Rain Phoenix Biography

Rain Phoenix photo

Born: March 31, 1973


Birth Name: Rain Joan of Arc Phoenix

Date of Birth: March 31, 1973

Born in Crockett, Texas, Rain was the second eldest of five kids, River, Joaquin, Summer and Liberty.

Her parents joined a cult-like sect of soul searchers known as Children of God and moved around in South America and the Caribbean islands acting as missionaries before finally settling back in Los Angeles where they determined their children's future was in the movies.

Always close to her elder brother, while in Venezuela she and River would sing on the streets for food.

When they had grown, River and Rain formed a band called Aleka's Attic, and performed at concerts.

River broke into film first and rose to super stardom within a few years, with strong performances in films like Stand By Me, Mosquito Coast and I Love You to Death. His drug-induced death in 1993 shocked the world and especially his family.

Rain had been with her brother the night he died. After his death, Rain continued to sing professionally, joining the band The Causey Way.

She has also appeared in R.E.M. videos and was a back up singer to River's old buddies, the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

She first appeared on an episode of Amazing Stories in 1985. After a guest appearance on the series Family Ties, she received a nomination for best young guest star in a TV series. Using the exposure, and River's fame to launch her film career, Rain landed roles in feature films like Maid to Order (1987), and a supporting role in Even Cowgirls Get the Blues (1993).

She sank into oblivion for a number of years taking bit parts in films like To Die For, and independent features like Facade and $pent. She also did commercial work in the late '90s with a print ad for Levi's and a television commercial for Calvin Klein.

She returned to mainstream filmmaking in the new millennium with a starring role in the Shakespeare adapted play Othello, O, playing Emily.

In 1991 she was dating Scott Green, and two years later her son, Jonas Winter Phoenix was born.


The Sleepy Time Gal (2001)
Stranger Inside (2001)
O (2001)
$pent (2000)
Facade (1999)
I Woke Up Early the Day I Died (1998)
To Die for (1995) (uncredited)
Even Cowgirls Get the Blues (1993)
Maid to Order (1987)

Change Location