Elysium - User Reviews

Thank you for rating this movie!

Elysium Movie Poster

3.99 / 5

User rating: 3.99

Based on 332 votes and 133 reviews


  • User rating: 3.99 41.10%
  • User rating: 3.99 33.13%
  • User rating: 3.99 14.72%
  • User rating: 3.99 5.52%
  • User rating: 3.99 5.52%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 51 to 100 of 133

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2013

An other great performance by Matt Damon.

User review rating: 4 October 29, 2013

This was an entertaining movie with a unique story. Matt Damon shines in the starring role and Jodi Foster plays the evil one for one.

User review rating: 3 October 29, 2013

Damon's acting along with the cinematography saves the movie. The story is as compelling as a mushy wet piece of stale bread. Completely uninteresting story line bores you to tears

User review rating: 4 October 29, 2013

Matt Damon and Jodie Foster were both amazing (always have loved Jodie Foster). The show was different in a way of story line which was interesting. The fight scenes had too much movement to the point of being nauseating. So if you have issues with vertigo or too much movement this movie may not be for you but the movie was good other than that.

User review rating: 5 October 29, 2013

I was never a huge Matt Damon fan but after seeing this I am now!!! Awesome movie!!

User review rating: 4 October 29, 2013

Good acting, good action. Fun! I enjoyed Jodie Foster's accent.

User review rating: 2 October 01, 2013

I almost walked out; there were so many plot holes it's ridiculous. Started laughing a lot toward the end. Pretty disappointed.

User review rating: 5 September 23, 2013

Overall a nice surprise, some holes, but they did not take away from this enjoyable flick.

User review rating: 4 September 11, 2013

Not as emotionally compelling as District 9, Elysium is more summer blockbuster than I was hoping for from Blomkamp but is a well exexcuted film. Damon gives a solid performance, Foster is believable if annoying as the icy rich snob and most of all Sharlto Copeley steals the spotlight as a crazed bounty hunter. The music manipulates the mood, which I didn't like but the action scenes are really enjoyable with some nice big shootouts and fights

User review rating: 4 September 10, 2013

I really enjoyed this movie. It reminded me of Gattaca which is one of my favourites. I wasn't sure if Matt Damon could pull off a cyborg, but he did. Some plot holes, but I loved the action. I wasn't sure what would happen next.

User review rating: 2 September 07, 2013

Some nice f/x... this is on par with Johnny Mnemonic (1995) in terms of directing, story-telling; they rely heavily on trying to wow the audience with CGI, but it gets boring after a while because the story's so lame. Most of the time, it's simply a fighting scene with people being blown up by grenades. They go more for gore factor toward the end. Jodie Foster is a complete waste of talent in this one. Really, I think it's just another one of those lame sic-fi short show pieces for Vancouver post production talent (think I-Robot), which means you'll get very little substance in the actual production.

User review rating: 5 August 27, 2013

Great movie. One man's sacrifice to save all mankind. Reminds me of Jesus.

User review rating: 4 August 26, 2013

Good story and great effects. A few of the action scenes were a bit hard to follow, and also some of the foul language seemed "out of place" for this kind of movie. I don't know why, and I personally am not offended by such language, but it just didn't seem to fit with the whole look and mood of the movie. Oh well, it was still a very cool movie to watch! I look forward to seeing this director's movies in the future as I also really liked District 9 a lot.

User review rating: 3 August 25, 2013

Good movie but not for me!

User review rating: 5 August 25, 2013

Action-packed sci-fi

User review rating: 5 August 24, 2013

I loved this movie. It was the bomb. Matt don is so cool as he slowly gets his memory back and realizes he's a super bada$$ secret agent. I think the cameo by Ben Affleck was the biggest surprise at the end (spoilers!!!?!LOL) I would tohtslly go see his moie again but my mom doesn't even slinks I saw it the first te she thinks we saw Planes.

User review rating: 5 August 23, 2013

Very entertaining,well done! Matt Damon did an awesome job! Excellent movie!

User review rating: 4 August 20, 2013

the camera was a little shaky but effects were good and I like LA in the future but did anyone get the ending I left to go to the washroom?

User review rating: 4 August 20, 2013

I haven't seen the movie yet but seen the trailer it looks good I might go see it today but is there lots of swearing?

User review rating: 4 August 20, 2013

good show.. don't listen to the bad reviews go see it and decide for your self...

User review rating: 2 August 19, 2013

awefull way too much shaky camera. this will be the last movie i see from this director...

