Beginners

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.88 / 5

User rating: 3.88

Based on 220 votes and 49 reviews


  • User rating: 3.88 27.36%
  • User rating: 3.88 38.68%
  • User rating: 3.88 28.30%
  • User rating: 3.88 5.66%
  • User rating: 3.88 0.00%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 49 of 49

User review rating: 5 March 02, 2016

Goran Visnjic has a small appearance, but the film is organized as a progression of interconnected flashbacks. Taking after the demise of his dad Hal, Oliver thinks about their relationship taking after the passing of Oliver's mom, Georgia. Not long after her demise, Hal turned out to his child and started investigating life as a straightforwardly gay man. He gets to be dynamic in the gay group, discovers love and turns out to be more legit with himself and with his child.

User review rating: 5 December 22, 2015

Beginners may look shallow, but I'm trying to convince you that it is actually a great movie. Ewan McGregor, Goran Visnjic, Christopher Plummer... they all make a great acting crew without which this movie wouldn't have been this fun, exciting and possible. I know that the subject is not really going to be according to everybody's taste, but hey no movie is perfect, right? Following the moving scenes that can touch anybody, you will start to understand why this movie is great and underrated in the same time.

User review rating: 4 May 14, 2012

i really loved this movie. great characters, words not wasted. this is a thought provoking film, so it is not for all. christopher plumber was wonderful.

User review rating: 3 January 05, 2012

Good movie. Plummer gives one of his best performances, as does McGregor

User review rating: 3 January 03, 2012

Good movie, with many emotional moments with some surprising comical overaly.

User review rating: 4 October 27, 2011

A wonderful movie about life!

User review rating: 4 October 26, 2011

surprisingly good,excellent sound track

User review rating: 3 October 25, 2011

I only think that this movie only deserves a three star rating.

User review rating: 5 October 24, 2011

A very good movie.

User review rating: 3 October 23, 2011

Poetic but dull.

User review rating: 5 October 23, 2011

Just love the action

User review rating: 4 October 22, 2011

Pretty good movie, overall good story line.

User review rating: 4 October 20, 2011

Touching movie. Slow parts.

User review rating: 5 August 08, 2011

I adored this quiet but mighty film. The casting is perfection. I love a director that trusts the audience enough to not spell out every little detail. People are complicated.

User review rating: 4 August 04, 2011

Lots of warm characters to appreciate in this movie!

User review rating: 4 August 04, 2011

A little slow, but picks up in the middle...very moving!

User review rating: 3 August 04, 2011

it was ok

User review rating: 3 August 03, 2011

It was a slow movie..needed more dialogue between father and son, as the talking dog takes the best lines!

User review rating: 3 August 02, 2011

Engaging movie and well done.

User review rating: 4 August 01, 2011

Great cast! Worth seeing.

User review rating: 4 August 01, 2011

slow and sad, but there are moments that connect the viewers.

User review rating: 4 July 31, 2011

Very charming film

User review rating: 4 July 31, 2011

A truly insperational movie, that both me and my girlfriend enjoyed!

User review rating: 3 July 30, 2011

Fun,great cast,and the talking dog steals the show!

User review rating: 5 July 28, 2011

Quiet, senstive and thoughtful. I loved this artist masterpiece. Have always loved Ewan and of course, could watch Plummer read the phone book. No surprise that we care about the very human plight they both experience. Saw it with my mother and she felt the same way.

User review rating: 3 July 27, 2011

I think this movie was well made and I gave it a three star rating.

User review rating: 3 July 26, 2011

It was okay..would have liked more of father and son relationship to be developped

User review rating: 4 July 25, 2011

Christopher Plummer is super as usual. This is sad, funny, well written drama. I very much enjoyed it.

User review rating: 4 July 22, 2011

I loved this movie because it actually told a story without all the flash and 3D of today. Christopher Plummer was a amazing as always. A great movie for adults.

User review rating: 4 July 21, 2011

A lovely film with great acting by Ewan McGregor, Melanie Laurent, and Christopher Plummer. Sad but very touching. For serious film lovers.

User review rating: 2 July 21, 2011

The movie moves too slow and simply drags.

User review rating: 4 July 20, 2011

Smart,funny,witty...a little slow at times..the talking dog steals the scenes!

User review rating: 3 July 20, 2011

Ok

User review rating: 2 July 20, 2011

not bad

User review rating: 4 July 18, 2011

VERY GOOD!

User review rating: 3 July 17, 2011

Just ok

User review rating: 4 July 17, 2011

GOOD

User review rating: 4 July 16, 2011

Christopher Plummer is great here

User review rating: 3 July 15, 2011

The movie drags and simply move too slow.

User review rating: 4 July 15, 2011

GOOD

User review rating: 4 July 14, 2011

Christopher Plummer has his movie roles in years, and Ewan McGregor is great in his supporting role.

User review rating: 3 July 14, 2011

Not a bad movie at all.

User review rating: 5 July 13, 2011

"Beginners," is the most gentle and intimate film I have seen in quite some time. This is a lovely story about learning how to begin accepting things into your life.

User review rating: 5 July 12, 2011

By far the best movie I have seen so far this year. Amazingly clever and cute.

User review rating: 3 July 12, 2011

I think it's a all right movie for some people but not for me.

User review rating: 2 July 11, 2011

Performances were good but script was slow and boring.

User review rating: 4 July 10, 2011

Following the death of his father - on the heels of learning he's gay and has a young lover - Oliver [Ewan McGregor] has to come to terms with his inability to form a lasting relationship when he meets Anna [Melanie Laurent] and begins to fall in love. The movie skips around as Oliver's memories flitter between his childhood and his father's life as a freshly come out of the closet 75-year old gay man. Collages of what the sun/history/nature looks like at various points add whimsey as Oliver explores his relationship with his father, pre and post his coming out coming. The film ends, logically enough and emotionaly appropriately, with a beginning. Christopher Plummer is Oscar®-worth

User review rating: 3 July 09, 2011

a good "artsy" movie,however a little long and characters not developed.

User review rating: 2 July 03, 2011

Painfully dull. I expected a bit of humour, a dash of flair. Nope. Deadly. Actors worked hard witht the script. What this needed was pacing and wit. Dragged on and on and on.

Change Location