Barney's Version

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.13 / 5

User rating: 4.13

Based on 558 votes and 182 reviews


  • User rating: 4.13 32.71%
  • User rating: 4.13 50.56%
  • User rating: 4.13 14.50%
  • User rating: 4.13 1.49%
  • User rating: 4.13 0.74%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 182

User review rating: 4 October 13, 2011

Very well done. Great perfomance by Giamatti...oscar nomination worthy in my view.

User review rating: 5 October 09, 2011

Best of the year!

User review rating: 4 August 23, 2011

A beautiful movie, well acted , directed and written. A gem of a movie.

User review rating: 4 August 11, 2011

very good movie that is held together by the amazing performances by virtually everyone in the film...especially giammati and hoffman.

User review rating: 4 July 31, 2011

Good movie! The truth is stranger than fiction.

User review rating: 4 July 25, 2011

great movie.

User review rating: 4 June 30, 2011

excellent movie!!! one of the better movies I've seen in recent years. Smart, funny and moving. Giammatti was great, as was Hoofman and Rose Pike.

User review rating: 3 June 09, 2011

Very emotional and worthwhile movie.

User review rating: 4 June 06, 2011

this movie is good

User review rating: 3 May 14, 2011

good movie...bring tissues

User review rating: 4 May 09, 2011

One of the most moving movies I've seen in years. Excellent film.

User review rating: 4 May 02, 2011

Great movie - the characters were so compelling and heartbreaking. I loved Paul Giamatti's portrayal of Barney.

User review rating: 4 April 26, 2011

Loved it!!!

User review rating: 4 April 20, 2011

Brilliant movie - amazing performances..Loved Dustin Hoffman in this flick.

User review rating: 4 April 14, 2011

LOVED IT!!!!!!!

User review rating: 4 April 11, 2011

Really good movie!!!! All the actors were amazing in brining this calssic novel to life.

User review rating: 4 April 07, 2011

Very well done movie; enjoyable!

User review rating: 5 April 06, 2011

A great movie

User review rating: 5 April 04, 2011

This is a wonderful story and a perfect tribute to Mordecai Richler.

User review rating: 5 April 04, 2011

Excellent movie

User review rating: 4 April 04, 2011

nice movie

User review rating: 4 March 31, 2011

Very touching and funny in parts

User review rating: 4 March 29, 2011

ENJOYED

User review rating: 3 March 28, 2011

very funny and entertaining movie. Despite seemingly a bit too long, the movie delivers in the end. Great performances by Giammatti, Hoffman and Pike.

User review rating: 5 March 27, 2011

acting was superb, interesting story

User review rating: 0 March 26, 2011

One of the best movies I've seen this year. Great story. Some twists. Some sexual tension. Great characters. You laugh, cry and even gasp. Need I say more?

User review rating: 5 March 24, 2011

Excellent movie

User review rating: 5 March 24, 2011

Great movie

User review rating: 4 March 22, 2011

Great movie with outstanding performances!

User review rating: 3 March 21, 2011

Could have used someone other than Paul Giamatti.....

User review rating: 3 March 21, 2011

Dustin Hoffman was the only character I could work up much interest in or sympathy for and he only appeared briefly. Maybe if they'd gotten another actor to play Barney as a young man it would have been a bit more believable. Hard to enjoy a movie when the main character is such a jerk.

User review rating: 5 March 21, 2011

Loved this movie

User review rating: 5 March 21, 2011

WOnderful movie and did the book proud

User review rating: 5 March 21, 2011

Should have been nominated. Hoffman was awesome

User review rating: 3 March 21, 2011

Good movie, albeit a bit slow and dull at times. Very good, yet sad ending. I enjoyed it!

User review rating: 4 March 17, 2011

Very emotional, heartfelt movie. Brilliant performances. Dustin Hioffman deserved an oscar nomination for his portrayal of Barney's father. A very good movie.

User review rating: 4 March 17, 2011

Good story, keeps you guessing.

User review rating: 4 March 15, 2011

very entertaining movie about life, love and all the problems we create.....amazing performances by the entire cast, especially Giammatti and Pike.

User review rating: 4 March 14, 2011

Very good movie - deserved an oscar nomination, but for reasons I don't understand, it didn't get one - did people really think Winter's Bone was better than this??

User review rating: 4 March 14, 2011

Excellent movie!

User review rating: 3 March 14, 2011

A very good movie. At times, the movie was sad, funny, gross and disturbing. Great perforamcne by Giamatti...also, really strong and surprising performances by Scott Speedman, Rachel Lefebvre, Minnie Driver and Hoffman. A very good movie - GO CANADA.

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2011

Absolutely wonderful film. I would go back at see it again!

User review rating: 4 March 13, 2011

great acting, good script

User review rating: 5 March 10, 2011

This movie is fabulous, it was totally ignored by the Oscars, all the stars did a great job, and the locations were top notch.

User review rating: 4 March 06, 2011

Barney's version may not be the right one but the movie is

User review rating: 3 March 04, 2011

Interesting view of character

User review rating: 4 March 02, 2011

the movie is good and funny

User review rating: 4 March 01, 2011

Shows what Canada can do

User review rating: 5 February 28, 2011

This was a very moving film that turned out to be perhaps less funny and more serious than expected, but certainly for the better. The actors all deliver incredibly realistic performances and the Oscar-nominated make-up is also worthy of praise. Go see this movie if you want to have some thoughts provoked.

User review rating: 3 February 25, 2011

we all enjoyed this movie!

Change Location