Gods and Generals

Thank you for rating this movie!

Gods and Generals Movie Poster

3.75 / 5

User rating: 3.75

Based on 800 votes and 13 reviews

  • User rating: 3.75 63.66%
  • User rating: 3.75 3.51%
  • User rating: 3.75 3.76%
  • User rating: 3.75 2.76%
  • User rating: 3.75 26.32%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 13 of 13

User review rating: 0 April 01, 2010

A Must see for serious historical students!

User review rating: 0 December 19, 2008

great film ,shows the truth about Jackson the man

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2006

great film from a British americain civil war reenactor, but in trailer it shows Pres Lincoln and a sceen with Gen L Chamberlain at a theater where is it in the flim?

User review rating: 0 August 13, 2005

This film moved me the first time I saw it and gets deeper into my soul each time I watch it. We are all indebted to everyone worked on this film with the spirit of bringing a part of our history we should never--dare never--forget so vividly to life. Stephen Lang`s portrayal of Stonewall Jackson was amazing. He truly captured all the facets of a very complex man. The wonderful attention to detail really pays off here as it did in Gettysburg; while it takes awhile to get used to what we now consider stilted, formal and sometimes overly-sentimental speech, after awhile you hate to turn the DVD off and return to the modern world. "Gettysburg"

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2004

I thought Stephen Lang`s portrayal of General Jackson was simply excellent. I loved the movie... As a Californian, it gave me new perspectives on the causes/concerns of the Southern states...beyond the single issue of slavery. Thanks

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2004

Since i`am a civil war reenactor and had many friends in this motion picture i say it is the best civil war film ever period just like the movie credits said. I love the movie i can`t wait tell they start the The Last Full Measure witch is the sequal to "Gettysburg". I loved this movie i give it 5* Stars for it`s ratings i think it is a good story because it also explanes that the war wasen`t only about slavery it was about states rights.

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2004

A film created to perpetuate the myth of a Southern "Lost Cause." Pathetic on almost every level. The review "major teduim meets general boredom" is apt. Lovers of NASCAR and the religious right loved it. An extreme, emotional, distortion of history. See "Glory" for a taste of truth.

User review rating: 0 October 16, 2003

Finally, a War Between the States movie that tells and shows the truth about that war. Thanks to Ron Maxwell for doing his best to get it right!!!

User review rating: 0 July 22, 2003

The Best War Film of the Year! Great Performances and Superb Cinematography.

User review rating: 0 June 30, 2003

Outstanding portrayal of Stonewall Jackson and the first two years of the Civil War. Can`t wait to see the whole 6-plus hours of film in a miniseries or on DVD.

User review rating: 0 February 22, 2003

4 hours of stiff acting, pretentious dialogue, and poorly executed special(?) effects ...if this is a prequel to `Gettysburg`, it is nowhere near the calibre of that earlier Civil War epic. Even the extras who participate in the battle scenes can`t `get it right`; if you watch closely, there`s several in the background who - during what should be tense moments during battle - are clearly without any instructions from the Director or (worse yet) pulling a `Look Ma, I`m in a movie!` for the camera. The scripted dialogue is no more realistic than if someone based the `sound` of today`s verbal communication on the content of the email people w

User review rating: 0 February 21, 2003

A tragic yet glorious story, of beliefs, religious convictions, love,family, in an arena of distruction and death. Historically sound with an amazing account of the battle for the Heights at Fredricksburg.

User review rating: 0 February 21, 2003


Change Location