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2013

Overall good science fiction movie. Camera shaking was a bit annoying and some spoken dialoge was difficult to understand.

User review rating: 3 August 17, 2013

I wasn’t going into this movie with any expectations. It wasn’t on my list of movies to see but I was asked to go, so I went. Overall, It was a decent movie. Lots of action, effects and CG were good, acting was average and the concept was neat. The story line was a little on the weaker side and predictable. I was entertained for the most part.

User review rating: 3 August 17, 2013

Good effects I am so so on the movie

User review rating: 5 August 17, 2013

I find it funny when people get upset when they see a movie they don't like.$h!t happens.You do have a trailer to see...Anyhow it was well done in most parts.I hear there is a remake of Bambi coming up for those who may think this too violent...

User review rating: 2 August 15, 2013

A movie with a story that only an activist would love. Rich people build an Eden with machines that heal any illness and they don't market it on earth and make a killing? Riiiiight. Contrived plot and no character development as they are too busy preaching socialism. That's 2 hours I'll never get back.

User review rating: 5 August 15, 2013

Great movie. Good message about the divide of the rich and poor. Good mix of story and action. Matt Damon and Sharlto Coplay are the ones who bring this film to life.

User review rating: 5 August 14, 2013

Loved the depiction of LA in the future... and draws many parallels with issues today. Going to see it again today!

User review rating: 4 August 14, 2013

Watch it last night (cheap Tuesday). Loved it. The futuristic idea is great. The story could have been better. It deserves a 4 star!

User review rating: 1 August 13, 2013

plot is so flawed. Elysium had the most advanced technology but it couldn't fight off handful of intruders. main antagonist was a mad Russian who could barely speak English. Jodie Foster's character never got developed..list goes on. huge disappointment

User review rating: 5 August 13, 2013

Excellent visuals and story. Some interesting concepts, overall well executed. Must see!

User review rating: 2 August 13, 2013

Boring, I just about fell asleep at one point. The story wasn't developed enough to make you care about any of the characters.

User review rating: 5 August 13, 2013

It was excellent.Great acting of course from Matt Damon and Jodie Foster. The story was very well executed, a little more violence and bad language than I prefer but excellent never the less

User review rating: 2 August 13, 2013

disappointing - the action sequences were okay, but plot seemed quite contrived (simple software program reboot, 10m to make would change the whole station?) . Also, performances mostly leaden, particularly foster. Stank a bit too much with political statements to make , as well.

User review rating: 4 August 12, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed it. I found the dialogue and the characters more believable than the over-produced slick big-budget movies usually have. I liked the commentary it made out the haves and the have-nots...a very timely movie. A good mix of drama and action. Would definitely see again!

User review rating: 4 August 12, 2013

I loved the action sequences, and there was a solid story line to follow. It's too bad that some scenes were shot in near focus so that the background and scenery was blurry.

User review rating: 5 August 12, 2013

Amazing movie and the storyline regarding the human condition is so relevant to what's happening already in the world in terms of social injustice. A must-see!

User review rating: 5 August 11, 2013

GREAT MOVIE. I ENJOYED.

User review rating: 5 August 11, 2013

BESTTTTTTT A++++++++

User review rating: 5 August 11, 2013

Since you cannot give 1/2 stars like 4.5, I have started to round up instead. Plot was very good, and enjoyed the "look at the future" in terms of futuristic travel and living conditions.

User review rating: 0 August 11, 2013

Kept me on the edge of my seat, would go again.

User review rating: 0 August 11, 2013

It disappointed me. The imagery was lovely, but the plot and the writing was not to my taste.

User review rating: 1 August 11, 2013

Save your money.

User review rating: 1 August 10, 2013

Bad

User review rating: 2 August 10, 2013

This movie is a big disappointment. Check out Jodi Foster's french accent, it's laughable.

User review rating: 4 August 10, 2013

Better than expected for a dystopia movie.

User review rating: 3 August 10, 2013

I don't know what all the fuss is about. It's a summer film with action. That's all.

User review rating: 3 August 10, 2013

The movie was entertaining. the story is not that original and the action was not bad but limited and not as good as other movies. Overall entertaining but I expected more.

User review rating: 5 August 09, 2013

Great film. Copley's performance really stands out. Amon who score the music did very well for his first big movie. Keep up this style of movie.

User review rating: 4 August 09, 2013

Rate: 4.5 It was quite good, and entertaining both for its plot, as well as its futuristic elements.

  Change Location