Hyena Road

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.52 / 5

User rating: 4.52

Based on 106 votes and 39 reviews


  • User rating: 4.52 74.00%
  • User rating: 4.52 16.00%
  • User rating: 4.52 4.00%
  • User rating: 4.52 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.52 6.00%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 39 of 39

User review rating: 5 October 11, 2016

Excellent tactical accuracy and combat footage. Great Cinematography and audio. Well written and directed by Gross with a great performance in lead role and by supporting cast. A well made war epic on a 3rd World budget. SALUTE.

User review rating: 4 August 02, 2016

First time watched a movie based on Canadian troops, I am impressed by this movie, I felt I was there when watching it. I was moved and knew some truth about the war.

User review rating: 3 February 16, 2016

Good. Not worth my 5 stars.

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2016

I'm certainly not a film critic, but I truly enjoyed the film, it's compassionate eye and it's more balanced, Canadian perspective of the war in Afghanistan. Well written, well acted, certainly well worth seeing!

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2016

Very good movie covering the complexities of warfare in faraway lands where cultures are so different

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2016

Excellent film that brings the realism of war, the politics of coalitions and cultural factionalism to life in a manner that Hollywood wouldn't dare. Paul Gross has raised the bar for Oliver Stone and other great directors.

User review rating: 4 January 31, 2016

good movie

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2016

Awesome!!

User review rating: 4 November 25, 2015

Well done Paul Gross, you always put life to the stories in our history and in the media. Thanks

User review rating: 4 November 12, 2015

We had a chance to go see a screening of another free flick, but felt since it was Remembrance Day yesterday and this was showing for FREE at Landmark Cinemas, I felt it was more fitting to take my Wife and my Mother with me to see it. I was VERY impressed. This is a must see. Every Canadian should see this movie and help recoop it's budget and then some. Paul Gross did a fantastic job. I am not one to cry, but it certainly added to the emotion of the day. Thank you for showing the movie..for FREE (now I would have paid!)

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2015

Excellent plot, movie, and characters! I really enjoyed this movie and it really brought home the hell and compassion experienced by Canada's troops in Afganistan.

User review rating: 4 October 27, 2015

I also did a 6 month tour in KAF (yes, I was a REMF) at the end of a 30 some year infantry career so I approached the movie from that viewpoint. In all aspects of moviemaking, I was pleasantly surprised (using "Passchendaele as a measuring stick"). I compared it to a number or recent U.S. war movies (Lone Survivor, American Sniper, The Hurt Locker, Blackhawk Down). In comparison, I think Hyena Road really held its own. When I was there, one of the biggest threats was the Taliban creating IEDs using the large yellow, plastic vegetable oil jugs filled with the fertilizer and placing them in culverts. No, I won't play spoiler but I let out a very slight cheer during that very short scene. See it for yourself. Congratulations Paul Gross et al.

User review rating: 5 October 26, 2015

A great story, well told. I give Paul Gross extra credit for writing an interesting female character who was good at her job and in charge - she even stood up to the Paul Gross character! This film made clear the idea that the war in Afghanistan is much more complicated than just good guys versus bad guys. Interesting and engaging.

User review rating: 5 October 23, 2015

Definitely a 5-star movie! Truly Canadian, from Paul Gross to all of the Canadian Flags and uniforms with Canadian insignia and rank badges very prominent! Many people are not aware of Canada's involvement in the Afghanistan theatre. As a Canadian military family with full service it does us proud!

User review rating: 5 October 23, 2015

If you enjoyed American Sniper, you will love this movie as well. Very well made for a Canadian movie and doesn't have that low-budget feel to it. You will not be disappointed and the ending will tug at your heart just like American Sniper did. A few had tears running down as they left the theater.

User review rating: 5 October 22, 2015

Once again Gross has demonstrated his genius as writer, director and actor in Hyena Road. He seems to be the only one with the interest, faith and courage to tell the stories of our Canadian men and women who serve overseas and suffer and die for it. His movie was probably one of the best insights ordinary Canadians - other than the soldiers who served there - will ever have of the problems of this area and why military intervention will never solve them. Thank you, Paul, for your wonderful work. Please make a movie about Canadians in World War II,

User review rating: 5 October 21, 2015

Excellent filming and acting. A different approach to a 'conflict film' (complexity, authenticity) and I liked how the pace of action and music were sometimes in contrast. A great film that you should make effort to see.

User review rating: 5 October 21, 2015

best movie of the year a must see

User review rating: 4 October 20, 2015

Well made Afghan war movie from the Canadian point of view. As we get so little Canadian content in movies it was nice to see. Not surprisingly the movie's take away is war is hell.

User review rating: 5 October 18, 2015

this is an impact movie...somewhat tense but very interesting keeps one on the edge of ones seat......extremely well produced and acted....actors like real people not glam. movie stars..Oscar Worthy..and so Canadian ..yes !!!!!

User review rating: 5 October 18, 2015

Terrifying, intelligent and powerful!

User review rating: 5 October 17, 2015

Excellent film. I liked the script, the filming, the direction, the cast, the Canadian content, everything

User review rating: 5 October 17, 2015

I am a veteran of Afgan - really good had me crying as the realism I served 30 yrs. cdn mil. Bravo Zulu Paul and cast

User review rating: 4 October 16, 2015

An excellent movie.

User review rating: 0 October 15, 2015

Would have walked out but partner wanted to stay. Poor quality in acting and script was filled with numerical goobilty gook communication which had no significance to audience. The story line was not credible and Afgan characters were phoney and of poor quality. The finale bombing scenario was illogical as the army would not have conducted an action which would have resulted in killing off their personnel. The film is a joke.

User review rating: 5 October 15, 2015

This is the best war movie since saving private Ryan. The script, the actors are brilliant. Paul Gross is a genius director. He's no slouch at acting either. You must see this movie.

User review rating: 5 October 14, 2015

We went in hopeful that the movie was good but it is great. All your emotions are poked. this is a must see. You don't see a lot of hype about this movie because it doesn't need it.

User review rating: 5 October 14, 2015

We went in hopeful that the movie was good but it is great. All your emotions are poked. This is a must see. You don't see a lot of hype about this movie because it doesn't need it.

User review rating: 5 October 14, 2015

Best movie I have seen in a long time, certainly the best of 2015!

User review rating: 5 October 13, 2015

Really liked the movie. Have to appreciate the Canadian talent that too often doesn't get the recognition they deserve. Bravo!

User review rating: 5 October 12, 2015

This movie answers what Canadian Soldiers were facing in Afghanistan. All the components for this war are shown, from gun fights, IEDs, the conditions and the professionalism of our troops. It's all there to understand, and make you proud.

User review rating: 5 October 12, 2015

So non American...terrific movie...GO JAYS

User review rating: 5 October 12, 2015

Great movie

User review rating: 3 October 11, 2015

This movie was high stress plenty of action!! The acting was great but there was no comic relief and the end still gave very little release either.

User review rating: 5 October 10, 2015

It was a poignant movie, it told a real story. Canadians need to see what our men and women go through and why life is so difficult for them when they come home. I love my country, I'm proud of the men and women who protect it. Thank you

User review rating: 5 October 10, 2015

Superb movie....right up there with "The Hurt Locker" and "American Sniper."

User review rating: 5 October 10, 2015

Exceptional.

User review rating: 5 October 10, 2015

Excellent. Nice to see a war movie from the Canadian perspective.

User review rating: 5 October 08, 2015

Very intense and realistic. Well written and the acting was superb.

Change Location