scene and she would walk away laughing.

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2001

I didn`t know when the end of the movie was coming.I was really captivated about everything:story,Naomi Waats, L.E.Harring,every caracter from film have cought my atention in a differit way than other movies. of course as Twin Peaks,I am looking forward the second part of this story for getting a few explanations. Thanks a lot for this superb movie.

User review rating: 0 December 22, 2001

I felt paralized by this quiet horror. Want to see it again in a while. :)

User review rating: 0 December 11, 2001

I like David Lynch and have enjoyed his work since ERASERHEAD. He has a vision and he remains true to it. MULLHOLLAND DRIVE is a cool, dark, funny movie.

Change Location