Lady Macbeth

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.30 / 5

User rating: 3.30

Based on 68 votes and 37 reviews


  • User rating: 3.30 9.09%
  • User rating: 3.30 48.48%
  • User rating: 3.30 21.21%
  • User rating: 3.30 6.06%
  • User rating: 3.30 15.15%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 37 of 37

User review rating: 5 August 18, 2017

A tragedy worthy of ancient Greece.

User review rating: 5 August 07, 2017

The period settings were great, and the plot moved along in a well-paced manner with some truly unforgettable scenes. As dark movies go, this one is well worth seeing. Check out the opera version as well, by Shostakovich.

User review rating: 3 August 03, 2017

A very dark movie, only some people may enjoy this type of movie.

User review rating: 3 August 03, 2017

1. Over all screen atmosphere of the film was a bit drab. Very dreary uneventful surroundings. 2. Plot lines and characters were very plane with not much to the imagination. 3. Dramatic scenes fell short of follow through but on the whole played well by most leads. 4. Cinematics sharp and steady. Use of color lacked . Good movie but could have been spectacular if spiced up to depict more reasonable life dramatics and less restrained.

User review rating: 4 August 03, 2017

With most movies I have an idea of what will happen even though I haven't read or seen trailers from the movie, but this one I found the story plot surprising. Certain events in the movie left me with a bad taste which mean the movie actually had an impact instead of the movies you just forgot as soon as you leave the movie theater.

User review rating: 4 August 03, 2017

I really liked this movie and am recommending it. The acting was fantastic, the sets authentic to England in the 1800s. Starts out as a country Jane Austen-type lady and devolves, because of passion, into murder on Shakespearean level. Perfect dichotomy. I'm going to read the book. I was told, but am not sure, that the story is based on a real person.

User review rating: 1 August 03, 2017

I was really looking forward to this movie as the trailer made it seem quite interesting and dramatic. Normally I love period movies. Visually it was nice to watch but it was so painfully slow. If you want to watch a woman in a pretty dress sit on a couch in total silence for 30 minutes, this is for you. The character development was poor. I felt like I really didn't like any of the characters as people. Whether they lived or died made no difference of emotion to me. There was no one to cheer for, so to speak. I'm glad I didn't pay.

User review rating: 1 August 03, 2017

The best part of the movie: scenes of the heather covered windy moor beside the sea. I had never attended a film where people got up and left and those that stayed grumbled about how bad it was. It was good we had a free pass, because I feel having paid bridge fares, gas and parking, it was a waste of money.

User review rating: 1 August 03, 2017

Although Florence Pugh was a delight to watch I was disappointed in the plot which seemed scattered. It was very slow throughout and did not progress until the end which left me confused at what I had just watched.

User review rating: 4 August 03, 2017

I so enjoyed this movie. Florence Pugh delivers a powerful performance. The script was amazing. I'm going to read the book!

User review rating: 0 August 03, 2017

pretty good and interesting plot etc. thank you for free tickets actors were great.

User review rating: 0 August 03, 2017

I was not able to enter my code to redeem my tickets to take to the movies; therefore was not able to attend. :( By the trailer, I think it would have been a good one. Thank you.

User review rating: 4 August 03, 2017

Beautiful with some twists. Pugh was a surprise in lead role. An up and comer to keep a watch on. Found it slow in places but otherwise enjoyable

User review rating: 1 August 03, 2017

I wouldn't recommend this one. It was slow going. I liked Florence Pugh as Lady Lester, but that's about it. We couldn't figure out the connection to MacBeth.

User review rating: 3 August 03, 2017

Had some interesting twists, but rather slow moving.

User review rating: 3 August 03, 2017

Movie was a good period piece. It was a bit slow at times. Acting was good.

User review rating: 2 August 03, 2017

Was not my cup of tea. Seemed slow in points and never really picked up. Checked my watch numerous times awaiting the end of the movie.

User review rating: 3 August 03, 2017

It was pretty good. Not one I would have gone to otherwise but it had really some interesting twists.

User review rating: 2 August 03, 2017

I had trouble believing the course of events from how the extramarital affair begins to all of the subsequent events that take place in such a short time frame. It seemed like events just happened to move the story along so people do not get bored.

User review rating: 1 July 27, 2017

sorry did not enjoy the movie. Actually was waiting patiently for it to end.

User review rating: 4 July 27, 2017

Beautiful Movie! Thank-You Very Much!

User review rating: 4 July 27, 2017

Great movie, very interesting story. Love movies filmed in England. Very well made movie. A must see awesome movie. We loved that the movie event was at Landmark Grant Park Wpg. Thank you for the preview!

User review rating: 3 July 27, 2017

was rather slow with a weird ending. I had not read Macbeth so had no idea what to expect.

User review rating: 4 July 27, 2017

Pugh was exceptional and carried the film. Ackie was also great in her role. The movie was captivating and yet could have provided a bit more depth. A few too many slow moving parts and gaps in dialogue. I enjoyed it, if the option of 3.5 stars was available that would have been my choice.

User review rating: 4 July 26, 2017

This movie was great. I truly enjoyed it. BBC films did not disappoint. Highly recommend this film to those who like mystery and romance.

User review rating: 4 July 26, 2017

It was haunting to watch the sexual thrill and murderous trail.

User review rating: 0 July 25, 2017

Amazing film!

User review rating: 4 July 25, 2017

The movie is beautifully shot and haunting, Catherine will stay with me for a while. Florence in the role of Catherine, is perfection.

User review rating: 4 July 25, 2017

Florence Pugh is stunning in this film. The lack of music would normally disturb me but it fits perfectly the heavy atmosphere. Loved it.

User review rating: 3 July 25, 2017

I've always enjoyed movies made in England. They always keep you on the edge and even after the movie finishes you are left wondering what had exactly happened.

User review rating: 0 July 25, 2017

Awesome movie ! The movie ended up being a thriller and kept the audience thinking of what is next.

User review rating: 4 July 25, 2017

The movie certainly kept us watching, it was intense yet simple! I would give it 4 stars

User review rating: 5 July 25, 2017

great movie

User review rating: 4 July 19, 2017

this movie was an intense experience but riveting in nature! I thought the bleak and barren setting both inside and outside the house really created the right frame for the action. The characters were intensely believable. I was a bit confused by the nanny who came with the young boy and how she seemed to assume leadership within the household. Maybe I missed something there. The Director deserves a great deal of credit for adapting the very long and complicated story into this fine movie. The ending was so appropriate and so very saD!!

User review rating: 4 July 18, 2017

Very compelling movie! Kept you at the edge of your seat through whole movie. Awesome actors!

User review rating: 4 July 18, 2017

Can you say Oscar contender?! The suspense builds slowly and keeps your attention. The plot brings you to unexpected places as you twist and turn your affections towards and against Lady Katherine. With an end that leaves you wanting more – this movie is a must see.

User review rating: 4 July 18, 2017

Great!

Change Location