Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.91 / 5

User rating: 3.91

Based on 120 votes and 40 reviews


  • User rating: 3.91 45.45%
  • User rating: 3.91 23.64%
  • User rating: 3.91 12.73%
  • User rating: 3.91 12.73%
  • User rating: 3.91 5.45%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 40

User review rating: 2 July 13, 2012

beginning was good, definitely slowed down. the child actor overacted and it became very annoying. agreed with the other commenter, could have been three separate stories...couldn't sit through it in one viewing.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2012

an excellent movie with a very unique and touching story. brilliant acting by the young boy!

User review rating: 2 April 23, 2012

very slow and boring. the 1st half hour was interesting. this could have been a short story, maybe 1 of 3 stories involving 9/11. reviews here are very misleading.

User review rating: 5 March 17, 2012

incredible movie!!! such a touching story brought to life by young thomas horn and all the other actors ... deeply touching from beginning to end (bring a box of tissues!) ...

User review rating: 5 March 16, 2012

much better than i expected. actually i wasn't sure what to expect really. it showed through a child so many things wrong with why we disconnect with each other for human social relations, be those totally afar off, or even those so close, that we are all strangers to each other, that we seem to be taught out of 'fear' for 'safety' that we have the license to maintain 'estrangement'. and that we end up oblivious to why things happen to us, and so many things never get fully resolved (such is life and death) and the grieving process of any big loss in life. worth the see. i cried so many times.

User review rating: 4 February 23, 2012

i found this film quite melancholy - it isn't about 9/11 but takes place on 9/11 so it's in the background throughout. maybe that's what makes it sad for me. great acting by the kid, though. i remember him from jeopardy!

User review rating: 0 February 14, 2012

i have mixed feelings about the movie. i was annoyed with the leading child actor (don't know his name). i think the movie had great potential but something was amiss.

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2012

don't go if you want fluff. this is a powerful movie about grief and recovery, and how sorrow and joy don't exist in a vacuum from each other.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2012

outstanding performances, depicts losing a parent very well, it's a nice change that we finally see a movie about a child and what the children went through after 9/11. best movie i have seen in a very long time.

User review rating: 2 February 07, 2012

couldn't stand it... very slow moving.. the premise for the story was not convincing and did not even make sense - and the max von sydow character goes along with it all?? one of the slowest movies i have ever seen, though some of the ideas the tom hanks character shared with his son were interesting.

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2012

loved it a great movie

User review rating: 1 February 05, 2012

9/11 is still a sensitive subject to portray on film and there can be a good movie made out of looking at the grief. it should not have been treated like lightly, especially when dealing with the point of view. the kid was the most unpleasent kid i ever had to watch. in one scene, he said that he was tested for aspergers. i don't know whether it's worst that he does have it or not. if he does, than ask one question, suppose if this kid was suppose to represent children of the victims of 9/11, why didn't the filmmakers just make him an average child. i don't want to say "normal". why does he have to have the disability? it just comes off as a gimmick, to make the film seem "quirky" when i

User review rating: 4 February 05, 2012

i really enjoyed this film. nice performances, especially by young tom horn. i found the story multi-layered and emotional. the subject matter was sad, but ultimately up-lifting.

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2012

hanks' best since larry crowne.

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2012

two academy award nominations, including best picture!

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2012

this is a very heartfelt movie that needs to be watched from beginning to end to understand the complexity..

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2012

extremely fascinating & incredibly meaningful!

User review rating: 2 January 29, 2012

it would of been so much better without the child actor. he was very hard to identify with, and the story would of been much better with a regular child to better bring forth the emotional and human aspects of this film.

User review rating: 4 January 26, 2012

i thoroughly enjoyed this movie. the star thomas horn did a wonderful job in this film!

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2012

if your looking for light feel good hanks / bullock entertainment, this isn't it, however t is a very good and at times, gut wrenching, movie about an extremely intelligent boy with asbergers syndrome (?), trying to come to terms with the loss of his father, who died in the twin towers on 9/11. he goes on a quest to find a message from his dad.

User review rating: 1 January 24, 2012

this movie was very slow and boring, i thought it would be so much better, but the whole movie was about the little boy crying and yelling and pinching himself. the whole movie was about a stupid key!

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2012

An awesome movie. 5stars, finally a movie with a good story line, a must see

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2012

for what it's worth, the book may be a good; the movie certainly is not. the movie depicts a little boys emotional struggle with losing a parent, having a 9/11 back drop makes the movie a gimmick.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2012

as usual, the critics are wrong. this is an excellent movie. yes, it's a slow start, but definitely picks up steam about a 1/2 hour in. judge the movie as a whole. thomas horn has a bright career ahead of him. amazing performance. this is a must-see movie.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2012

this is a fantastic movie. tomas horn is exceptional- an etraordinary performance for such a young actor.

User review rating: 3 January 21, 2012

slow

User review rating: 3 January 21, 2012

not bad. not excellent.

User review rating: 2 January 20, 2012

i wouldn't waste my money....it was too long and drug out.....for two be characters in it....thought it would be waaaay better

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2012

really moving and too real...

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2012

very good and very emotional movie

User review rating: 4 January 05, 2012

goodman in anything

User review rating: 3 January 04, 2012

Not as expected

User review rating: 4 January 03, 2012

I liked it

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2012

It has Sandra Bullock in it...need I say more?

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2012

A very touching movie about 911...Tom Hanks is great in this movie...you will cry.

User review rating: 4 January 01, 2012

Extremely good. Great actors

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2012

Loved it

User review rating: 4 January 01, 2012

Top notch!

User review rating: 0 December 22, 2011

outstanding

User review rating: 5 December 18, 2011

I can not wait to see the movie, my x husbands birthday today , he died, ten years ago, i feel sad for my four kids that have no dad, this will touch home for them too

Change Location