Michael T. Weiss Biography

Michael T. Weiss photo

Born: February 02, 1962


Date of Birth: February 2, 1962

This Chicago native started acting at a young age, appearing in numerous local television commercials. During his high school years, Weiss studied acting at the Second City workshop, and continued his training after graduation at University of Southern California's prestigious school of drama.

Following the completion of his B.F.A. in 1984, Weiss landed the role of Dr. Mike Horton on the daytime drama Days of Our Lives. The stint lasted for five years, during which he also found work in the telefilms, Take My Daughters, Please, The Big One: The Great Los Angeles Earthquake and his first feature, Howling IV: The Original Nightmare.

In 1990, he co-starred in the telefilm, Dark Shadows, playing Joe Haskell, going on to play the same character when the film was made into a series. For the rest of the early to mid '90s Weiss remained out of the spotlight with occasional strong showings in films like Jeffrey (1995) and Freeway (1996).

In 1996 he landed the lead role of Jarod in the popular sci-fi series The Pretender. A challenging role that called for a chameleon-like actor, Weiss had to be able to play police officers, doctors, FBI agents and lawyers with confidence and little preparation. Since the series ended in 2000, Weiss has completed a number of film projects including Net Worth (2000), and Bones (2001), followed by more television work such as voicing Tarzan in the afterschool animated series, The Legend of Tarzan, and playing Jarod once more in the series telefilm, The Pretender: Island of the Haunted.

A devoted protector of the environment, Weiss is a board member of the Earth Communications Office (ECO), and considers himself an "environmental individualist," keeping his home chemical free. He uses only minimum electricity and drives a Toyota Prius, an electric-gas hybrid vehicle.


Confessions of an Action Star (2008)
Fade (2007)
Razor Sharp (2006)
Iowa (2005)
Sledge: The Untold Story (2005)
Marmalade (2004)
Until the Night (2004)
Bones (2001)
Net Worth (2000)
Freeway II: Confessions of a Trickbaby (1999)
Freeway (1996)
Jeffrey (1995)
Angel 4: Undercover (1993)
Howling IV: The Original Nightmare (1988)
Change Location