Hotel Rwanda

Thank you for rating this movie!

Hotel Rwanda Movie Poster

3.97 / 5

User rating: 3.97

Based on 3339 votes and 72 reviews

  • User rating: 3.97 63.28%
  • User rating: 3.97 4.33%
  • User rating: 3.97 13.27%
  • User rating: 3.97 4.30%
  • User rating: 3.97 14.82%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 50 of 72

User review rating: 0 May 26, 2008

This movie really displays the events of the Rwandan Genocide in a very moving and realistic way. It touched my heart! It opened my eyes to what really happened to the helpless and innocent Tutsis during the genocide, and what a difference the rest of the world could have made by helping them. The extent to which this event was ignored by the rest of the world is truly shameful. Although this movie isn't my typical idea of entertainment, I will never forget it!

User review rating: 0 April 14, 2008

This is a 5 star movie, NOT!!! This is a 4 star movie, NOT!!!! This is a 3 star movie, NOT!!! This is a 1 star movie? No not even, i give this a 1/745th of a star, yea i just did that.

User review rating: 0 April 14, 2008

This movie was just flat out Trble. That is all.

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2006

the best ever movie taht i never ever forget after "the pianist" congratulation for the excellent work & interesting movie

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2006

This was a true story that made me ashamed to be a black person. It shows exactly what is happening right in the state I live yet all over the world. One race killing one another! For being a different shade of black or being taller than another, yet we are the same people struggling and trying to make it as a people. I love all people, and I love my race. I couldn`t see killing anything so percious as a human being. I never thought something so heartless could happen in so current of times.

User review rating: 0 March 17, 2006

It was a powerful movie that stirred my social conscious to action.

User review rating: 0 February 23, 2006

The movie was awsome! How the world can close it`s eyes to something like that I dont know, but hopefully if you havent seen the move you will cause I promise you it will touch your heart.

User review rating: 0 February 19, 2006

It was very well made and stayed true to the actual events.

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2006

Excellent movie. it shows how the west is useless and does not care for them. they could have done so much while they left millions to die. shame on us. really shame on us. very powerful. will let u look at the west in a different way

User review rating: 0 August 10, 2005

This movie is very very moving. Myself and my mom were in tears when we watched it! This is a powerful movie and I think the whole world should watch...just to see what these people went through!!

User review rating: 0 July 31, 2005

its an eye opener to the filipino people,paul shows courage to help his fellowmen,courage to face all the problem despite of the dange4rt to his life may bring

User review rating: 0 July 10, 2005

This movie opened my eyes to the tragic situation in Rwanda and to the suffering, poverty and conflict-stricken state of Africa. It helps build our awareness not only on our own nation but to the entire world. It points out the mistakes of the UN as well as other world leaders of major powers. I loved the movie even if it made my heart ache at the atrocities and cruelties that man is capable of doing.

User review rating: 0 June 16, 2005

sooo good gave me chillz

User review rating: 0 June 05, 2005

the movie was very good.its make me cry like a litte a baby,i just dont bleive what i saw.

User review rating: 0 May 19, 2005

A truly amazing movie!! awsomely protrait awesome acting

User review rating: 0 May 17, 2005

This movie was good. So good that it enraged me and made me think about the bigger picture like Darfur. If all of these genocides are going on in Africa and there is so much black on black crime in America where is that going to put black people on a global perspective. Come on black people think before you act!

User review rating: 0 May 15, 2005

a excellent movie

User review rating: 0 May 09, 2005

Very well done. Very difficult to watch, didn`t realize that situation ever existed. Glad there wasn`t too much bloodshed shown but there was enough just the same.

User review rating: 0 May 06, 2005

It was an amazingly realisitc fim without being too gorey!! which would have lost it`s meaning! A must see for historian and Teachers of Social studies!

User review rating: 0 May 01, 2005

I have no idea what anyone who chose to rate this movie just 1 star is thinking it was a very powerful and eye opening movie that everyone should see. Don Cheadle was great he portrayed the character perfectly down the very last detail definately 5 out of 5

User review rating: 0 April 26, 2005

Everyone who complains about their lives here in the us and chooses not to vote, etc should have to watch this movie.

User review rating: 0 April 26, 2005

Amazing view of the Rwanda genocide. You can only be touched by the story and massacre of 1994. Shows how the living world is fragile...

User review rating: 0 April 24, 2005

hotel rwanda was an amazing movie. althought i didnt even know this movie was out untill today. they should have advertisted it much more, because i feel that people should watch this movie....

User review rating: 0 April 24, 2005

It should of won best picture of the year

User review rating: 0 April 20, 2005

WOW!! i thought this movie was very powerful. I`m from Africa and i never knew all this went on. Don Cheadle i thought he did very good job in acting but so did everyone else. This movie and Antwone Fisher i watch movies and i`ve seen lot of movies but these two movies were the only movie that made me cry. Everyone has got to see it.

User review rating: 0 April 15, 2005

The movie was very good. Don Cheadle deserved the oscar for his performance.

