Bitter Harvest

Thank you for rating this movie!

Bitter Harvest Movie Poster

4.61 / 5

User rating: 4.61

Based on 106 votes and 25 reviews

  • User rating: 4.61 82.35%
  • User rating: 4.61 7.84%
  • User rating: 4.61 1.96%
  • User rating: 4.61 3.92%
  • User rating: 4.61 3.92%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 25 of 25

User review rating: 4 April 30, 2017

LOVED IT,,,,,i wrote it!! Richard Bachynsky Hoover ,,thanks to all,,87% aaudiences are loving it with high regards and respecting the film makers ,,Ukraine in tears so emotional as they see it deeper than non Ukrainians perhaps ,,that says it all ,,so trust the Ukrainians and learn what you might be afraid to learn because critics say this or that,,bottom feeder anti Ukrainian left wingers maybe ? See it ,,review here ill be watching your replies Thank You,,God Bless Ukraine ,,Richard Bachynsky Hoover in Ukraine from Canada.lotta hard sweat and work breaking ice on this finally,,Holodomor Victims deserve it and Ukraine first of all,,Resects to all on this page blowing wind into our film project !

User review rating: 0 March 22, 2017

Loved it

User review rating: 5 March 15, 2017

A must see

User review rating: 5 March 14, 2017

Highly recommended! Best movie I've seen in years! It had good action, romance, drama. You know a movie is very good when "Rotten Tomatoes" movie review website audience score is 4.2 out of 5 stars with 1,066 reviews. Newsweek review stated: "An important movie everyone should see".

User review rating: 5 March 11, 2017

Absolutely must see movie. All my family enjoyed it and would recommend to all my friends. This is a piece of art: Actors are great, historical scenes, a stunning work of all the team

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2017

A must see

User review rating: 1 March 07, 2017

This movie is terrible. The horror of holodomor is not shown objectively and the sole purpose of Stalin's regime appears to be suppress Ukraine's desire for independence. Unfortunately for the movie, it was an issue of class rather than nationality. Stalin's regime left a lot of examples of successfully destroying cultures it did not like. Read the stories of Russian Germans, Koreans or Tatars. It killed or relocated anyone who did not agree or could resist. In Soviet Union, individual farmers were considered dangerous and Ukrainian strong agricultural roots were something Stalin was eager to get rid of by starving millions of innocent people to death.

User review rating: 4 March 06, 2017

Very powerful, moving movie. The atrocities that were depicted were difficult at times to watch but needed to be seen. The mass genocide that transpired in 1932-1933 was a horrific act by the Soviets against the Ukrainian people.

User review rating: 2 March 05, 2017

This story needed to be told. The Bolsheviks did mercilessly starve and execute thousands of Ukrainians under Lenin and then with a greater vengeance under Stalin but this movie loses its focuses by becoming a love story with excessive special effects and violence. The director and writers should have spent some time studying the artistic elements of "Schindler's List" before they made this film. The story is sad and shocking which it should be, but the acting and the script were weak and undermined the message of the film. I wanted to give this film a better rating but it really did seem to be amateurish. The young actors were not competent.

User review rating: 5 March 05, 2017

Hugely informative about this historical event that did not receive world wide attention for the last 80 or so years. It was sheltered from the international press. Reminds me of the movie REDS where a journalist was able to get into Russia and Ukraine but was not able to publish any of what she experienced there. Blindly, pro-communism was popular at the time.

User review rating: 5 March 04, 2017

Very well done movie! At times disturbing, however this was what they endured.Last night I took my father (93) and his friend (95). They both survived this tragedy in Ukraine. One of their many comments was that not only food was withheld from them, but also livestock and horses were taken.

User review rating: 5 March 04, 2017

Saw it last night. It was FANTASTIC! I was moved to tears and found the movie was very well done! Bravo!!

User review rating: 5 March 03, 2017

Highly recommend!

User review rating: 5 March 03, 2017

Why isnt this being taught in schools? I had no idea that the Russians killed so many people

User review rating: 5 March 01, 2017

It touched my heart very deeply as this movie about my nation .This movie opens the reality of starvation in Ukraine and shows how strong we are. We're still fighting for that freedom ,hope this movie will open the eyes of whole World and help us to get that freedom . Thanks for all who made this movie

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2017

Trailer looks good. Would like to see where and when it is playing.

User review rating: 5 February 26, 2017

I highly recommend this movie. A love story taking place during a horrific tragedy in Ukraine's history. A must see.

User review rating: 5 February 26, 2017

Excellent! This film finally depicts the horrors of this era that connect to the horrors Ukraine experiences today. Bitter Harvest is a movie no one will ever forget. It is time for the world to understand the times of the Holodomor. A must see for all.

User review rating: 5 February 26, 2017

A live story spun around the great Soviet crime of the holodomor. The intentional ruthless starvation of millions of Ukrainians for the sole purpose of subjugating a nation to the will of Stalin's communism . A must see movie.

User review rating: 5 February 25, 2017

Excellent. It is high time this barbarism was brought out to the consciousness of the world!

User review rating: 5 February 25, 2017

Excellent! Highly recommend!

User review rating: 5 February 25, 2017

The World should know the truth !

User review rating: 5 February 23, 2017

Great eye opener!The World should now the truth about the past that the tragedy would never happen in the future!

User review rating: 5 February 23, 2017

For a Hollywood epic dramatization, the movie's backdrop depicts a tragic period of history with good accuracy. The story is moving and well told and provides a subtext for today's current events.

User review rating: 1 February 23, 2017

Just propaganda

Change Location