Hostiles

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.59 / 5

User rating: 3.59

Based on 178 votes and 51 reviews


  • User rating: 3.59 50.63%
  • User rating: 3.59 11.39%
  • User rating: 3.59 10.13%
  • User rating: 3.59 2.53%
  • User rating: 3.59 25.32%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 51

User review rating: 5 February 22, 2018

Loved it. Made me stop and think about how we all can be cruel and we all can be victimized.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2018

Hostiles is an excellent and poignant portrayal of how mortal enemies come together, set aside their indifferences and accept one another, not for what they have done, but for what they are and never reflect on the past. It's a shame this generation can't understand this, It could happen again, only under more devastating circumstances

User review rating: 4 February 14, 2018

The film set in 1892 ignored the Wounded Knee Massacre of 1890 but did take into account the great change of occurring during the end of the 19th century-for both the tribes and the Americans. Overall, the film was good depicting the difficulty of change for the populations involved.

User review rating: 1 February 14, 2018

horribly boring

User review rating: 1 February 13, 2018

It was to slow. I thought it would never end.

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2018

Well done and realistic.

User review rating: 3 February 12, 2018

TOO SLOW

User review rating: 4 February 11, 2018

As a Native American (Navajo), I appreciated the realism displayed in this movie. Our past historians have reported so much inaccurate representation & bias. It's heart warming to see the true humanity of us all. Well done, ahéhee'/thank you. Veda Glover

User review rating: 3 February 10, 2018

I’ve never liked road pictures—including such lauded films as Easy Rider and Thelma and Louise. My distaste is generated by the nature of the genre: Road movies are invariable episodic. The characters head down the road and at each town (or valley or creek) have another contrived adventure. The movies are not so much an integrated and fleshed-out development of the characters facing a life dilemma as a collection of little scenarios laid down one on top of the other. I call them pancake movies. Hostiles is that kind of film. As a result, often the mini-scenarios are overly sentimental. Let me explain. In artistic storytelling (theatre, movies, books) there is a difference between sentiment and sentimentality. If the author or screenwriter is tugging on the reader or viewer to weep or anger without first developing the characters, we feel exploited. The scene comes across as sickly sweet—the cornerstone of sentimentality. For example, in Hostiles there is a scene between the leading character, Captain Joseph Blocker, played by Christian Bale and his wounded black corporal, performed by Jonathan Majors. The emotion of camaraderie and mutual affection is played well but to the hilt. As a viewer, we feel abused by the screenwriter—at least this viewer did. Movie buffs will recognize the storyline within the first twenty minutes of the film: Hated enemies will become the most profound friends. Okay, we get that, but most of the time the bonding feels rushed and, therefore, sentimental. Real sentiment requires time—and relevant detail—to develop pre-existing enmity and eventual kinship. Those concerns aside, the movie is diverting enough. The acting is solid, although I would have appreciated greater existential turmoil in the eyes of the lead actors as they made their transition from haters to lovers. In the end, it is an entertaining movie that—with more patience and attention to detail—could have been a great movie.

User review rating: 1 February 10, 2018

Movie starts out great, for about 3 mins, then becomes literally the most boring movie you will ever see. I’ve never seen so many people walk out of a movie an hour in in my life. Not even worth a Bluray watch. Very disappointed

User review rating: 1 February 09, 2018

worst movie ever --no plot and bloody

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2018

Very good movie!

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2018

The era is post-Civil War, around 1892. Christian Bale plays (by all accounts a legendary) U.S. Cavalry officer. Wes Studi, is a Cherokee actor (I've seen him in other films), who here plays a Cheyenne war chief named Yellow Hawk. Fort Berringer is an isolated Calvary outpost located in New Mexico. The movie has scenes depicting an Apache Indian party, and scenes depicting a Comanche Indian war party. This information does not give away the story. This was a very good movie. I was attentive to it and not bored the entire movie. This movie does not take a side in terms of rights to land. This movie is not trying to make a political statement. This movie does an excellent job portraying honor. This movie does an excellent job portraying PTSD. Bale's character suffers from it and so does Rory Cochrane's, he plays First Sergeant Metz. Cochrane does an excellent job of struggling with PTSD, depression. This information should not give away the story but might aid in better understanding what is going on in different scenes. Christian Bale gave an excellent performance as a Calvary Officer. To some reviewers, this character might have been too different than what they are use to seeing Bale do. With an objective mind, I think he pulled off the role superbly. His character is able to manage his PTSD. The movie offers beautiful scenery. I enjoyed seeing the depictions of what life was like during those times: at an outpost, town life, railroad trains, horses as a mode of transportation, mountains, beautiful scenery, the costumes, and the reality that living or raising a family in the wilderness was a potentially dangerous choice. I recommend seeing this movie and making your own rating.

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2018

Great script, acting was very good and cinematography was terrific. Had not enjoyed a Western as much since Unforgiven

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2018

Close to reality

User review rating: 1 February 06, 2018

Very dry movie. I like all the actors in the movie but it went downhill for entertainment after the first five minutes. It is a movie that does provide insight on how mean people can be to one another but this could have been a 1hr movie to do so. By far the dryest movie of the year so far. Save your money and see something else.

User review rating: 1 February 05, 2018

Not a very good movie. The casting was okay but plodding, dull, and revisionist.

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2018

excellent. Oscar worthy, best actor and director.

