Memoirs of a Geisha

Thank you for rating this movie!

Memoirs of a Geisha Movie Poster

4.21 / 5

User rating: 4.21

Based on 1724 votes and 159 reviews


  • User rating: 4.21 60.61%
  • User rating: 4.21 18.83%
  • User rating: 4.21 9.51%
  • User rating: 4.21 2.79%
  • User rating: 4.21 8.26%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 51 to 100 of 159

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2006

I realize how little culture we really have in Vancouver - or Canada for that matter - after watching this. I enjoyed the music, the color, the history of this movie. It was a visual masterpiece and it tugged at my heartstrings.

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2006

The scenes are beautiful, but this film doesn`t really has any plot. They could`ve done a much better job if they emphasis more on the effect of the war on the charactors` relationship.

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2006

A PURE SHAME! It`s insulting the real Japanese geisha culture.

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2006

BEST MOVIE OF THE YEAR! the scenery is stunning, the acting is unbelievable and the story line captivates the audience. i can`t even put into words how much i loved the story. a classic love story set out in the orient. amazing movie

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2006

amazing. thats all i have to say. the actresses were stunnly gorgeous. the makeup was fantastic. all in all, it was an AMAZING movie! definatly worth it. trust me!!

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2006

I am a big movie goer and can be very tough in my reviews. I was glad not to have any expectations when I went into the theatre. This move has beautiful cinematography, period custume, sets and story-line. The love affair central this film was a little torturous to watch at times as you just want them to finally get together. Dispite the torture, the characters were well acted ... at times you felt you were watching a broadway play. It has been many years since i felt I have seen a great love-story and Memoirs of a Geisha is my new favorite. I think I will see it again.

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2006

I thought it was really good.. I read the book so I was really excited to go see it. But they missed the part where granny died from the heater or they didn`t show it. But besides that I loved it alot, I would like to go see it again and again and can`t wait for the movie to come out on dvd and video. And I really loved the girls who played Chiyo-san and Nitta Sayuri.. I love there eyes but of course in the book to they say her eyes were so easy to remember. So it was really good, I just wish my friends who came with me weren`t so mean about how boring it was just because they haven`t read the book they thought it sounded really boring. But b

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2006

The trailer was 100% better than the movie itself. The acting was horrible, no emotions, and you could barely understand them with the accent. The Japanese culture was the only thing that was portrayed beautifully. I`m sure the book was much better.. too bad the movie ruined it for those of us who haven`t read it yet. - AJ

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2006

Umm, good movie. Nice cast. But it didn`t change my life. And I don`t like that. What else...umm...oh yes, the watery eyes girl...total contacts! What`s the budget on this movie? Couldn`t they add some special effects to make her eyes look like, lets say, EYES?! Everyone, let`s go see Munich again! -Lena

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2006

This movie was truley wonderful...beautifully shot with a wonderful story. I went to this movie with somone who lives and works in Japan... she too loved the movie... and despite some of the lead actors not being Japenese... they were well suited for the role and pulled off thir parts beautifully. If you are Japenese and pissed off that the leads are not Japanese... please remember it is a storey that needs to be told... and there is plenty of other movies where the leads colour or background was differant from the origional... after all that is what movie making is all about art & magic. * I went to this movie with a Japanese person..

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2006

The movie was visual stunning and beautiful. People complain about a Chinese person playing a Japanese, yet no one complains when a white, black or another plays somone of another country/ethic group. Actors do accents and `act` as if they are someone else...Scotish, British, Irish, German, Serbian, Indian, Native American, etc. Thus...it is called acting! Go see the movie...very enjoyable and based off of a great novel!

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2006

I didn`t read the book, but as a movie on its own - stunning!

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2006

i thought it was beautiful and now i really want to read the book

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2006

I had heard that if you`d read the book that you`d hate the movie. I had read the book but the movie wasn`t as bad as I`d expected. In fact the cinematography was really beautiful. It just seemed a bit rushed.

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2006

I liked it, they were mostly faithful to the book, but it lacked the atmosphere in the book. It didn`t really look as deep into her life as a Geisha as I would have wanted it was mostly the pretty entertainer part not really how hard it was for her to get there.

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2006

I liked the movie!!! I read the book as well but the movie is just as interesting. Cinematagraphy is beautiful and actors in it were great~ I definitely recommend it!

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2006

The book is my favourite book ever, I`ve read it at least 3x, so I was expecting to be dissapointed with the movie. But I wasn`t! It didn`t follow the book to a tee, but it was very good despite this. Cinematically alone, definitely worth watching!

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2006

This movie takes a classic Japanese story, told by a great Japanese author and rubs it in the mud! Why does Hollywood do this? Oh wait, to make money off of the uninformed masses! The acting was horribly done by Chinese actresses. The scenes were drawning out unnecessarily. They even got the japanese fashion wrong! I am a full blooded anti-western Japanese women and this movie made me want to strap bombs to my chest.

