Letters from Iwo Jima

Thank you for rating this movie!

Letters from Iwo Jima Movie Poster

4.17 / 5

User rating: 4.17

Based on 372 votes and 20 reviews

  • User rating: 4.17 66.17%
  • User rating: 4.17 11.28%
  • User rating: 4.17 7.52%
  • User rating: 4.17 3.76%
  • User rating: 4.17 11.28%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 20 of 20

User review rating: 0 March 15, 2009

my friend and i both fell asleep during the first half hour

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2009

One of the greatest war movies of all time!

User review rating: 0 July 26, 2007

one of the best movies of the year. as they say a story has two sides and until now most americans didnt know what the other side of the story was. i hope they can see that no matter who you are fighting everyone has their own reasons to fight and you are fighting people real people with families and lives. really powerful acting in this movie.

User review rating: 0 June 01, 2007

Incredible film. Check out Ken Watanabe's performance. My favourite movie of last year.

User review rating: 0 May 26, 2007

An adult film strictly for adult minds. Love the black and white, with the splash of red; how easily we misunderstand; the horrors of war pitting one human being against another. Brilliant work and companion piece to Flags of Our Fathers. As Adam Beach so poignantly opines, " I dont want to be called a hero...what I saw...what happened...that's not something to be proud of" Kudos to Eastwood, who continues to astound as a director.

User review rating: 0 April 25, 2007

The War from the perspective of the Japanese - and they're not all suicidal maniacs but certainly people like you and me thrown in the deep end of a big war!

User review rating: 0 February 22, 2007

I`m not sure why people watch movies like this expecting to see tons of action and excitement - that`s not what this movie is about. This movie (along with FotF) is centered on that one small island - Iwo Jima - that so many people fought over and died on - and about some of those people. Anyone can turn on the TV nowadays and get the shallow crap they pass for `entertainment` nowadays - this movie is about a whole lot more. Too many people nowadays take luxuries for granted nowadays...

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2007

Very disappointing

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2007

Did someone compare that mediocre horror snoozefest The Hitcher to the emotional cinematographic GENIUS of this movie? Ouch. Just ouch. This is worth the ridiculously high price of admission.

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2007

sickk movie

User review rating: 0 February 08, 2007


User review rating: 0 February 03, 2007

To those who did not enjoy this movie. Are any of you more than 10 years old?? A great movie that is why it is up for best picture!!!

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2007

A truley outstandig movie with great performances.

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2007

A yawner; for some REAL excitement, see "The Hitcher" instead.

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2007

Don`t open the mail!!!

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2007

given there is always the other side of a story, it`s very seldom to see a director make films from different perspectives but Eastwood does it, with all of his heart! acting is awesome. Highly recommended.

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2007

KEN WATANABE deserves an Oscar. Awesome actor. He out acted Tom Cruise in "The Last Samurai" and got himself a Oscar nom but should have won.

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2007

I thought this was a poignant, and well done film. I don`t quite understand why such limited release. One theatre in Toronto, and one in Vancouver. Why is this? I found Flags a bit disjointed, and this film was far superior.

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2007

A real disappointment!! the trailer is more well-done than the film itself; very slow, dull beginning made me yearning even more for the war scene to come on sooner. could not really immerse myself into the whole thing except maybe sadistically admired their suicidal killings now and then.

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2007

Excellent film from start to finish, from the grittiness of war, to the bonding of fellow soldiers. Another great contender for the 79th Oscar.

Change Location