User review rating: 0 April 08, 2005

Don cheadle is amazing in this film.It`s a shame that it has taken such a long time to bring this tragedy to the forefront of public awareness.Perhaps if it had the political pull of the southeast asian tsunami,we could have done something.The media didn`t care,or maybe we didn`t care enough for them to cover it...until now.Take a look at Africa there`s still a voice to be heard.Say something.

User review rating: 0 April 01, 2005

sooo chillzzz

User review rating: 0 March 18, 2005

Fabulous movie. A must see.

User review rating: 0 March 16, 2005

An amazing movie!! My heart goes out to all the victims and survivors of these barbaric acts. When this was happening in 1994 nobody in Canada heard about it and yet when the events of September 11 occurred the whole world heard about it. Why is that? Hmmmmmm?

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2005

I was there in 1994,The only Zambian Student in Kigali doing a research on women empowerment, suddenly that same afternoon, as i was in my hotel room too, saw a swarm of soldiers on the streets, and the next thing was the shelling and heard people shout. It was a horrible experience, my experience and looking at this movie makes me cry, I have since moved to Norway, Archie K.

User review rating: 0 March 09, 2005

I think is was a very touching reinactment of what happeen. and it is good for people realize things that happen in our time that they didn`t know about. very interesting movie.

User review rating: 0 March 08, 2005

Excellent, the entire cast, especially Don Cheadle and Sophie Okonedo, give truly remarkable performances. The disgrace of the international community during the Rwandan genocide is shown well here, along with the heroism of many of the individuals involved and the evil of the murderers. One of those films that has you leaving the theatre shaking your head in disbelief as to how this could have happened in 1994.

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2005

This movie was fabulous. Well acted and you felt you were right there. The outrage one felt while watching this was very real and the shame of it of course, is the fact, this really happened and all these poor people were slaughtered and the world turned it`s back. Makes one ashamed to be part of the human race.

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2005

Superb story and film. The only criticism I have is Nick Nolte`s awful overacting. But I could ignore that, because the rest of the film was not only so well done, especially Sophie Okonedo`s role (for which I think she should have won Best Supporting Actress), and because it raises our awareness of a holocaust in our own time which we ignored.

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2005

It was the most un-funny movie I have ever seen. It almost makes you sad.

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2005

Despite the fact that I saw a Canadian flag prominently displayed on the UN official`s shoulder, I left wondering where my government was during this massacre. My wife asked why we didn`t know about this civil war while it was happening. I asked her if she knew what was going on in the Sudan right now? We live a comfortable existance in Canada. The west, Canadians included, just doesn`t get it.

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2005

This is a documentary made into a movie. One cannot grade this movie with theatrical rubrics (criteria). This movie evokes both social and emotional passions. One walks out of the movie saying, why did the media not report this?

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2005

This film was difficult to watch, but is essential viewing.

User review rating: 0 February 23, 2005

beautiful film.

User review rating: 0 February 23, 2005

This movie was unbelievable. One of the best movies to come out in years. I highly recommend this movie to everyone. It is definitely not advertised enough and not playing in nearly enough theatres!

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2005

Phenominal film that people should see. I felt anger and shame that outside countries ignored what was happening. Superb actors and script. Why 20% of people voted this below 2 stars is beyond me.

User review rating: 0 February 16, 2005


User review rating: 0 February 14, 2005

Great characters. Good acting. An unfortunate historical event that gives this movie a good story. Although the movie was violent, it was not as gory as I thought it was going to be, thankfully. I would see it again a year from now and still enjoy it.

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2005

A very moving film... personally I am now going to read General Dallaire`s book "Shake hands with the Devil" which is about his experience in Rwanda as the head of the UN peace-keeping force (Nolte`s character in the movie). It reminds me of something i heard once: "The opposite of love isn`t hate. It is indifference.". And I think to some extent we are guilty of that.

User review rating: 0 February 10, 2005

all I can say is WOW!! this movie was beyond powerful...I am speechless

User review rating: 0 February 08, 2005

This was a difficult movie to watch, but it is probably the most moving film I have ever seen. It certainly made me appreciate what a wonderful life we have here in the west. It also made me aware of just how quickly and easily civilization can slip away if we`re not careful to keep the ugly side of humanity in check.

User review rating: 0 February 08, 2005

Everyone should see this movie.

User review rating: 0 February 08, 2005

This was very difficult to watch, in the same way that Schindler`s List and the Pianist were difficult. What was done to these people should never have been allowed to happen, yet it continues to happen today in Chad, in the Congo, in Burundi, and most notably in Sudan, and still nothing is done to help. The UN still does not have the balls to call this what it is, GENOCIDE! If this was not a genocide, just what else had to happen to these people to constitute being labeled a genocide? What other unspeakable acts? It is fine to make this movie, and it`s very well done, but if nothing changes for the people of these African nations it is just

User review rating: 0 February 07, 2005

Very moving!! Makes you feel ashamed to live in the west.

Change Location