Martha Marcy May Marlene

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.72 / 5

User rating: 3.72

Based on 94 votes and 32 reviews


  • User rating: 3.72 17.39%
  • User rating: 3.72 54.35%
  • User rating: 3.72 17.39%
  • User rating: 3.72 4.35%
  • User rating: 3.72 6.52%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 32 of 32

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2013

gave me chills throughout the movie. Olsen was great.

User review rating: 4 October 12, 2012

great movie!

User review rating: 4 July 19, 2012

movie gave me the creeps...really strong performances by hawkes and olsen.

User review rating: 4 June 26, 2012

a very intense, interesting thriller. olsen gives an oscar worthy performance.

User review rating: 5 May 30, 2012

creepy movie - loved it!!

User review rating: 4 May 30, 2012

freaky movie!!....a tad slow, but emotionally draining and intense movie. olsen deserved more recognition for her brilliant performance.

User review rating: 4 May 28, 2012

although the ending is a bit wierd..very intense and disturbing movie. olsen aand hawkes give fantastic performances.

User review rating: 4 May 04, 2012

brilliant and haunting film about a girl trying to reclaim her life after escaping a cult. terrific performances by elizabeth olsen and john hawkes. understated and nuanced without the usual melodrama.

User review rating: 1 March 02, 2012

movie had no point and a stupid ending

User review rating: 1 January 28, 2012

what a waste of time. totally unbelievable and melodramatic.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2012

Really enjoyed this movie - kept me interested right to the end.

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2012

The best

User review rating: 4 January 01, 2012

interesting concept - well done

User review rating: 4 December 18, 2011

amazing plot and acting...was a tad confused about the ending though...

User review rating: 4 December 13, 2011

Enchanting!

User review rating: 4 December 12, 2011

Well acted but I am getting tired of movie endings that leave you hanging

User review rating: 4 December 03, 2011

I got lost in this story. very internal.

User review rating: 1 November 29, 2011

very odd premiere that i saw, did not like this movie.

User review rating: 5 November 28, 2011

An unforgettable film. One of the crowning achievements of the year. A rather somber film with disturbing elements and paranoia present.

User review rating: 4 November 25, 2011

Interesting movie - it held my attention for the duration. Would reccommend it!

User review rating: 4 November 24, 2011

Poor Martha only wanted a family that would support and not desert her....and becomes the victim of a charasmatic leader. I think the most heart breaking part of the movie is that she turns to her sister for protection and that sister gives up on her. Of course her behavior is frustrating and intereferes with her new marriage, but it is also clear that something terrible has happened to this girl, which we learn in a series of flashbacks. Superbly acted and directed, this should be the indie darling contender at this year's Oscars, and it will haunt you for days after you see it.

User review rating: 5 November 21, 2011

This the best movie I have seen all year. It's a strange blend of drama and thriller that keeps you wondering what will happen next. Great performances by all the actors, especially Elizabeth Olsen. A must-see film.

User review rating: 4 November 18, 2011

Well written and a different sort of movie. It entertained without being formulaic. Enjoyed it.

User review rating: 4 November 18, 2011

Great writing and plot. Very intereseting.

User review rating: 4 November 18, 2011

Great acting.

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2011

Love this type of movie. Great plot, super acting and kept me on the edge of my seat.

User review rating: 4 November 17, 2011

Creepy! Quite a movie. Great performances.

User review rating: 4 November 09, 2011

A perfectly crafted film that focuses more on the psychological impact the actions have on the character rather than just the action itself. Both young new actress Elizabeth Olsen and John Hawkes gave GREAT performances that should not be forgotten comes awards season. A very good start for promising newcomer Sean Durkin.

User review rating: 3 November 05, 2011

Confusing movie and depressing at times. Acting was good. Sad ending.

User review rating: 5 November 03, 2011

An excellent movie.

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2011

It will be an Oscar moment for Liz Olsen....she and the film as a whole shone.

User review rating: 5 October 28, 2011

An excellent movie about a young girl trying to re-connect with her family after going through a very diffcult and traumatic period in her life. Elizabeth Olsen gives a stunning performance in this film.

Change Location