Capote

Thank you for rating this movie!

Capote Movie Poster

3.84 / 5

User rating: 3.84

Based on 459 votes and 30 reviews


  • User rating: 3.84 50.37%
  • User rating: 3.84 19.40%
  • User rating: 3.84 8.58%
  • User rating: 3.84 7.09%
  • User rating: 3.84 14.55%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 30 of 30

User review rating: 0 April 01, 2008

Brilliant! Hoffman hasn't been this good since RAIN MAN!

User review rating: 0 June 01, 2006

i fell asleep about an hour into it. and it was day time. it was honestly the most boring movie i have ever seen in my life!!!

User review rating: 0 March 28, 2006

Acting by all was awesome...Hoffman was amazing, the performance of his career. Only gave it 4 stars because it was slow for the first hour.

User review rating: 0 March 18, 2006

A WONDEFUL movie, excellent acting by both Collins Jr and Hoffman

User review rating: 0 March 17, 2006

Once you got past Capote`s way of speaking and became involved in the the story itself it was an excellent movie. It left the audience wondering about the real Capote and how it all ended for him. A movie that was over before you knew it except for the endless commercials before the movie.

User review rating: 0 March 15, 2006

I thought that it was not a very good depiciton of a gay man and his secret lover.

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2006

Capote is kaput except for one guy`s acting ability, but who needs that?

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2006

Thoughtful movie. Tough message to protray, but it was well executed. Recommend the movie.

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2006

Was a good movie with great acting! Felt like it was a 3hrs. and it was only 2hrs. Definitely recommend it but not after a late night dinner. Tried to keep our eyes open and stop yawning the whole time!!

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2006

Wow. What a boring movie. PSH is a great actor, but I don`t understand why they had to make this movie so drawn out and slow. I can understand them trying to capture the reality of the writer`s experience while he wrote his book, but THIS IS A MOVIE. Not a HOME MOVIE. It is like someone just took really boring clips from Capote`s life and threw it together to make a film. This movie reminds me of `In The Bedroom`. Another movie with huge critical acclaim. Who talks about that movie any longer? Nobody. This will be the same thing with Capote in 4 years. Nobody will remember it.

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2006

it was a good movie but moved way too slow

User review rating: 0 February 06, 2006

Being old enough to remember Capote`s book if not the actual crimes I found the movie fantastic. I could not keep my eyes off PSH`s remarkable and convincing portrayal of the late author and eccentric. I thought Leo DiCaprio captured Hughes well but by comparison PSH`s job was top drawer (and I love Leo!!!) The supporting cast all did their roles brilliantly and supported the main character. I especially enjoyed Chris Cooper`s role. I could have watched another 2 hours and not been bored. OSCAR AWAITS!!!

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2006

AT LAST , A THINKING PERSON`S TYPE OF MOVIE THAT SUSTAINED MY INTEREST THROUGHOUT !

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2006

This was the most boring movie I`ve seen in a long time. Fell asleep during the show. Watching paint dry would be more entertaining. Couldn`t hear a lot of what was being said. Can`t imagine how it rates an Oscar!

User review rating: 0 January 29, 2006

Hoffman will and should win the Oscar. If you like an intellegent movie go out and buy a ticket!!!

User review rating: 0 January 29, 2006

fantastic, unbelievable acting.

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2006

Excellent job by all the cast members, especially by PSH, who really gave Capote an excellent sense of depth by portraying a man who was deeply affected by his research. The film does an excellent job of recounting the events of his life during those six years he spent researching and writing the book that obviously took a toll on Capote as an author and as an individual.

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2006

If you are having a bout of insomnia, i recommend watching this movie.

User review rating: 0 January 17, 2006

So boring...the movie made me fall asleep. Heath Ledger should have won BEST ACTOR at the Golden Globes. The movie sort of revolves only on Seymour Hoffman. All the other actors weren`t famous at all. Who`s Clifton Collins Jr.?

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2006

Totally engrossing, Brilliant acting. Perfect dialog.

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2006

One of the best movies that has been released in months!

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2006

An amazing performance by an amazing actor whom we don`t see often enough. Do read the book "In Cold Blood" or maybe see the original movie - especially those of you who thought this movie boring. I read the book as a teenager some 16 years after the event so I wasn`t aware of the effect it had on the writer (Capote) and that is why I thought this storey was so fascinating - watching the process and now knowing the outcome. Five Stars!

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2005

Anyone who thinks this is "boring" should return to John Wayne. Hoffman is a gifted portrayist. He captures not only the person of Capote perfectly, right down to the nervous twitch in the upper lip, but also his inner struggle between honesty and rapatious success. Good film that should be seen. Some other very good supporting character acting.

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2005

Beautifully acted and directed. Anyone who finds this film boring should just stick to watching Much Music videos.

User review rating: 0 December 17, 2005

An incredibly boring picture. I`m not an artsy movie watcher, but I only went to see it at the Film Festival because I like Philip Hoffman`s acting but this is his most lifeless film ever. Save your money for something else

User review rating: 0 December 16, 2005

The lead actor not only captures the subtle eccentricities of the character, but also sheds light on the characters passion and sensitivity for the people he loves, and the work that he does... without a doubt and Oscar-worthy performance...

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2005

B O R R I N G !!!!!! Philip Seymour Hoffman is a fine actor, but in this vehicle he is just another "Rich Little" impressionist.

User review rating: 0 November 14, 2005

A gripping, fast moving movie with several potential Oscar winning performances. Minimalist settings with strong credible performances evokes pity for the felons as well as Capote himself. Not a movie for those seeking something uplifting, it is a movie for those who really want something of which to ponder afdterwards. A great show!

User review rating: 0 November 10, 2005

It`s nice to see a biographical picture that focuses specifically on the events that made the subject interesting rather than including life spanning scenes which seem to appear solely out of a sense of obligation

User review rating: 0 October 30, 2005

Capote will be nominated for several Oscars, including Phillip Seymour Hoffman for Best Actor. This was an incredibly moving movie. For those of us who were teenagers when the Clutter family murders occurred, this will resonate far more deeply than for younger people. This was a major event that signalled to many of us the "The good guys didn`t always win". Capote does an incredible job capturings the feelings of that era. Beautiffuly done!!

Change Location