Ad Astra

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.49 / 5

User rating: 2.49

Based on 428 votes and 164 reviews


  • User rating: 2.49 25.13%
  • User rating: 2.49 9.74%
  • User rating: 2.49 3.08%
  • User rating: 2.49 12.82%
  • User rating: 2.49 49.23%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 51 to 100 of 164

User review rating: 5 October 01, 2019

This was a FANTASTIC Sci-Fi movie, don’t understand all the negative reviews, I almost did not go see this incredible flick because of them. This is definitely not the typical Hollywood movie for the brain-dead. This is a deep movie with a vulnerable Brad Pitt, who is emotionally dead, but is still a Bad-Axx! He has some serious PTSD and abandonment issues going on, some of the reasons are uncovered in the back story. The visual effects alone are worth seeing on the big screen, especially the first 5 minutes. One of common negative comments is that this movie violates the Laws of Physics, well so did 2001, Gravity, Star Wars, and just about every Sci-Fi movie ever made, and let’s forget about the Star Trek universe where Scotty is still turning over in his grave! This movie rocks, and is perfect if you want some intelligent Sci-Fi, but not so good if you are looking for the typical Hollywood action film garbage that’s essentially all the same. Did not find this movie boring or slow-moving in the least, it had it’s own pace, but told a good back story if you are paying attention. Will be seeing this one again on the big screen, it’s that good!

User review rating: 0 October 01, 2019

Love Sci-fi and the body of work of the principle actors, but left the theatre thinking (I was not the only one) that maybe I missed something. Upon further reflection, I have decided that the movie simply was not very good. While the desire to answer questions about the existence of other life forms in our universe is understood, plot, character development and entertainment value seemed to be considerations for the writer and director's next project.

User review rating: 2 October 01, 2019

I love Sci -fi and think Pitt and Tommy Lee are great actors this drew me to see this.....but unfortunately I have to agree with the negative reviews, it's slow , drags while there are some potentially good spots in it the movie it fails to capitalize on them. The five stars here obviously are trolls....watch this on Netflix soon.

User review rating: 2 October 01, 2019

stellar special effects...but not worth seeing frankly. Too slow, plot too thin, frankly boring. Fourth grade science and not very good at that.

User review rating: 1 September 30, 2019

Saw it in IMAX and it would have been the same on my phone. Uninteresting, slow, and boring. Best part was liv Tyler who was used for 45 seconds

User review rating: 5 September 30, 2019

Movie allows viewer to critically think and reflect about how we are searching for life on other planets and sustainable sources while not appreciating what we have on Earth.

User review rating: 1 September 30, 2019

not a good movie. I agree with the bad reviews.

User review rating: 1 September 30, 2019

This movie really dragged . . . Hard to stay awake, even at a 5 pm showing!

User review rating: 5 September 30, 2019

Thought provoking. Insightful and introspective.

User review rating: 1 September 29, 2019

So glad to see this movie dropped to number 5 this week. IT chapter 2 beat it and it has been out awhile. This is just one horrible movie, there are much better sci fi movies out there.

User review rating: 1 September 29, 2019

One of the wrost movies I have see so far this year.

User review rating: 5 September 29, 2019

Science fiction and psychology at the best. Those two venues do not require special effects to make an excellent movie. This will become a classic in time. Listen to what the characters say and pay attention. No big explosions or great adventure. A movie at its greatest.

User review rating: 5 September 29, 2019

Don’t see this if you cannot think. If you want pure entertainment and lots of adventure, thriller, redo, explosions, fun-ride movies. This is not for you. This movie is an exploration of a father and son relationship and family. The setting is space. The movie is excellent and well worth seeing if you know what you are going to see. Definitely worth the price of a ticket.

User review rating: 2 September 29, 2019

The movie just doesn't work, never drawing you into whatever's taking place on screen. Just one scene after another that fail to engage the audience and make you care...some of the planetary special effects were nice to look at, and Brad Pitt, Tommy Lee Jones and Donald Southerland gave it some substance, but overall a failed movie that I wanted to end way more than I wanted it to continue.

User review rating: 4 September 28, 2019

I always make a point of seeing anything PLAN B does. Thank you Pitt for another brilliant film

User review rating: 4 September 28, 2019

Quality

User review rating: 1 September 28, 2019

Boring movie from start to finish. Nothing really happens.

User review rating: 1 September 28, 2019

Subtract Pitt.

User review rating: 5 September 28, 2019

Of course some of the science isn't right; it's science fiction! But the script is well done and the message of the movie is as true as can be. Well done from beginning to end.

User review rating: 1 September 28, 2019

SUCKED Total disappointment

User review rating: 1 September 28, 2019

story line drivel and self commentary daft

User review rating: 5 September 28, 2019

There is no doubt this movie will be considered a cinematic masterpiece for it's time; eventually! Superb in all areas.

User review rating: 1 September 28, 2019

Very boring! Would it ever end? So slow I couldn’t help but to fall asleep a couple times.

User review rating: 1 September 28, 2019

Borrring! Don't watch this!

