J. Edgar

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.74 / 5

User rating: 3.74

Based on 424 votes and 134 reviews


  • User rating: 3.74 22.11%
  • User rating: 3.74 50.53%
  • User rating: 3.74 10.53%
  • User rating: 3.74 13.16%
  • User rating: 3.74 3.68%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 134

User review rating: 2 August 25, 2012

i was hoping for some real insight in this film, but there was none. too long, bad make-up and wasted performances. mr. eastwood missed the mark on this one.

User review rating: 3 June 11, 2012

leonardo dicaprio delivers in the role as j.edgar hoover. an interesting drama about his life.

User review rating: 2 April 02, 2012

below average movie. eastwood ought to have done better. di caprio was good, but the movie only touches upon the complexities of hoover.

User review rating: 2 March 07, 2012

not nearly as good as hoped for....dicaprio was impressive however.

User review rating: 3 March 02, 2012

thought it was a great movie. kept me interested through the whole thing.

User review rating: 2 February 08, 2012

loved hammer and di caprio..but the movie wasn't very interesting or entertaining.

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2012

wow. what an ace job by leonardo dicaprio. another brilliantly acted masterpiece by clint eastwood. praised all the performances. great drama and intriguing story about the founding father of the fbi.

User review rating: 2 January 17, 2012

dicaprio's stelalr performance is the only thing worth watching in this over-hyped film. eastwood ought to have done better than this.

User review rating: 2 January 12, 2012

Found the movie to be a tad boring and only touched upon the surface of who J. Edgar was and what he did.

User review rating: 4 January 09, 2012

Quite an unusual way to tell the story of a man with both drive, foresight, and vision above most men, and capable to build something of lasting value for future generations. At least in other respects, like most men, he had vulnerabilities in life's social and family relations, and dark suppressed longings of a life of personal disappointments. Enjoyed it more than I expected. Worth the see.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2012

Leo does a great job.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2012

good

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2012

I LOVED THIS MOVIE FOR THE HISTORICAL AS WELL AS THE PERSONAL INSIGHT INTO YHIS POWERFUL MAN. THE MOVIE PROVIEDED HTE INFORMATION AND LET YOU MAKE UP YOUR OWN MIND.

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2012

Well acted but skirts the real J Edgar Hoover is many instances

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2012

Leonardo is great in almost every role. Great acting and great direction from Mr. Eastwood.

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2012

GREAT ACTING AND GREAT WORK BY CLINT EASTWOOD

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2012

GREAT ACTING AND GREAT WORK BY CLINT EASTWOOD

User review rating: 4 January 05, 2012

I thought that the movie was quite interesting in the way is showed the hidden aspects of Hoover's personal life.

User review rating: 2 January 05, 2012

I expected a lot more from this historical-Eastwood piece. I found it rather boring, and also very limited in its ability to tell us about the man J. Edgar was. I would pass on this one.

User review rating: 4 January 04, 2012

Great history movie

User review rating: 4 January 04, 2012

Very interesting and thought provoking.

User review rating: 4 January 02, 2012

Interesting and educational movie.

User review rating: 4 January 02, 2012

DiCaprio is Oscar worthy

User review rating: 4 January 02, 2012

Historically rich and well directed!

User review rating: 2 December 31, 2011

not good at all!!

User review rating: 2 December 31, 2011

a bit boring!

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2011

Di Caprio is a cinch to win the Oscar for this one!

User review rating: 4 December 29, 2011

Gives the younger generation some insight as to what happened in the sixties.

User review rating: 2 December 29, 2011

I found this movie to be very dull. There was absolutely no insight provided by Eastwood into the weird life of J. Edgar. Although Di Caprio gave a great performance, I felt the story was a let down.

User review rating: 4 December 29, 2011

Leo Di Capprio is outstanding as J. Edgar Hoover He takes the challenge of portraying this extremely intricate portrait, spanning 70 years with aplomb, and does a top-notch job. Some interesting details of J. Edgar Hoover's life come alive in this film. Very interesting.

User review rating: 4 December 29, 2011

strong acting & directing/producing - quite the story

User review rating: 4 December 28, 2011

Very interesting movie.

User review rating: 0 December 27, 2011

Dicaprio at his best...who new he was also a crossdresser?...J.Edgar that is.

User review rating: 4 December 22, 2011

Great movie

User review rating: 0 December 22, 2011

This was a fantastic movie. DeCaprio captured the man who everyone thought Hoover was and gave us a small glimpse into the world of which so many of us know so little.

User review rating: 4 December 22, 2011

GREAT ACTING AND GREAT WORK BY CLINT EASTWOOD

User review rating: 4 December 22, 2011

Miss the really good point to his life but well acted

User review rating: 4 December 21, 2011

This movie was interesting and informational.

User review rating: 4 December 21, 2011

GREAT ACTING AND GREAT WORK BY CLINT EASTWOOD

User review rating: 3 December 21, 2011

Good idea for a movie but falls short despite A list actors.

User review rating: 4 December 20, 2011

Great insight into J. Edgar Hoover's life.

User review rating: 5 December 20, 2011

C. Eastwood did a bang up job on this one as usual I enjoyed the movie and would recommend to others

User review rating: 4 December 16, 2011

A good movie that focuses on his life and some of the events during the sixties.

User review rating: 2 December 16, 2011

Over-rated!

User review rating: 4 December 15, 2011

Entertaining movie.

User review rating: 3 December 15, 2011

The movie was good, Leonardo DiCaprio was outstanding as usual...how he does not win an oscar is beyond me. The only gripe I have with the movie is that it was slow in parts.

User review rating: 0 December 15, 2011

Not knowing a lot about the man but hearing he was an important man in American history, I was curious to see just what an impact he had on the US justice system. While I recognize this movie isn't for everyone, I love anything done by Eastwood and involving Di Caprio. I was enthralled by the whole movie and amazed by Di Caprio's acting talents. If you're in the mood for learning something and being entertained, this is the movie for you.

User review rating: 3 December 15, 2011

Good enough movie, but not what I thought it was going to be going into it. Worth the money

User review rating: 0 December 14, 2011

not being a history buff, I enjoyed this movie.

User review rating: 4 December 13, 2011

Great movie but not what I was expecting. I thought it was going to be more action - more history. But it turned out to be more about the man than the FBI. Even more of a love story. All in all = good movie.

Change Location