Thank you for rating this movie!

Amy Movie Poster

4.57 / 5

User rating: 4.57

Based on 18 votes and 8 reviews

  • User rating: 4.57 71.43%
  • User rating: 4.57 14.29%
  • User rating: 4.57 14.29%
  • User rating: 4.57 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.57 0.00%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 8 of 8

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2016

I watched it twice and have been recommending it. Even if you're not a fan of her music, you'll be engrossed with the true story of her life.

User review rating: 5 August 10, 2015

Best movie I've seen this year! I cried in more than one place. The director Asif Kapadia, pastes together existing footage, much on hand-held camera, to create a patchwork of Amy's life. The story is told in chronological order and knowing the ending as most of us surely do, only adds to the poignancy. And there are moments that are uneasy to watch. For instance there are scenes when she is hounded and chased by paperazi; yet there I was in my seat, rubber-necking, watching intimate details of her life as it fell apart. Other uneasy moments include comedians telling cruel jokes when Amy went through low periods in her life. There is lots of Amy's music in the film. And it is beautiful. In conclusion it is a movie that plucks at your heartstrings, and you can't help but feel an abundance of affection for Winehouse by the time the titles roll.

User review rating: 5 August 02, 2015

Absolute best bio-documentary I've ever seen. The original footage, which is throughout is amazing. A tragic conclusion to a truly talented life. Could Amy's life have been saved ? Who's to blame ?

User review rating: 0 July 31, 2015

Nowhere have. I read that this film was shot by hand held camera....thus making me dizzy. It should be noted somewhere. Also , the sound with the accents was hard to follow and if it hadn't been (sometimes) written on the screen , wouldn't have understood anything. Left early.

User review rating: 4 July 24, 2015

This was a great bio-pic of the immensely talented Amy Winehouse. As a fan, it was great to understand the source of her lyrics, as it related to what was going on in her life at the time. We saw it on the anniversary of her passing and it was a great tribute. Well done!

User review rating: 5 July 16, 2015

Excellent presentation of such a very sad life.

User review rating: 5 July 15, 2015

Excellent biopic. Kudos to director Asif Kapadia. Does justice both to the artist and singer, and helps us to understand her struggles with addictions. Her songs speak her story throughout the screening. She was born with the soul of a jazz singer inside her and the innocence and bewilderment of a child . It is well worth watching and profoundly impacting. A must-see for all aficionados and movie buffs. It was a pleasure to watch.

User review rating: 0 July 11, 2015

I've plowed through books by Mackenzie Phillips, Chuck Negron and Nikki Sixx to avoid the "she was young what a tragedy" scenario this doc presents. Instead you get to meet all the people who enabled her downfall. They even plaster their names and titles on the bottom of the screen for you. Two hours of people saying "I didn't do it" - even the letter from the record company exec was a clue of how everyone was feeding off of Amy - plus ca change plus c'est la meme chose....even in the jazz industry.You get the feeling all the home video on Amy was purposeful....for the doc after her death. Book to follow? Alchoholic Amy: The Musical? It takes a village to raise a child...and in this case, a village to murder one. rating: 7 out of 10 advice: wait for the DVD release and enjoy the extras and special features.

Change Location