1917

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.53 / 5

User rating: 3.53

Based on 406 votes and 149 reviews


  • User rating: 3.53 46.32%
  • User rating: 3.53 13.16%
  • User rating: 3.53 7.37%
  • User rating: 3.53 13.68%
  • User rating: 3.53 19.47%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 51 to 100 of 149

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2020

An original take on the first world war. Truly mesmerizing. Finally a movie that breaks the confounds of recreation and the already-been-seen.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2020

Absolutely amazing!! The intensity of this movie is unbelievable. I loved every aspect of it and really hope it gets the Oscar for picture and director, and as many others the Academy can throw at it. What a pleasure to watch and purchasing the bluray is a definite for me.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2020

The viewer has to be willing to let the movie unfold as its own story, not the bomb thrower spectacle that "Saving Private Ryan" was. This movie is paced as if we were with the army in 1917. It's a chance to slow down and immerse in a another time, another sense of war. It is a chance to notice and experience some of our heritage, our ancestors way of life. If you want a fuller sense of what it was like to be a WWI soldier, with the many small but beautiful intimate moments of our humanity, this is a wonderful film. It must be taken on its own terms rather than imposing the speed of technology that rushes us on a daily basis. Happy viewing!

User review rating: 1 February 02, 2020

Boring.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2020

Excellent movie! Very well done. Original, well shot, and very suspenseful all the way through. I highly recommend it.

User review rating: 2 January 31, 2020

BORING!

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2020

My grandpa is a veteran of this war and he told me that this is as real as it gets. This movie was so good it triggered his PTSD right in the theatre. Long story short, and two heart pills later, we saw the movie twice in one day.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2020

Focused and clarifying about the horrific nature of WW1. Told simply through the 2 soldiers assigned a near impossible task of delivering a message thru NO Man's Land. Outstanding filming. Only idiots would give this one star and there are a few listed here! No sense of history in these poor souls

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2020

Great cinematography and acting

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2020

This is a beautiful, spectacular movie, a true work of art, a cinematic poem on war. It should not be realistic and a true depiction of the war itself and it is not, thank god. It is instead a powerful, symbolic take on what the war can be to humanity. And the means used to convey the idea are clever - nothing like I've seen before. The night images especially are superb, out of this world. The movie is at the same time gripping, daunting and mesmerizing. I went in with little expectations - as I do not really watch war movies, I came out touched, humbled and in awe of the artistry that was involved in its creation. I still think of it, more than one week after I've watched it. I've seen 8 out of the 9 movies nominated for Best Picture at the Oscars. This one is certainly a class above the rest.

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2020

Brilliant camera angles and continuous motion. Enjoyed the story from start to finish. Best movie I have seen in the past year.

User review rating: 4 January 30, 2020

This movie was interesting from the point of view, that WWI does not have as much coverage as other war movies, yet it was one of the most brutal wars that was fought.

User review rating: 2 January 30, 2020

The director made a bunch of silly mistakes.

User review rating: 3 January 29, 2020

Good movie, worth the cost of admission, but it is not worthy of an Oscar

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2020

Very entertaining and historic.

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2020

Absolutely love it.

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2020

Great movie filled with drama, intensity. Riveting all based on a true story. It gives you the feel of seeing thdestruction and death up close. Great costumes and settings at sites. Very historically accurate. The battle scenes played a role in the moviebut the mission itself is what drives this movie.

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2020

Saw this movie on the fly. As an artistic war movie, it works just fine. As a shoulder-to-shoulder with Black Hawk Down or Saving Private Ryan, it does not work at all. Even though parts of the movie were linear with two soldiers running through trenches, the power of the story and the outcome for the two heroes who are running for their lives to save an entire division of soldiers, who are advancing from the safety of their trenches into a deadly trap. Yes, I had mixed emotions about the movie; it lacked the realistic battle scenes of Black Hawk and other war classics; however, it ascended nicely with the remarkable heroism of its main character, who completed his mission, took a final insult from his commanding officer, and rested by himself, joyous that he was still alive. This is sort of a date movie.

User review rating: 2 January 27, 2020

Very disappointing. No character building. Big names had such a small part - they didn't even need to be in it except to sell the movie. Some parts didn't make sense - no one around and there's a bucket of fresh milk!!!!! What was that about.

User review rating: 1 January 27, 2020

Slow and Boring

User review rating: 1 January 27, 2020

Zzzz is all I can say from this movie. Money maker is all.

User review rating: 1 January 26, 2020

Too boring don’t let Sam Mendes ever make another war movie

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2020

The effort it took to make this movie in two takes is astounding. The acting was seamless, and the set was so realistic it could have been in France in the old trenches. Kudos to the director.

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2020

Spectacular movie! It kept you riveted in your seat right from the beginning. You really felt for the main characters and the cinematography was excellent throughout the entire movie. An Oscar hopefully.

User review rating: 2 January 25, 2020

tedious and story line glitches

User review rating: 4 January 25, 2020

A retelling of The Lord of the Rings. As Sam and Frodo advance into Mordor to try to protect the forces of Gondor from falling into a trap, Frodo is unexpectedly killed by a rider on a Nazgul leaving Sam alone only a lonely desperate trek that only ends barely more cheerfull than Mel Gibson's attempt at Gallipoli.

