Thank you for rating this theater!

User rating: 1.69 Read Reviews | Rate Theater

201 N. Northpark Lane, Joplin, MO 64801

844-462-7342 | View Map


1.69 / 5

User rating: 1.69

Based on 12 votes and 11 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1.7
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1.45454545454545
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1.36363636363636
  • Customer Service User rating: 1.90909090909091

 

Please rate this theater

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theater Presentation

  • Customer Service


Type the code:




Theater Reviews

Showing 1 to 11 of 11

Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else to see a movie

January 05, 2020

Not only are the tickets ridiculously pricey, but now their box office isn't open anymore. You have to purchase tickets at a long concession line. The last time, I was greeted with a "What do you want?" from the counter. You also now have to reserve your seats, and these seats have not been updated in ages. Many of them are uncomfortable and lean back way too far, but "nobody has reported any broken seats". I guess they don't do any of their own upkeep or maintenance until it's officially reported. The last time I went, one of the restrooms was out of order "for cleaning" the sign said. Nobody was cleaning that restroom. Lastly, the sound in the theater I was in did not work for a full 20 minutes, and when I informed an employee, apparently that's just standard now. Webb City has an adorable theater for mostly family movies, Neosho's theater just got a wonderful upgrade, and Pittsburg's theater is wonderful. Bookhouse Cinema is also a great place to eat and watch a movie in town. All of these places are cheaper and nicer than Joplin's Regal Northstar.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Bad got worse with assigned seats

December 05, 2019

We put up with the horrible conditions at this aging theater, for a long time. We did start going to Pittsburgh much more often, but didn't rule out Joplin until the assigned seats. Now we will never return, Keep the broken seats, the poor temp control, and the smell, and now the terrible idea of assigned seats and see how long you last.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Reserved seats, for real?????

November 13, 2019

I could understand if this was a first class theatre, but to have reserved seats when most of the time during the week, there are less than 10 people to some of the movies is ridiculous. Guess we will have to do our weekly movies in either Neosho or Pittsburg from now on. They are both nicer theatres, and are both cheaper!

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Some of the seats aren’t comfortable

March 21, 2019

Some of the seats aren’t comfortable otherwise it’s all good

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Absolutely Awful!

December 22, 2018

Dated, dirty, smells awful (toilet smell), expensive. Last movie I saw there the sound system emitted this whining noise the entire movie. The parking lot is never more than 1/4 full. I think people have had enough. Owners need to get a clue and update. We go to Rogers, AR now.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Outdated and overpriced monopoly

September 28, 2018

The theater was great when it first opened, 25 or so years ago - Now it's decrepit - As the times change and theaters upgrade, this theater fails to do so - what makes matters worse, is that there were three other theaters in Joplin before this one opened, but they have all since been put out of business - If AMC or someone who move in and set up shop, they would have an immediate customer base, as most people travel up to an hour away to go see a movie rather than visit the theater in Joplin - I myself will drive 20 minutes to Pittsburg or Neosho sometimes just because I don't want to pay the unreal ticket prices - The concession isn't much better, it's outrageous in price, but all theaters are usually - They don't have any combo deals though, so expect to pay $7 for a large drink and $9 for a large popcorn - Sneak in a $1 candy from Walmart, as they'll charge you $6 for the same item at the theater - It's highway robbery, and they wonder why they can't get people through their doors - I'm just waiting for the day they're finally closed down for good - Some group of asswipe kids who isn't disabled is always sitting in the top row in one of the 5 or 6 disabled seats - Having an artificial knee means having to constantly straighten your leg out, which isn't a problem if you're in a reclining seat, but you won't find those at this theater - Bottom line, this place is a joke and needs TORN DOWN, CONDEMNED, you get the point....

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Horrible monopoly

June 28, 2018

We pay $15 dollars a ticket because we have a monopoly. We have 1 theatre. If an investor took notice and built another theatre, lowered their prices to $6-10 dollars a ticket (like how they are priced just about anywhere else) you would see a dramatic decline in people going to Regal, or they would have to compete and lower their prices too. It’s a different story if you are paying $15/ticket and they have state-of-the-art equipment and technology, but when you fork over$15 and you notice lines across the screens, and you’re sitting in uncomfortable kindergarten seats, something is WRONG. I grew up in Oklahoma City, and I went back to visit recently and paid $6.99 for my ticket. We had comfortable red leather recliners, bright and high tech screens with food service. Could you imagine how bad regal would be out of business if just someone would compete with them? Let the free market do what it’s supposed to do and stand up to this ridiculous monopoly.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Preys on City of Joplin as Only Theater. NO standard improvements or Upkeep for YEARS

May 31, 2018

Initial nice Theater ONLY 1st couple years new. Not sure how Regal JUSTIFIES continuing to Raise Prices with NO IMPOVEMENTS or even GENERAL UPKEEP. Many would rather pay gas to drive to Pittsburg AMC for Costs and Cleanliness. Recently attended AMC Theater in KC. Outlying, smaller suburb. We were shocked at its level Of EXCELLENCE in comparison. KC is Big town. Would expect higher costs. Put Joplin Regal to Shame. Evening Show tickets much LESS than Regal’s Matinees. CLEAN. LEATHER SEATS that Recline with footrests. Lift up Center console for couples. Comfortable atmosphere that was relaxing and enjoyable as an veining should be. Consessiins reasonably priced. Bathrooms CLEAN!!! NO ODOR in theaters. Temp controlled. Stadium seating and walk thru Aisles. At least 14 theaters. The size of Joplin compared to this small suburb, there is NO EXCUSE WHATSOEVER that Regal consistently offers the pitiful excuse for local population that they have and do. Should turn Regal into $1-2 Theater that once existed and invest in building a place where patrons aren’t robbed and disappointed with almost every visit. The surrounding towns plus Joplin, would more than Support a NEW THEATER. The current state of Regal Northstar is nearing or as bad as $1 theaters were before demolished, if not already there. That too, would serve purpose for larger families that CAN NOT AFFORD to pay Regal Prices. Is there a Business Agreement that AMC can’t build in Joplin? If not, they would pay for new theater in short time given choice of where to attend. REGAL- Offer a Place to be Proud of. Any Travelers that should stay overnight and seek out a theater leave Joplin with only a Negative Experience. Overheard comments sitting in local Restaurant how AWFUL it was and they’d wished they’d have stayed in room and PAID for Movie Streaming. Were treated very rudely when leaving because of the smell, conditions and poor quality whenrequesting refund.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Overpriced Monopoly

November 18, 2017

Majority of seats are broken, prices continually raise, but not improvements are actually made. For a 20 min drive, you can go see the same movie for $3 matinee in Pittsburg, Ks; or drive an hour to Springfield and see the IMAX for less than the evening pricing at Northstar.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Joplin's monopoly

September 22, 2017

This is the only movie theater in our town, and I think that Regal has taken advantage of that. Tickets prices are exorbitant compared to other theaters of similar size in nearby larger cities (Fayetteville, AR, Tulsa, OK). It is outdated, dirty, and in desperate need of refurbishment. But since they have no other competitors in Joplin, Regal continues to increase their prices while simultaneously letting their facilities become more and more dilapidated. It has made me start choosing smaller theaters in outlying areas when there is a new release that I want to see. Avoid this theater if you can.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 3
Change Location