User review rating: 2 September 28, 2019

So close to being a really good/great movie. Just too slow at times and a few too many impossible critical events that simply took the luster off this movie. I’d really looked forward to seeing this show... but only 2 1/2 Stars. RAN

User review rating: 4 September 28, 2019

This was a solid movie that was well written and acted. I did read the reviews before I went to see the movie, and I believe that helped me understand the movie better then as if I went expecting a SciFi type movie. This is a very realistic looking space movie, and it shows how dangerous space really is. If you want to see a good story line and good acting then you will like the movie.

User review rating: 2 September 27, 2019

The story is OK. If you like "psychological drama", this movie is for you!

User review rating: 5 September 27, 2019

I saw two star ratings, but something told me I would like this movie even thought I believed it might have some boring stretches. I am so glad I went to see it. I was never bored. Great movie!

User review rating: 1 September 27, 2019

I was good if you are ready for a NAP.

User review rating: 3 September 27, 2019

A little less of Brad Pitt's talking would have been good but I liked it. Not as much as my date but we both thought it was worth the money

User review rating: 4 September 27, 2019

An interesting and thought-provoking movie. Nice to see a film geared towards those who don't need CGI and explosions to act as plot. Those people can stick with the HOBBES AND SHAW flicks that I'll gladly pass over. If you're looking for something challenging, this is a great option. Well done

User review rating: 2 September 27, 2019

Definitely a "watch at home" movie. Very slow paced and as good as Brad Pitt is, his talking pretty much puts you to sleep. Thinking of adding the dialog from this movie to my sleep machine.

User review rating: 2 September 27, 2019

Kind of far fetched, boring and way to look long!

User review rating: 5 September 27, 2019

Thoughtful. An intriguing combination of sci-fi and psychology.

User review rating: 1 September 27, 2019

it was the slowest movie i've ever seen. i walked out after 30 minutes and regretted that i didn't after 10 minutes.

User review rating: 1 September 27, 2019

I agree the movie moved very slow. The story was not well told, it never had a purpose.

User review rating: 2 September 27, 2019

Slow and melancholy - I immediately thought of Apocalypse Now. But what was with the car chase on the moon? Just to throw some action into a non action movie? And the distress call response? What was the point? It just didn't work for me on most levels. I love great stories, not nonsense action - but this just wasn't a great story.

User review rating: 5 September 26, 2019

Loved it. The action was gripping and the plot intriguing. Good sci fi

User review rating: 1 September 26, 2019

I was not very impressed by the movie. Everyone giving good reviews of the movie is very entitled to their opinion, however, so am I. I am not someone who looks for a CGI packed, explosions everywhere, Michael Bay type of movie but Ad Astra just moves too slow and doesn't explain itself very well. Also, as a former astrophysics major in college, it doesn't obey the laws of physics at all. In one of the later scenes, Brad Pitt's character cries... in space... IT'S IMPOSSIBLE FOR TEARS TO FALL DOWN SOMEONE'S CHEEK IN SPACE!!! Anyways, it's a boring movie... and I usually like boring movies. This one is baaaad though.

User review rating: 5 September 26, 2019

I really like this movie. It’s different in that it focuses on family. The ending was definitely unexpected.

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2019

All those negative reviews are from people who don't like to appreciate an original story and yet have the nerve to complain that Hollywood doesn't make original movies anymore, and from people who like to watch just CGI packed movies, not every movie has to be jam packed with CGI and explosions in order to be great.

User review rating: 1 September 25, 2019

Crap form start to finish.

User review rating: 3 September 25, 2019

Space movie with a son finding his father. Good, but not great. Slow moving sunday type of movie.

User review rating: 1 September 25, 2019

I did not believe the negative reviews that I had seen about this movie. I went to see the feature today. I was wrong. I should have believed the bad reviews.

User review rating: 2 September 25, 2019

Very slow, not a sci-fi adventure, but Brad Pitt is still great to look at!

User review rating: 1 September 25, 2019

Awful -- Slept through most of it.

User review rating: 1 September 25, 2019

I am an avid movie watcher and have been all my life. I've never cared about movie reviews. If I want to see it I will go and see it for myself. This movie wasted 2 of my favorite actors in a plot that was slow and hard to understans. Tommy Lee Jones barely had any screen time. I'm sorry but this was a waste of money.

User review rating: 3 September 25, 2019

Was good, it's an actual story and not some sci fi adventure. Just remember going in that it's not a sci fi spectacle but a story of a man's journey to find his father. Was not bored at all the entire film. To many action junkies in these reviews saying it's boring cause it wasn't jammed full of cg and explosions, don't listen to them unless those are the types of films you like.

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2019

What a brilliant and thoughtful movie about the ties that bind us and familial bonds that go deep into one's soul. Don't go in expecting an action packed version of THE MARTIAN but if you lean towards intellectual, thought provoking movies like SOLARIS or even INTERSTELLAR, this might be right up your alley. I could have used less voice over narration but shot beautifully with an ending that really moved me. Will definitely see again!

User review rating: 1 September 25, 2019

Booooring!

Change Location