User review rating: 4 January 25, 2020

It wasn't a movie that entertained you. What it did was to show you the realities of war. Men in the trenches, YOUNG men, the filth, lack of food, fear. It is inconceivable that this was their lives for years on end fighting so that we can live our lives in peace and comfort. There is so little understanding and appreciation for what these men gave up. To get back to the movie. Yes I found it unrealistic that the job of warning the other regiment went solely to two soldiers on foot. It surprised me that the other regiment he encountered wouldn't have done more to help him in his mission. It's not as if saving 1600 lives was a little thing. Instead they give him a partial lift. In spite of that, I found myself rooting for the two young men and the success of their mission. I don't know if enjoyed it would be the right term, but I think it was a movie worth making and worth watching.

User review rating: 1 January 24, 2020

We’re suppose to love heroes. I get it, But this movie dragged on with little or no plot. Waste of time and money.

User review rating: 1 January 24, 2020

Tremendous failing movie.

User review rating: 2 January 24, 2020

could not understand the foreign language. Nothing mentioned at all about foreign people. Not a USA movie

User review rating: 1 January 24, 2020

Totally unrealistic in many scenes. Action was weak and poorly presented. Events seemed staged and not the result of an actual series of events.

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2020

Tremendous cinematography, you feel "in" the movie, not above it, watching from a distance....fine performances by all.....Mendes deserves an Oscar....Bravo.

User review rating: 1 January 24, 2020

Nope.

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2020

The cinematography, editing, and digital effects are all very well done.

User review rating: 1 January 23, 2020

Not historical at all. Just another action movie.

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2020

Amazing set pieces, cinematography, and acting.

User review rating: 1 January 23, 2020

No so great after all but my blessing to all of the veterans.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2020

filming, acting, flow of the movie well done; painted a very real picture of how war is and the effect on the people whether military or non-military. Have human beings learned anything from history yet?

User review rating: 3 January 22, 2020

Movie was fine but.... I totally respect people who fought in the past wars and the people who are still fighting but making profit from wars? How many veterans got an extra pay check from this movie?

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2020

First I respect everyone's opinion! My grandfather fought in 1917 France as a Canadian volunteer. Yes they sat in mud for weeks / months with the enemy 100yd's away. Some never got to shoot their weapon before they got their head blown off. Most had never been far from their own street or town let alone hold a gun. The movie shows what pure hell any part of this war was. The movie story for me shows the dedication of duty, something this young "Oh I've misplaced my cell phone ... what now" generation may not understand. Yes it' was muddy, violent, stressful, rat-infested and hard to understand why they did what they did & had to do. So for all you haters that dislike this movie OK. But don't worry you can always get your fix of modern reality war by going to the new "Star Wars". It's so much more accurate and believable and may be just like the movie in the future world wars. Eh! and the war battle scenes ... No Mud. Great to see Ballin use new faces instead of mega stars like Brad Pitt & DiCaprio, in this role but he had to as the average age was 18 to 20 in this war. Well done , Great Movie. PS WW1 cost the world 40 Million lives. Star Wars ...Not Sure I think the Stormtroopers just kept getting back up! LOL

User review rating: 2 January 21, 2020

Save your money.

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2020

Great movie

User review rating: 1 January 21, 2020

I was expecting way more from this movie just to see the story about two soldiers delivering a message. Almost no battlefield scenes. Germans were shooting like they would shoot for the first time,not much going on and unrealistic story...

User review rating: 4 January 21, 2020

This movie does a great effort to show a HUGE event, WW I. It does it by taking 2 guys and strings a bunch of small stories together during the war featuring them. The movie does a great job covering a war so big each war area could be a movie in itself. You may get fatique following each short story shift, but focus on the setting and be amazed people could survive and realize how this war changed the world forever. Adult movie due to violence and trauma.

User review rating: 1 January 21, 2020

I love a good war movie. This was horrid. The story line is not much. Most of the movie was about showing corpses everywhere in every imaginable condition. If you like that see this movie. It reminded me of a C grade Audie Murphy cowboy movie except it was a war movie, not believable and disjointed. Again in a movie, the Germans couldn't hit a barn door from 20 yards with a bazooka. Come on, a bucket of cow's milk available for a baby but all the artillery was destroyed? Do not believe the critics, they need to get some real honest evaluations and actually watch the movie instead of following other critic's opinions - a waste of my time. The popcorn was excellent though!

User review rating: 2 January 21, 2020

Boring. Not what I expected.

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2020

Very artistic and realistic

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2020

The re-creation of the trenches, no man’s land and period accurate wear are to be commended. The movie walks a fine line rather well telling a plausible plot and a few rather suspect scenarios

User review rating: 2 January 20, 2020

SLOW-the last 10 minutes ALMOST made it a worthwhile use of my time. Don't pay attention to the rave reviews like I did.

User review rating: 4 January 19, 2020

Difficult to believe entire basis of story, that trench runners would be asked to cross enemy front lines to deliver a message. Could have been dropped by plane in 10 minutes. But there would be no movie then. Unbelievably, you also wont believe the first 75 minutes of the movie takes place in REAL .time. There are no edits or cuts. Everything had to go perfectly!! That alone is worth the price of admission. Impossible to imagine how non stop filming was done in a WWI battlefield environment. Watch and marvel. The movie itself was also captivating, as long as you remember this is an attemp to depict a supposedly true story told by the directors actual WWI experience.

Change Location