User review rating: 1 February 04, 2018

This is a poorly written movie. And although they had good actors they were not allowed to do their jobs evidently. And the firearms were not even close to looking like they belonged in that era. Very slow and drawn out.

User review rating: 1 February 04, 2018

SUCKED

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2018

A painful, thoughtful, intelligent and beautifully made in ever aspect, movie. The writing and acting was superb.

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2018

Loved the whole thing. I thought the female and male main characters gave heartbreaking performances. It felt real. I cried more than once. Will see it again.

User review rating: 2 February 04, 2018

Movie seemed to be mostly low key...........talking talking talking. Went with grandson and his lady friend and all three of us were very disappointed.

User review rating: 1 February 04, 2018

No academy awards for this one. Unlike Unforgiven, or Dances with Wolves, this one forgot to bring a plot along to the set. If you like watching paint dry, you'll love this.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2018

Best Western since Unforgiven with Clint Eastwood and Dances With Wolves if you liked any of those movies you have to see this. They spent a lot of money making this film the picture quality is really good and out standing acting. Also we need to support western movies if we want to see them continue making them. I do not think they get enough support.

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2018

Awesome Acting Awesome Action Awesome Movie Highly suggest watching

User review rating: 1 February 01, 2018

I love westerns, but not this one. Distorting history and retelling it with modern glasses always bothers me. You may as well given them laser rifles to battle it out with because it would of been just as close to the actual history as what they have done to it.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2018

Awesome movie! Great acting, very moving and full of history and life lessons. Highly recommend seeing this movie!!

User review rating: 1 January 31, 2018

Boring!

User review rating: 1 January 30, 2018

I thought it was disappointing. The acting was good but there wasn't any character building. I felt none of the emotion this movie should have created. It could have and should have been better.

User review rating: 1 January 30, 2018

This has to the worst movie of 2018!!!Hostile is what you feel after sitting through this waiting for some action.Slowest movie ever,,no real plot.Ride,,sit by fire ,,ride ,stare off in space,,stare somemore,,ride,,very bad dialog,,Did not live up to all promos. Absolutely the worse movie so far this year.

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2018

I just left a Northern Cheyenne Reservation in Montana and watching this movie was very personal for me because my Grandfather was the last living Chief in Chief Little Wolf's bloodline. The details of the places made me very happy. It was pretty cool to hear Lakota mentioned and just would have loved to hear Arapaho and Siox mentioned also because those are our allies that always went into battle with the Cheyenne. Hope they make additional movies about the Dog Soldiers that also got mentioned and maybe a movie about some of the massacres like Rosebud and Sandy Creek. I am thankful for the movie and fabulous acting.

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2018

Great acting. Great directing and cinematography. Illustrates to our generation what grit, determination and overcoming tragedies are all about. Finding faith, hope and even love in the midst of unspeakable tragedies. Inspirational!

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2018

Wes Studi & Christian Bale are two of the Best actors in the business. There both gifted , brilliant and artists of there craft . God bless~ Enthralling movie I'll be watching over & over ....

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2018

We enjoyed this movie! Great acting and beautiful scenery! Some parts were a little slow but a storyline that leaves you thinking!

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2018

Both my husband and I loved this movie. It was a bit slow in places but not all movies have to be fast paced. The overall movie was wonderful and we would watch it again.

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2018

I loved this movie, it was a love story. Soft but violent at the same time. The acting was superb the scenery was amazing. Nothing I didn't like about it. Brilliant movie.

User review rating: 3 January 27, 2018

very good story and acting , typical Hollywood inserting political opinions to drag out an already very long movie. could have been at least 30 minutes shorter

User review rating: 2 January 26, 2018

Brutal, lots of violence, bt overall, very slow moving, the whole story could have been told in an hour 15....lots of 10 mins stares into space. Christian Bale is good but it is not comparable to The Unforgiven, and is certainly not the best western in a long time.....who comes up with these reviews! Wow, go watch some other westerns.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2018

great acting

User review rating: 1 January 26, 2018

Western World was more fun than this one.

User review rating: 1 January 25, 2018

Plodding, depressing and untrue. Makes Bladerunner 2049 seem kickass.

User review rating: 3 January 25, 2018

Not as good as i was led to believe by the build ups. A lot of the movie was slow moving and hard to hear. I nodded off once ! Far removed from being a great western. The best part of the movie was the photography.Three stars is lenient.

User review rating: 4 January 24, 2018

A powerful portrayal of a union soldier who transforms his hate for natives to admiration. Christian Bale is simply the best at what he does.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2018

I really enjoyed this movie best western seen in a long time. It was great to see true Native Indians playing in their role. Well done

User review rating: 4 January 22, 2018

I was pleasantly surprised at how good this movie really was.It was head and shoulders better than The Commuter.A very good movie!

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2018

Wow! Advertised as best western since Unforgiven...must be the ONLY western since then. Bad script, terrible acting, choppy plot at best. I never review but this one makes me want my time back. Avoid for it will be available on streaming tv shortly for free plus you can change the channel.

User review rating: 3 January 21, 2018

I was mildly disappointed with this film .Not enough character development IMO . It was not one of Bales best performances ....again just my opinion . The dialogue also left a lot to be desired ,maybe the director thought if everybody mumbled and whispered to each other through the whole film ,it would make it seem a deeper film .

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2018

Need more movies as great as this one!

User review rating: 4 January 01, 2018

Bale gives a 5 star performance. The female lead is miscast. She's not right for the role. The photography is wow!

Change Location