Saffron Burrows Biography

Saffron Burrows photo

Born: October 21, 1972


Date of Birth: October 21, 1972

Born and raised in London, England, Saffron Burrows dreamed of being an actress and began studying drama at a young age. At the age of 15, she was discovered by a modeling scout in Covent Garden and went on to model for companies such as Chanel, Yves-Saint Laurent and Vivienne Westwood.

At 20, she made her big screen debut with a small role in the movie In the Name of the Father (1993). A bigger role followed in Circle of Friends (1995), starring Minnie Driver. Burrows' first starring role was in the Australian film, Hotel de Love (1996). In 2000, she was nominated for a Blockbuster Entertainment Award as Favorite Actress - Newcomer for Deep Blue Sea (1999).

More films followed, including Time Code (2000), Frida (2002), Troy (2004) and Reign Over Me (2007), but it wasn't until she joined the cast of Boston Legal in 2007 that Burrows' face became familiar to American audiences.

She stayed with the show for a year, then returned to the big screen with roles in films such as The Bank Job (2008) co-starring Jason Statham and Love and Virtue (2008), starring alongside John Malkovich, Peter O'Toole and Michael Madsen and the indie film Knife Fight alongside Rob Lowe.

Burrows once dated actor Alan Cumming, who is now openly gay and registered in a civil partnership with storyboard artist Grant Shaffer. She came in at No. 90 in the Independent on Sunday [UK] 2006 Pink List—a list of the most influential gay men and women and is currently romantically linked with actress Fiona Shaw. They played lovers in the National Theatre's production of The Powerbook. Burrows has also appeared in London's West End opposite David Schwimmer in the debut of the play Some Girl(s).


Knife Fight (2013)
Small Apartments (2012)
Shrink (2009)
The Bank Job (2008)
The Guitar (2008)
Dangerous Parking (2007)
Reign Over Me (2007)
Broken Thread (2007)
Klimt (2007)
Fay Grim (2007)
Perfect Creature (2006)
Troy (2004)
Peter Pan (2003) (voice)
El Misterio GalĂ­ndez (2003)
Frida (2002)
Hideous Man (2002)
Enigma (2002)
Hotel (2001)
Tempted (2001)
Gangster No. 1 (2001)
Time Code (2000)
Assumptions (2000)
Miss Julie (1999)
Deep Blue Sea (1999)
The Loss of Sexual Innocence (1999)
Wing Commander (1999)
The MatchMaker (1997)
One Night Stand (1997)
Lovelife (1997)
Nevada (1997)
Hotel de Love (1996)
Circle of Friends (1995)
Welcome II the Terrordome (1995)
In the Name of the Father (1993)
Change Location