American Gangster

Thank you for rating this movie!

American Gangster Movie Poster

2.80 / 5

User rating: 2.80

Based on 1778 votes and 129 reviews


  • User rating: 2.80 35.04%
  • User rating: 2.80 8.21%
  • User rating: 2.80 4.74%
  • User rating: 2.80 5.66%
  • User rating: 2.80 46.35%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 129

User review rating: 4 May 18, 2011

Awesome movie....Outstanding performances!

User review rating: 4 May 01, 2010

COOL MOVIE - Crowe and Denzel are great together

User review rating: 0 March 30, 2009

This was a great movie with an amazing cast. denzel and russell did an awesome job working together to re-create the story of one of the biggest drug lords the US has ever seen. plus it was a great topic for my US history paper.

User review rating: 0 October 30, 2008

i love the movie always watch it.

User review rating: 0 September 30, 2008

awesome movie that is felt from start to finish!!! absolutely BREATHLESS

User review rating: 0 April 28, 2008

Awesome

User review rating: 0 March 19, 2008

American Gangster was a great film.

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2008

this had to be the best movie i have watched in a long time. i would encoourage anyone to go see this movie. it will definetly be one of the best movies ever made

User review rating: 0 March 03, 2008

I loved it, was shocked as to how they did things.

User review rating: 0 February 22, 2008

Found it very slow-paced, and long..although there are some good scenes overall American Gangster was just straight out BORING! I'd give it a 2!

User review rating: 0 February 10, 2008

awful

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2008

This is probably the most generic and boring gangster movie I have ever seen. I was hoping for something far better from such a great ensemble.

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2008

Wow. This movie is so deeply affecting on so many levels. I sat there during the film with my jaw on the floor. I walked out the door feeling like the air had been knocked out of my lungs. Best movie of 2007, hands down.

User review rating: 0 January 17, 2008

The movie was so violent! There was so much nudity and sex that wasnt needed to make it a good film.

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2008

Eastern Promises was a much better "ganster" film

User review rating: 0 January 11, 2008

Boring....with no sub plot.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2008

Does Denzel ever make a bad film? Great movie but not perfect - a four out of five. Enjoyed it. Worth the cost for admission. My wife anjoyed it as well. Not just a guys flick although I had to laugh at the reviewer who wanted to kill his girlfriend for asking if "it was over yet?"

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2007

excellent &interesting.... great acting...well worth seeing !!!

User review rating: 0 December 28, 2007

lots of violence, good acting,long movie

User review rating: 0 December 15, 2007

This was a great movie from start to finish!

User review rating: 0 December 08, 2007

I wanted to kill my girlfriend because she kept asking if it was over yet!

User review rating: 0 December 05, 2007

What a film, loved evey minute of it.

User review rating: 0 December 05, 2007

Nobody and i mean nobody can mess with Mr. Washington

User review rating: 0 December 02, 2007

disappointing.....for all the talent involved with this picture, it could have been a lot more involving and interesting.....and a lot less long

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2007

Give me a break! Oscar worthy? Not a chance!! As good as Scar Face, Good Fella's? Not even close! Worst movie I have seen at the theatres in a long time, couldn't wait for it to be over!

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2007

This movie was BORING! I really don't know how other people can say how great it was, with microphones having over everybode through out the movie, low action, what a waste of money!

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2007

long but good.

User review rating: 0 November 27, 2007

I haven't been to a movie at the theaters for years but I'm glad that I chose American Gangster. Even tho I balked at the $10 I had to plunk down to get in it was well worth it. This movie is one of my all time favorites and I can't wait for it to come out on DVD that is a definate will buy for me. Aside from the great music it had running thru it (even the church choir was fantastic) it brought back some nice memories of the 70's with listening and watching Ali and his poetry. The movie I thought was pretty good in how that whole drug era was. The cops were just as dirty as the criminals they were "attempting" to put behind bars. Denzel Washington is always great no matter what he pla

User review rating: 0 November 25, 2007

Wow, excellent cast, excellent everything.you dont have to be over 45 to understand the plot, what might help is a desire for money and power, or the want to believe that not everyone is corrupt.who will you chear on the good guys, or the bad

User review rating: 0 November 24, 2007

The Movie Maniac sez.... GO SEE THIS FILM! This is a good gangster film. What makes it even better is that it is based on real events. See this on the big screen and add it to your collection of gangster favorites at home when the DVD hits the retail stores. The Movie Maniac

User review rating: 0 November 24, 2007

great great great

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2007

thsi is my favoruit movie of all time !!!!!

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2007

I WAS BACK IN THE DAY...DAMN GOOD SCENES.

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2007

the movie was great!!! for all those that donnot understand the plot, the real story of the movie, well you have to be older then 45 years old! Great movie *****+*=6

User review rating: 0 November 21, 2007

I couldn't even take this movie seriously with all the microphones dangling over the actors (in the scenes) throughout the movie. This was easily the funniest movie I've seen this year. Shame on the production team for allowing that to happen, I'm embarrased for them. It would have been a good movie if it didn't feel like the whole budget was spent on the two leading actors, with nothing remaining to make it look so scrub.

User review rating: 0 November 19, 2007

AWESOSME MOVIE!!

User review rating: 0 November 19, 2007

Oscar movie all the way!!! Denzel is fantastic and the supporting cast shines as well.... nice work.

User review rating: 0 November 19, 2007

AWESOME

User review rating: 0 November 19, 2007

this was by far the best movie i ever seen..scarface, godfather both great movies but fictional so they could spin tha story lines and the plot anyway they wanted but this wasnt so they had to stick to the real story...denzel was untouchable, prolly tha best actor ever...and russ crowe was killin it...17 outta 5 stars.

User review rating: 0 November 17, 2007

was the best movie

User review rating: 0 November 17, 2007

There is already a comment posted that sums this up perfectly..."I found the movie very slow paced (with a few decent action sequences). Would have made a great 90 minute movie... too bad it goes almost 3 hours" Couldn't have said it better, so I won't.

User review rating: 0 November 17, 2007

the movie was great

User review rating: 0 November 15, 2007

Denzel does his usual outstanding job as an actor. I felt a bit misled by the trailer. I found the movie very slow paced (with a few decent action sequences). Would have made a great 90 minute movie... too bad it goes almost 3 hours.

User review rating: 0 November 14, 2007

It is a fantastic movie and knowing that it is true and the persons are still living makes it much more interesting.The actors...well...all i can say is...they are the best..all around..from whom ever is involved in the total production...FANTASTIC !!!!

User review rating: 0 November 14, 2007

Wasn't a bad time waister, but did nobody else see the boom microphone in soooo many scenes Not very good for all the money spent and it means the producer doesn't care

User review rating: 0 November 14, 2007

I was disappointed by this movie, it had great acting and plot just that it was really slow, boring and long, i might be a little bias cuz i saw it in a theater with unconfortable seats but it should have been shorter, 3.5 stars

User review rating: 0 November 14, 2007

good

User review rating: 0 November 13, 2007

excellent four stars

User review rating: 0 November 12, 2007

"Oscar"for Denzel for best actor and best supporting actor for Russel.

User review rating: 0 November 12, 2007

I just loved this movie. Russel and Denzel was great.

Change Location