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2006

I hated it. It was disrespectful and full of crap. Don`t waste the money!!

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2006

The best movie I ever saw since "gili....YOU KIDDING ME!! THIS MOVIE WAS AWSOME!! WAY OUT OF GILI STAUTES!!

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2006

A wonderful movie of a great novel! Ziyi Zhang is beautiful and performs well the role of a geisha. It`s not a Japanese production of a historical drama. So let`s drop our bias and simply enjoy the movie. Afterall, entertainment is what Hollywood provides!

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2006

The movie is simply `stunning`! Congratulations to the 3 mega Chinese actresses, who are recepients of their Asian version of the Oscars, and the Hollywood producers for such a `masterpiece`! And, for those who complained about Chinese actresses should NOT have been chosen to act their roles, should just ENJOY the movie and its contents!!FYI...both Japanese+Korean cultures & their bloodline originated directly from the Chinese long long ago. Go and take an Asian history course to verify this.

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2006

Best movie of the year. Hands down.

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2006

It was a wonderful movie. Not since Shogun have I seen such a movie. Very Touching

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2006

I am not that old so it was sort of too romantic for me but over all i learned alot about their culture. the costumes were FAB

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2006

UGH!What a disappointment! This movie lacks so many good details that are found in the novel version. What`s worse, the hairstyles and make up are not historically accurate. The producer has incorporated modern artistic ideas into this movie, which is insulting. why can`t hollywood just leave japanese culture the way it is?

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2006

A beautiful movie.

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2006

I LOVED IT =)

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2006

It offers both a concrete factual view of the Geisha, as well as an objective stance. The film is as enchanting as the novel, I highly recommend!

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2006

Ziyi Zhang is beautiful...... Simply Beautiful...!!!!

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2006

hollywood movies are often made about different cultural groups and often hollywood stars portray ppl from other cultures...colin farrel played a greek in alexander, penelope cruz played a greek in captain corelli`s mandolin, brad pitt played a greek in troy..it`s almost expected...for the films to bring in more money...i do believe zhang ziyi is a wonderful actress..of course the accents will be a little bit awkward, but it`s part of the movie industry

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2006

absolutely fabulous movie. I enjoyed that there was no real "climax", it depicted the story of Gesiha`s really well.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2006

Having Chinese actors play Japanese people is as insulting as trying to pass white people off as Asians. Chinese don`t look the same; don`t talk the same as Japanese. If you think they do, then you must be so ignorant that you think Asians from any country all look and sound the same. Any way you look at it, it`s insulting.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2006

i truly believe that memoirs of a geisha was interesting,from the depths of my soul, the bottom of my heart she was an inspiration to young women worldwide.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2006

Beautiful movie. Takes a while to get into but hang in, it`s worth the 2.5 hours.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2006

I think ppl who say that a chinese actress should not be used to potray a japanese character are IDIOTS .. dont they know that actors are performers and that is their job to potray different characters.. and I think she did a good job .. thumbs up

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2006

awesome!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2006

Who gives a flip whether the actresses are Chinese or Japanese, the movie was wonderful!!! I have to agree with the other person who said it was better than King Kong and I too give it Two Thumbs Up!!! There was something so deep and touching - what a love story! If you`re looking for action, don`t bother going and then `try` to rip this movie apart! I hope it wins an Oscar!

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2006

why are all the key actors chinese?

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2006

I think Ziyi must have worked very hard for this roll because She actually looked like real Japanese Geisha except for some scenes. But, it really doesn`t matter because the novel was not written by Japanese and film was not directed by Japanese, so this movie was well done for capturin the novel very closely. I think they should have cast someone better than Yeoh`s. I agree there is nobody in Japan right now who could top Ziyi in term of fame in Hollywood, but Yeoh`s performance (although she is also famous) was horrible. Ziyi Zhang

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2005

.......fascinating.........

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2005

MESMERIZING!!!! This film is simply Georgeous. I was captivated by all the performances. Just Mesmerizing work here......

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2005

I thought the movie was alright. not as good as the book but it was still good, just really long. And i think the main actress (chinese or what) did a really good job anyways.

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2005

it was too long

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2005

whatever the cultural background, the acting in this film could only be described as superlative. why would or should it really matter to you, just the average joe, whether the actress had japanese or chinese blood? attacking what ever is controversial in a movie doesn`t quite tell the reader what they thought of the content of the movie. Does it?!?

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2005

just saw it, it was great

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2005

Excellent. Superb and haunting scenery. Very well acted.

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2005

REALLY good movie! a must-see film

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2005

well done.. scences very athentic

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2005

ZiYi Zhang delivered her best performance like her parts in House of Flying daggers and 2046. as long as she`s playing a whore!

Change Location